Twittering

So, since so many of you have been clamoring after me during my absence this last week, I thought I’d drop a quick line.

Ok, so nary a one of you inquired after me.  Or clamored.  I’m kind of hurt by you ignoring me.  Moving on.

So, I got on the Twitter Band Wagon.  I’m here.  But I’m way more here than there.  If that makes any sense.

See, here’s the thing.  I’m not too good on Band Wagons period.  I fear change.  Or scoff at them at least.  For example, let me share a conversation with I had with The Hubs about one month into our marriage.

Setting:  Our living room, 1998.

HUBS:  See, I really think we should get something called a DVD player.

ME:  What’s a DVD player?

HUBS:  Something to watch movies on.  Like VHS but on a CD.  It’s way better.

ME:  Why?  VHS works just fine.

HUBS:  Because that’s what’s new and soon there won’t be anything but DVDs to watch.

ME:  Scoff.  Psh.  Hmpf.  Pfft.  That’s what they said about CDs but they still have cassette tapes, right?

HUBS:  Blink.  Blink.

End scene.

Lance loves this story.  He reminds me about once a year.  Particularly when something new and fun in the Technology World comes up.

So when it came to Twittering, I just sat back and watched others.  But I didn’t feel that Tug.  That Draw.  That Thing I Want To Capitalize Because It’s How I Feel about Twittering.  But then I joined.

It turns out, I don’t have much to Twitter.

However, I love DVDs.  Which Lance says is now going the way of VHS.  Hmpf.

And now you aren’t surprised I took a week off from blogging.  Come back soon for a giveaway from Jenny Bunny Creations.

9 responses to this post.

  1. i didn’t ask about you because i knew where you were the whole time.

    twitter is borrrrring. and. i want more followers.

    and. i was going to blog about twitter. except my blog is all about stuff i like. and i’m not sure i like twitter. i am sure i like to call people twits. but apparently. that has nothing to do with anything. nor does my comment.

    i’m wondering if you could write to michael vartan and have him follow me in twitter. he’s not on twitter. so. you’d have to ask him to join first. thanks.

    closeness.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kamryn on July 6, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    You and Lance have been together 20 years, huh? 🙂 As for twittering, I’m not twitty enough for it. But I heart your blog.

    Reply

  3. I’m following you……isn’t Twitter creepy! ; )

    Reply

  4. Psst…Kearsie: come closer. This is just between us.

    I hate Twitter. And yet, I was forced into it by co-workers / co-Campus Pastors who said, “All the cool campus pastors are doing it.” And so now I am.

    And it’s just a glorified announcement feed.

    I’ve yet to launch a personal Twitter account, because – like you – I don’t think I have anything truly Twitter-worthy to tweet about more than about once a week. And you know the public clamors for jank more than once a week.

    I’ve thought about making up a completely fake Twitter account, complete with tales of me running from the cops, bungee jumping, and disemboweling the occasional ne-er-do-well. Whatcha think about that?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 7, 2009 at 2:26 pm

      Dang. I think it would take way more work to have a fictional Twitter life than to actually have a real life. I suppose I shall have to work harder at Twittering something besides “I really love my new Edward action figure”.

      Reply

  5. I joined Twitter because people said I would get more readers on Blogger. It’s kinda true but you have to know how to use it. After you post a blog go to your twitter and write “Posted new blog at (enter url) #blog #blogging #blogger

    This way when people do a search for trending topics they’ll see your post if they search for blog, bloggers, or blogging.

    But if it makes you feel better I’ll follow anyone who isn’t a sex kitten and has a blog thats worthy of my time 🙂 LOL You can find me at @Babyjamazing

    Reply

  6. Actually, I was on vacation last week…so I would have clamored for you had I been here!!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 7, 2009 at 2:50 pm

      Lynn! I can.not. comment on your blog. It’s making me cry. And say the curses.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

