Day Two

Also known as Kearsie’s  TERRIBLE  HORRIBLE NO GOOD VERY BAD  DAY

Day Two starts slow for the Murphy’s.  We slept great under the gruvet duvet, and gradually wake up.  We have a noon meeting so we take our time getting up, getting ready and getting on the road. 

We meet up with another church planter and one of his elders at a coffee shop. 

It wasn’t a good meeting.  I’ll just put it that way.  It was very very very discouraging.  They have lots of good things to say, but their delivery sucks.  I hope someone tells them that one day.  I just sit there staring at the coffee menu and thinking dark thoughts.

We get back in the car.  We drive around.  I cry.  I am very frustrated.  Hubs listens to me, comforts me, finally realizes I need food and takes me to lunch.

We eat at a Mexican restaurant in downtown Boulder and I order the yummiest Queso Del Mar lunch EVER.  Even Lance says I won. 

We walk for hours around Pearl Street, shooting video and taking pictures.  I find time to snap some shots of Edward posing.  No one even looks at me funny.  But I suspect Hubs pretends he doesn’t know me.  Poor Hubs.

We have a conversation with a homeless person selling newspapers.  We buy a newspaper which helps keep her off the street.  I thought we had made a connection with her until an hour later she hits us up with her newspapers spiel all over again.  Oh well.

Hubs pays a saxaphone player $2.00 so he can film him.  He looks near homeless.  But when we leave he says “God bless you.”  This sounds strange in this town. 

I notice no yarn shops.  I start to dream of opening up a yarn shop, right here on Pearl Street.  This is probably a pipe dream, but it’s my head and I can dream all I want.

It is such pretty weather, no snow, the sun is out.  We decide to drive up the mountain.  It’s even warmish.  I only need three layers.

It is around this time when I decide I hate being cooped up in the car with a video camera.  Alas for me.  Hubs is a man obsessed with the video camera on a mission.  Listening to our video I can detect my silent rolling of eyes and sighs.

90 hours later we leave the mountain and drive back to the area our hotel is in.

I am still in a foul mood.  I hope I can climb out of it before the rest of the weekend goes by.  I can’t get the ugly words from our meeting out of my head.  The only redeeming part of the day is the conversation we have wherein we realize we are meant to be missionaries to the Boulder area, a church will eventually arise, but it will take a very long time.  This is encouraging.  We feel like we have seen a part of that giant rock wall representing our ministry be chiseled out a bit.  Things are beginning to click.

We head to dinner by our hotel and decide to call it a night.  It is only 8:00 p.m.  I am so tired I could die. 

Thankfully, our meetings are over.  We’ve had one good meeting, one bad meeting.  I’m on sensory overload.  I hope we can see a movie tomorrow, just so I don’t have to think for a few hours.  Plus, it’s supposed to be snowy tomorrow.  A movie theater is bound to be warm.

We fall into bed under the duvet and crash.

End Day Two

4 responses to this post.

  1. Well as you know in these things we look not at the circumstances but to that which we are led by the Spirit to do so, remain faithful and humble, asking to only be used for what He wants, the details will be taken care of, including your desires in this, as long as you stay true to the bigger picture, which is serving others as He would, plain and simple, whether it be buying a meal for someone on the street or planting a church. Never underestimate the opportunities set before you, big or small.

    Psalm 82:3-4
    Psalm 37:4
    Matthew 6:33
    Proverbs 15:22
    Isaiah 30:21

    OK. Deepness done.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sara on October 14, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I’m sorry that this day was frustrating for you. What you and your husband are trying to do is a good thing. Be encouraged and be of good cheer….

    My husband is also obsessed w/ our video camera. When we bought our house, he used to make all these long tour- type vidoes off the inside. Hello? No one cares…

    Thank you for your sweet comments about my post. I will also be avoiding “Bible-Marts” in the future.

    Reply

  3. What happened at the meeting that was said/done that discouraged you so much?
    I am curious. You do not have to respond, of course, but I was just wondering.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 22, 2009 at 1:26 pm

      Well, the guy was basically all “You’re going to fail, because everyone fails there, you’re not doing anything now that would make an impact on people there, etc.” You know, here’s the thing- a lot of what he had to say was true. It was just delivered in an arrogant and negative way. But he was right in many ways. I’ll give him that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

