A glimpse into my life as my children’s chauffeur

ADDIE:  Momma

ME:  Yes, Addie?

ADDIE:  When I turn six, will you get me a bra?

ME:  Erm, why?

ADDIE:  Because I need a bra when I’m six.

ME:  Erm, well….see, you don’t really need a bra yet.  You won’t need to wear a bra for a long time.

ADDIE:  Yes, huh!

EMMA:  Addie.   You do not need a bra!

ADDIE:  YES I DO, EMMA!  YOU DON’T KNOW EVERYTHING!

EMMA:  No you won’t!  I’m seven and I don’t need a bra!

ADDIE:  Well Melissa has a bra! 

EMMA:  Melissa does not have a bra!

ADDIE:  YES HUH!  SHE DOES SO HAVE A BRA!  SHE TOLD ME!

EMMA:  Does she wear it?  I don’t think she wears a bra.  Momma, do you think Melissa wears a bra?

ME:  Well I really don’t —

ADDIE:  Melissa told me at lunch she is six and she has a bra!

EMMA:  She probably meant she got a bra for when she needs it.  She doesn’t wear it now.

ADDIE:  Is that true, Momma?

ME:  Umm… 

ADDIE:  SHE DOES! 

EMMA:  ADDIE!  She does not need a bra! 

ADDIE:  You are breaking your promise!

EMMA:  Addie!  I didn’t say I promise!

ADDIE:  Yes huh!  You said you promise and you just broke your promise!

EMMA:  Momma!!  Tell Addie I didn’t break my promise!!

ME:  Sigh.

ADDIE:  You are a poo poo head.

EMMA:  I am not a poo poo head!

ADDIE:  Yes you are a poo poo head!  You’re a stinky poo poo head!

EMMA:  Momma!!

ME:  No one is a poo poo head.

ADDIE:  She is so a poo poo head!

ME:  Addie, apologize to your sister for calling her a poo poo head.

ADDIE:  (mumbles) I’m sorry.

Silence.

ADDIE:  So can I get a bra when I turn six?

14 responses to this post.

  1. Hahaha!! That is too funny. Love it!

    So, are you going to get her a bra when she’s six?

    Hehehe.

    Reply

  2. Posted by freebutterfly on April 30, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    I want to know how you got through that exchange without stopping the car because you were laughing so hard you couldn’t see straight!

    Oh, I cannot wait for my girls’ conversations…

    Reply

  3. Gosh Mom! Every 6 year old girl needs a bra, how could you not know that?! 😉
    I have to wonder, does she even really know what a bra is for or how awfully uncomfortable they are?

    Very cute story, they must be a lot of fun.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kamryn on April 30, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    You realize when she’s 26, she’ll rue the day she actually wished she had a bra, right? Unless the Kaufman curse skips her…

    Reply

  5. Posted by elizabeth on April 30, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    What a great blog! I found you from a thread on etsy the other day and have been reading every.single.entry all the way back. Wonderful!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Melissa on May 1, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    has Lance found a job yet where he will be able to travel a lot? It sounds like he might like one. Bill said that in a few years he will probably really enjoy travelling a lot. Maybe the Kaufman curse will skip your girls. Tell her this Melissa doesn’t need a bra either.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm

      ahahahaah Aunt Melissa, yes I’m sure deep down Lance is praying for a job that will take him away from his three hormonal women for about 5-7 days a month.

      Reply

  7. Posted by Robin on May 1, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    KATY: momma?? can i get a bra?

    ME: SLAP!!!! watch your mouth!

    just kidding….i swear

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mom on May 9, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Ask Addie what color she wants it in. I’ll get it for her. Seriously. It will be just like the make-up and the swear words when you & Kam were kids. Give it to her way early, before she needs it and by the time she needs it she won’t want it! And there’s just no way she will skip the Kaufman curse AND the Walker curse, it just ain’t gonna happen. Ooh! Ooh! Ask her if she wants one that’s tie-died or with sparkles on it. I DO have some glitter……

    Reply

  9. dude. bras are so over-rated.

    Reply

  10. This has me laughing so hard!

    Reply

  11. I included this in my round up of favorite posts I’ve read recently. Because it’s awesome.

    http://lanieree.blogspot.com/2010/03/h.html

    Reply

Leave a comment