Ye Olde Book Review

(Confession:  I have nary a clue as to the correct usage of the words “Ye Olde”.)

I am a book harlot.  I eat books.  I must have a book or there might be some hyperventilating going on.  If there is nothing new to read I end up reading Twilight for the 18th time.  So, new books floating through our home is a common occurrence. 

A few months ago, I began to read a series called Percy Jackson and the Olympians.  They are awesome.  Why?  Let me break it down.

1.  For YA lit, these are very very enjoyable.  I am an adult, yes I am, and I loved them.  I laughed.  I cried.  I wished I was a demigod.

2.  They are exciting.  Rick Riordan, the author, did an excellent job of making each book of the series of five better than the last, culminating in an amazing ending.

3.  These are books based on Greek Mythology, which I must admit I was pretty clueless about.  The only things I really knew about Greek Mythology came from the movies Clash of the Titans and Hercules.  So I learned a lot.  I dare say you will too.

4.  Kids with issues like ADHD and dyslexia will find characters dealing with these too.

5.  And then there’s the stuff that make YA lit so fun: humor, friendship, love, searching for identity and purpose.  All that good stuff.

 

So, if you’re hankering for something good to read, check out Percy Jackson and the Olympians.  You won’t be disappointed.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I love Greek mythology so maybe I’ll pick one of them up. I’m currently reading a biographical novel on Michelangelo called The Agony and The Ecstasy. I’m only about 60 pages in and have roughly 700 more to go, but I’m already completely in love. Renaissance Italy is sort of a big geek point for me. 🙂

    Reply

  2. am i considered “ya”? my birthday is next week. i want pink socks. toes or stripes. either or.

    also. what i know about mythology comes from xena: warrior princess. ayyyyyyiiiiiyiyiyiyiyiyyiiyiyiiiii!

    Reply

  3. Posted by robin on August 18, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    i have to say that those books are some of the best i have ever read! i laughed openly several times during each book! the author did a phenominal job and i cannot wait for his next series. people sort of laugh at me for reading young adult books, but they are thee best!

    well i am off to learn some hillary duff tunes on my reed pipes. have a good day kears!

    Reply

  4. Sorry, you know I don’t read, so no matter how brilliant these books are, or how fantastic this review is, I choose to be selectively illiterate.

    Reply

  5. This is great! I love little photo stories like this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

