What I did last night

Sit on couch.*

Pick up sock** I started knitting 3 months ago and then put up after 2 days.

Peer intently at pattern to determine where I left off.

Look intently at sock. 

Realize I used wrong needle size to begin with.

Cuss in my head.

Frog***. Frog some more.  Cuss more in my head.

Wrestle with double pointed needles.  Cuss more in my head.

Stab myself in eyeball with needle.  Cuss out loud.  Quietly.

Finish cuff.

Move on to leg of sock.

Congratulate myself on my smartness. 

Admire cuff and leg of sock.

Get to heel.****

Peer intently at pattern.

Wonder if writer of pattern was on crack when writing pattern.

Look at clock.

12:20 a.m.

Realize I am not such a fancy knitter after all and go to bed.

 

*  60 year old couch falling apart beneath our butts.

** 1st sock I’ve attempted knitting.

***  Frog: To unravel many rows of knitting.  Many many rows.  Like, all of them. 

*** Where your heel goes in the sock.  Der.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Dude, knitting sounds really scary. Especially the poke yourself in the eye bit.

    Reply

  2. What does “cuss” mean? Did you mean cuff? Do socks even have cuffs? I am so confused…

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 4, 2009 at 5:48 pm

      Socks have cuffs. They do. It’s a fact. I cussed by saying “Sporks”. And “Doo doo”. And “Kah kah”. And other words.

      Reply

  3. I used to knit. I used to crochet. I used to do needlepoint. I used to braid rugs.
    I used to.
    I really did…..
    I have trunks full of needles and gadgets to prove it……
    And remnants of started sweaters, neck scarves, ropes of braided material waiting to turn into rugs….
    somewhere in the house….

    Reply

  4. Posted by dragonsnlace on August 4, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Sounds like my night. Except it was a shawl instead of a sock. 😀

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jaime Williamson on August 5, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I like the Microwave Mini Mitts! I have some mini mitts, but those are cute!
    Can I win???

    Reply

  6. The fact that you can make a sock is magical to me. They’re like…my favorite thing, way above shoes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

