On losing weight

Folks, I think I might have solved the problem of weighing yourself.  You’ll never dread the scale again.  Just do it like this:

 

weight

 

This last week, I’ve been living a new alien life.  I’ve been dieting and exercising and by golly, I’ve lost 7 lbs. 

What kick started this new bizarre way of living was a little trip to the doctor for a sinus infection.  Unfortunately, when I had my blood pressure taken, the numbers were uber high.  Like, folks were staring at me to see if I’d fall over dead at the check out counter.  So, it turns out, a scary doctor who is looking at me with disapproval is the motivation I’ve been lacking all these years.  Who knew?

16 responses to this post.

  1. Woah…you just lost a medium-sized chihuahua! You go girl!

    BTW I am totally weighing myself that way now, or, I will weigh myself when I am on the moon, you know, my many moon trips…

    KEEP IT UP!!!! I want to hear more about your progress, and, I want to see your eyebrows *tapping fingers with impatient look on face*

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 20, 2009 at 3:12 pm

      Chihuahuas…what a great way to gauge my weight loss:
      “I started out roughly the weight of 87 chihuahuas, but now I’m down to just 20 chihuahuas!”

      Reply

  2. HAHHA! I think it’s the weigh to go! Get it? Weigh? Ugh…

    Reply

  3. Great image!

    Reply

  4. Whoa – I’d give up donuts if it meant I’d lose 7 pounds. Please, what worked for you?? (On my knees, pleading, making a boo-boo face.)

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 20, 2009 at 8:00 pm

      I’m sorry to say with no humor or exaggeration whatsoever (a rarity for this here blog), I joined Weight Watchers online and started tracking points, and I started walking a mile or so every couple of days, and then using my Wii Fit. Oh, and I gave up soda and started drinking water. Well, I have the occassional soda, but not every day.

      I know, that is so boring I almost fell asleep writing that.

      Reply

  5. Congratulations! And I think I can lose more weight than you b/c I am totally going to start weighing myself in the way of that illustration.

    Reply

  6. Wow, that means your eyebrow hair was 7#…..!!!
    Ha
    Seriously, congratulations. WW is one of the few “diets” that work because you can eat what you want and watch points. No “Bad Foods”..but you learn that you can eat more if you choose healthy foods (less points).
    You go girl!

    Reply

  7. Congratulations! I know from experience what a difference the sodas can make. I’ve been walking this week and feeling good about it, but my Wii Fit that I begged and pleaded for is still giving me judgmental looks from under the tv stand.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 22, 2009 at 3:59 pm

      I completely understand. My little Wii spokesperson loves to mock me in how long it’s been since I’ve been to “visit”. Hmph.

      Reply

  8. Posted by Jaime on May 22, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I joined weight watchers several years ago and lost 6 pounds my first week. I did really good with it…then got pregnant again!! So here I am back worse than square one. How much was it to join ww online?? If I still have the books and stuff, would it still be worth it to join online do you think? Maybe we can keep each other accountable???

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 22, 2009 at 3:54 pm

      Well, one week of WW online is free, then after the week is over, then the fee is something like $65 for 3 months. I think we are going to cancel, because I’ve got access to books and online resources and because this summer we have to pay for extortion (childcare) and so I shall be cutting off arms and legs and maybe toenails to pay for that. Alas. However, I am very interested in keeping each other accountable, and at least sharing tips and good recipes, because I lack mightily in the cooking department and I work with The Devil’s Secret Agents who bring in cheesecake and cakes and junk weekly. But, if you join online, I love that you can do things like track your points, and see how you’re doing day to day and search for recipes and stuff. I’m hating that your Wii died! How horrible!!

      Reply

  9. Posted by Jaime on May 22, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    oh! and our Wii broke. it died in a thunderstorm 3 weeks ago!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jennifer on May 23, 2009 at 5:57 am

    You should try fitday.com to track your exercise and food. It’s free and it will make pie charts for you. I’m a visual person and I love to see the pie chart when my protein vs. carbs vs. fat is where it’s supposed to be. It uses all kinds of graphs to track your weight loss progress (or lack thereof), your nutrition balance, and your exercise. I really like it. It’s definitely more supportive than the Wii Fit. My Wii keeps telling me how fat I am. Sometimes I just want to strangle Mii . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

