The Story of Us

No KC (Keyboard Confessions) today.  Do try to contain your sobbing. 

Tomorrow is the 11th anniversary of when I said “I Do” with The Hubs.  I’ve already written out our story ad nauseum before:

Ah Me, L’Amour

Ah Me, L’Amour Part Deux

Ah Me, L’Amour III

Ah Me, L’Amour The End

So today I thought I’d take you on an illustrated journey of our Luuuuuuurve.  Please, your sobbing is distracting me.

meengagement

 

So, one day, I meet this guy and two short months later, he asks me to be his wife.  I say yes.  This is an engagement photo.  Also, I HATE how my elbow is all poking out.  It’s all I can see in this photo.  Now, it’s all you can see too, isn’t it?  Yep, I’ve just ruined this picture for you.  Moving on.

lanceeng

 

Here’s Lance aka The Hubs.  Of course, then he was The Fiance’.  The Fi, for short.  Isn’t The Fi handsome?  Back off, ladies, he’s mine.

eng

 

We had The Lurve.  It was mushy.  It was gushy.  Also this picture makes my nose look really really long.  Did you know that the 1st compliment Lance ever gave to me was about how perfect my nose was?  Well, now you know.

engkiss

 

I adore this photo.  Also, it makes me feel like a rebel because we’re doing this on the President’s lawn of the college we attended.  Naugh-tay.

inv

 

These are the invitations we sent out for our wedding. 

engshower

 

Then began the showers and bridal luncheons.  I had to borrow a suit from my roomie.  Also, you see that thing I’m doing with my hands?  It’s a nervous habit to smooth my nails over and over and over. 

rehearsal

 

This is just one of the pictures from the rehearsal dinner.  We cooked cows.  A bagillion steaks. 

cowstory

 

This is at the actual rehearsal.  I was begged to tell The Cow Story.  So I did. 

wedding

 

The Big Day arrived.  Lance kissed the bride and we became man and wife. 

cake

 

Here’s one of the cake.  And my cleavage.  Dang. 

home

 

This was the first night in our home.  It stayed like this for awhile.  Also, whoever got us that toilet paper- Thank you!! 

pizza

 

This was our first meal in our new home.  Actually, this is pretty much every meal in our home while in college.  Lance didn’t marry a Great Cook. 

romance

This is just after our own wedding when I was a bridesmaid for my friend Delana’s wedding.  Lance’s BFF Joel is serenading us and we are dancing.  We had The Romance.  Lance had Giant Glasses.  All the better to ogle me with.

newlywed

 

We were drunk on Lurve.  And had bad timing with the flash. 

beach

 

Now Lance has a beard.  Now I have some wrinkles. 

But we still have The Lurve.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by completelyinspired on June 12, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    i think this is precious! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Awwwwwww so cute.

    I’m very sorry if my sobbing was that loud. I tried to contain myself but then I just get runny snots!

    Reply

  3. Awwww mushy gushy with a side of ooooaaaaohhhhh! Very nice. Love the pictorial. I must say again you have the most beautiful smile I have ever seen. Have a great anniversary!

    Reply

  4. Posted by joseph on June 12, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Isn’t lurve grand???

    Reply

  5. *sniff*

    Beautiful.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Aunt Vam on June 12, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I hope you have 100 more!

    Reply

  7. Posted by thelonelyeskimo on June 12, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    I won’t be offended that I’m not in one.single.wedding.photo. I won’t. Not even a little bit.
    Since this is your 11th anniversary, it is also the 11th anniversary of when Ben dumped me like a bad habit. Best 11 years of our life after that day, isn’t it?
    Also, I remember feeling oh-so-cool that I had a brother-in-law.
    I ironed Lance’s pants the weekend he came down to meet us.
    I still love the cow story.
    It’s wierd to see all these pre-kids photos. Well, except for that last one.
    I still remember you having the smooching-on-the-prez’s-lawn photo in a little frame in your bathroom in Wake Forest.
    I lurve hyphenation.
    I lurve your Lurve for Lance.

    Reply

  8. Congratulations. Nice photos of the happy couple.

    Reply

  9. I was hoping you would have done a time study of how the cleavage fell over the years…..but shucks, this was very sweet!!!
    You two are very cute.
    Congratulations…
    Call me when you hit 37 years together, like us.
    Never mind, I won’t be able to HEAR you by then.
    😀

    Reply

  10. *all together now* AWWWWWWWWWWW! That’s so sweet. Happy Anniversary, I’m sorry I missed it cus I was outta town. You guys look too adorable. And that wedding invitation is the cutest ever!

    Reply

  11. Thanks for sharing, you are so funny, when I have a bad day I can count on your observation making me laugh! Happy Happy Happy Anniversary.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Candy on June 16, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I lurve you both… you made me laugh till I cried.. lol.. Addies pics are priceless and so are your illistations..lol. Maybe you guys could put a book together. Your wedding always brings back such great memories.. hugs to you..

    Reply

Leave a comment