A little bit of this, a little bit of that and a WHOLE LOT OF TWILIGHT DOLLS

So, I’ve been keeping the devil away by making my hands busy.  Or however that old adage goes.

Awhile ago, my BFF Robin asked me to make her a coffee cup cozy.  This is usually what you get when you go to Starbucks:

 

Boring blah boringness
Plain blah boringness

 

So I went to my stash of felted wool sweaters and found a cool blue sweater that hadn’t seen much action.  I dug through my craft box for my trusty needle felter and cut off a length of ivory yarn.  And then sifted through my box of buttons.  This is what I came up with:

Exciting awesome coziness

Exciting awesome coziness

 

Erm, this cup is really little.  This is the back:

Silvery button goodness

Silvery button goodness

 

I myself am not a coffee drinker, but I think this cozy is easy to use and easy to carry around (it’s been stuffed in my bag for the last 3 weeks).

BUT THAT’S NOT ALL!

A few months ago, I came across this pattern for a Pleated Purse.  I thought it looked cute and easy, so I found some reversible upholstery fabric and went to work.  This is what it turned out like:

Couch fabricy bagness

Couch fabricy bagness

 

I had to do this all by hand, because my sewing machine HATES MY GUTS AND WANTS ME TO CUSS.  I even had to bust out the iron to do this.  The poor thing was so covered in dust I was kind of embarrassed for it.

Here’s the inside:

Glimpse of the pocketness

Glimpse of the pocketness

 

I like to make pockets that are different sized: one for the cell phone and the other for whatever.  I think I could’ve made pockets on both sides, but I was in a wee  bit of  a lazy mood.  Also, I had to iron, so this was practically work.

And then, to give you size and scope of the whole thing with straps:

Bag Strappiness

Bag Strappiness

 

It’s a wee bit on the old-lady-with-the-ugly-bag side, I’ll admit.  But it goes with my balls of yarn and knitting needles and arthritis medicine.  All I need is a tube of Bengay and some Geritol.

 

BUT WAIT: 

My buddy Jenny from Giftedly Outspoken is having a giveaway of TWILIGHT DOLLS.  I MUST HAVE THESE.  THEY MUST BE MINE:

Twilight doll neediness

Twilight doll covetousness

So enter, but if you win you must send the dolls to me.  They.must.be.mine.
10 responses to this post.

  1. Awwww thanks for blogging about my giveaway! I can’t believe that Toyglobe’s blog won’t let you follow. I’ll have to beat my husband up for that button but I’ll give you the entries either way. You know whats depressing about the Twilight dolls….they don’t have other characters. Like HELLO!!! EMMETT is soooooooooo my man!!!

    BTW: I love your couchy bag! Very nice. You have mad talent. My talent involves me searching Ebay for what I want and clicking ‘Buy it Now!”

    Reply

  2. Posted by completelyinspired on June 11, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    i’ve decided that if…no-when- you win the twilight dolls…you MUST bring them to work so we can all enjoy the fabulousness that is Edward Cullen. 🙂 thanks. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ness. Wants. Bag.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 11, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    cute stuff and you made me laugh about the sewing maching and then I got to the give-away and I rolled my eyes and said “puleeease”
    😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by wigginsout55 on June 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I LOVE the purse. Where DO you find the time.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 12, 2009 at 3:28 pm

      It’s called “ignore all pleas of children and house hold duties for a week”. I wouldn’t recommend this course of action often. Unless you like 15 loads of laundry in a day.

      Reply

  6. Posted by Lori on June 12, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Ha ha! I sincerely hope you win the giveaway and get the dolls! 🙂

    Absolutely loved the bag…you should think about putting that up as a giveaway…of course, that’d mean getting the iron back out, so maybe not…

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 12, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      Lori, if I win, I’ll send you a great big picture of the Edward doll.

      Also, I’ve slipped into the Coma again. I blame the New Moon trailer.

      Reply

      • Posted by Lori on June 12, 2009 at 8:48 pm

        Awesome! How did you know that’s just what I’ve always wanted?! Or maybe you should send me a picture of you smiling at the Edward doll while Lance is in the background.

        Oh Coma, I miss you! Enjoy it while you can!

Leave a Reply

