I’m baaaa-aaaack.

Colorado trip is now over.  Back to life here in Alabama.

Many thanks to the sickos blogger extraordinaires, Kim, Winn and Vanessa for blogging for me!  You all broke my blog with your smut entertained everyone greatly and I’ll definitely never ever ever ask you to guest blog again look forward to future guest blogging nightmares experiences!

Since I’m laden with experiences and pictures, I’ll try to bore you to pieces with the run down on Day One.

***

Alarm goes off at 4:15 a.m.  Curse the early morning time.  Feel bad for cursing.  Hubs says his alarm will go off in 30 minutes, get back in bed.  Lay down, wide awake, thinking of all I can get done.  Get up, shower and shave as hard as I can, as I will not have a razor for 5 days.  Curse 911 terrorists.  Feel bad for cursing.  Last minute packing.  Sit on couch and knit frantically trying to finish a scarf.  Realize this is not going to get done in 10 minutes.  Sigh.  Get up and do last minute dishes and straightening up.  Gather all suitcases and carryons and jackets and set them by the door.  We leave house. 

Get to airport, check in, find restrooms.  Get on plane, fly to Dallas.

In Dallas, grab food because we’re starving.  Hunt down restrooms.  Realize all airports are good for are food and restrooms between flights.  Board flight to Denver.

In Denver, walk about 900 miles to shuttle to our rental car.  Realize Lance has left his jacket in Alabama.  Make chitchat with fellow shuttle riders. 

Get our rental car.  Rental car salesman talks us into getting an SUV.  While at car rental place, I take a picture of Edward by a gourd. 

Gourd, it's cold here.

Gourd, it's cold here.

Hahahahaahahaha, I’m still laughing at my caption. I ignore Lance facepalming at my Edward/gourd picture.  I tell him it’s for my art.  He asks “What art?”

Leave in shiny red Jeep Cherokee for Boulder.  Once in Boulder we head for our first meeting.  We meet with a church planter in the area who offers to buy our lunch.  We are starved and weak from lack of food so we do not object.  I eat the best Italian Chicken Panini EVER.  Our host gets a call saying right next door at Starbucks is a meeting going on with another church planter.  We head over and meet more ministry type folks.  I order hot chai tea and scald my tongue.  Also, I sit and try to not say something stupid like, “Do you care if I pose my Edward doll next to your Tall Non-fat Latte?”

Meeting ends.  We drive around Boulder.  It has begun to snow.  I try to take picture for Vanessa, as she has never seen snow.  My camera sucks at capturing snow.  We go to REI and buy Lance a jacket. 

We head to our hotel to check in.  It’s a sweet suite.  With a kitchen.  I go to Walmart and buy bagels, cream cheese and water bottles.  We drive around more, eat at a local Italian place.

Call home to kiddos.  We miss them.  But it’s nice to be sans children.

8:00 p.m. and I’m so tired I can barely function.  Go back to hotel.  Snuggle under the duvet.  Which is really gruvet.  Go to sleep.

End Day One.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh please you were all, “make it as raunchy and gross as possible girls!” and we were all, “noooooo we ain’t like that!” and you were all, “DO IT OR WE’RE NOT FRIENDS ANYMORE!”

    So I wrote about your skin tag. And you published it. It’s in cyber history for.e.ver.

    Seems there is a lot of content missing in this blog post…

    Reply

  2. Welcome home!

    It took me a really long time to figure out what to write for my guest blog post, you know. But once I started, I couldn’t stop.

    I want to see my snow pictures. Next time, send me a jar of it. But if it’s yellow, I’m sending it back. I may not have ever seen snow, but I know what yellow snow is, and it AIN’T lemon-flavored. 😉

    Reply

  3. Hooray! Welcome home!!! Glad you got to getaway with the hubster!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Carissa on October 21, 2009 at 4:14 am

    I’m finally getting to your blog posts about the trip. I love your delivery. Very cool. It’s good to laugh at the end of a long day. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

