Motivator

I was watching Resident Evil on Oxygen this weekend, and I kept hearing the word “Motivator” every few seconds.  It took me a few minutes to realize that the Movie Cuss Word Replacer Person had replaced the word “Motivator” with the Grandmother Of All Cuss Words.  You know which one.  The two-word cuss word.  The one that talks about your momma.  In a not nice way.  That one. 

 

And I was laughing my head off. 

“Motivator, please.”

“That motivator is shooting at us!”

“Get down, motivator!”

 

And on and on it went.  I suppose motivator is better than just silence.  Can you imagine watching the movie with a bunch of blank spots?  It would be like Mad Libs for Movies.

“_______________, please.”

“That __________________ is shooting at us!”

“Get down, _______________!”

 

I don’t think our brains could keep up. 

 

It also occurred to me that the word motivator isn’t a bad word, really.  I mean, if I’m in traffic, and someone cuts me off, would me shouting “Hey, motivator!!” really be that bad?  In fact, I might encourage said cutter offer from cutting off others.  It would be like Road Rage Encouragement.  If I can just keep my fingers from illustrating the point, and paste a smile on my face, I just might make a difference on these here roads.

**********

Update!  I found a clip on youtube that shows the crazy censoring of Resident Evil!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, “motivator” works!! What a great substitution. I, personally, find that Russian composers also work well. “Get outta my way, Tchaikovski.” Or, “Shostakovich, that’s a great sandwich.”

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 26, 2009 at 3:47 pm

      Those definitely sound like cuss words, thanks! Always good to have a few “sounds like cuss words but really not” in my arsenal.

      Reply

  2. Someday you are going to get me fired… from laughing so hard.

    Reply

  3. That’s so funny. I never uttered the word motivator (the other motivator) until I watched 4 seasons of Weeds in one week. Since then it’s become a charming part of my vocabulary, mostly in my mind but it does slip out now and again. Motivator!

    Reply

  4. I’ll be watching bad movies on Oxygen just so I can hear that now.

    Reply

  5. Man, Arnold really missed his true soundbite, “I’ll be baaaaaaaaack, motivator!”

    Reply

  6. that resident evil is one bad motivator.

    Reply

  7. yeah. that’s the best i could come up with. so sad.

    Reply

  8. I’m so glad I’m back so that I can read your blogs! I missed them very much…now why aren’t you showing up in my Google Reader?! I thought you deleted your blog. My heart broke.

    Don’t do that again Motivator!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 4, 2009 at 3:19 pm

      I like to be mysterious, that’s why I didn’t show up on your Google Reader. Also, I’m Technology Challenged, so I probably pushed a button that deleted myself from viewers, it might have been when I sneezed. I don’t know.

      What’s funny, Jenny, is that I JUST left a comment on your blog. Like, just now. When you were leaving me a comment on mine. So we are matchy matchy with the comments. And if you’re wearing a cranberry colored shirt then I might have to call Ripley’s. Or write a blog about our crazy matchy-matchiness.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

