On waxing

To wax my upper lip or not, that is the question…

 

So last week, I did it.  I got my eyebrows waxed.  I no longer look like I have brown fuzzy caterpillars waging war against each other on my forehead.  Now, they are sexay caterpillars, finely tuned and toned caterpillars, with their backs arched coyly. 

It went something like this:

EYEBROW THINNING GIRL:  Ok, I’m going to put this wax on so hold real still.

ME:  HOLY GOD IN HEAVEN THAT IS REALLY HOT.

EYEBROW GIRL:  Well, it actually hurts less when it’s this hot.

ME:  Then let ‘er burn.

EYEBROW GIRL:  Ok, now I’m going to put this strip of cotton on.  *pat pat YANK*

ME:  OUCH! 

EYEBROW GIRL:  Yeah, I don’t tell you when I’m going to yank  heh heh.  But that wasn’t so bad was it?

ME:  Hmm.  Well, it was easier than childbirth, so yeah, I guess it wasn’t so bad.

EYEBROW GIRL:  Ok, ready for the next one?

ME:  Oh I am so ready. 

(Editor’s note:  I didn’t really say this, because that would be uber dorky.  I probably just nodded.)

EYEBROW GIRL:  Ok, next eyebrow.  *slaps on wax, pats on cotton, yanks*

ME:  *barely flinch and quite proud that I barely flinch*

EYEBROW GIRL:  Hmm, let me use some tweezers and thin these out.  *pluck pluck pluck*

ME:  *fighting the urge to slug her as this HURTS WAY WORSE THAN THE WAXING*

EYEBROW GIRL:  Ok, here you go, nice shapely eyebrows!

ME:  *still fighting urge to slug her as it still smarts*

EYEBROW GIRL:  Oh, by the way, you’ll still have to pluck.  Just so you know.

ME:  Dang.

 

I gotta say though, I am in deep smit with my eyebrows now.  I can’t help preening in front of the mirror with my perfectly arched brows, and fluttering my eyelashes a bit.  I did this in front of Lance and said, “Notice anything different?” *flutter flutter* and he was like “Umm, nope.”  Yeah, well, maybe folks aren’t looking at my eyebrows like I feared they were. 

Now to tackle that mustache like thing hanging above my upper lip….

14 responses to this post.

  1. Ooooh, I’ve had it done it once, a long time ago! My eyebrows looked so pretty! And that’s not something I ever thought about my eyebrows before, they’re blond and bushy but nearly invisible. When they were waxed, they were actually defined, it was cool. She didn’t do any tweezing though.

    I was thinking about doing it again, but now that I got the bangs, you can’t really see my eyebrows, so I figure, what’s the point?

    Tweezing I can’t do. At all. Wouldn’t even know how.

    Reply

  2. OOH… I have never done my eyebrows… Mostly cuz I tried to pluck them myself way back in highschool. You are supposed to pull in a certain direction so it won’t hurt as bad… Well THAT was a load… It hurt no matter what direction I pulled from! SO! Lesson learned… My irregular eyebrows are just a gift that I have learned to live with (and shape lightly with a eyebrow pencil when the mood for make-up strikes… )

    The upper lip, however, is a continual pain in my butt! I have used bleach, hair removal creme(for the face), wax… and I have attempted to pluck it! Nothing could hurt worse, nope not even messing with the eyebrows! So I did this horrible routine for YEARS! So now… when I have finally given up, I have a burnt cast to my upper lip. I asked a dermatologist about it and she told me that using ANY chemicals on my face could result in such staining! YAY! So now I have a permanent ‘mustache’ that only caked on foundation can cover!

    My advice to you: if you choose to remove hair from your upper lip, go the way of the wax…. At least you won’t be left with chemical burns! 😉

    Reply

  3. I love waxing my brows. It’s sick. One time though, my waxer ripped out a big chunk of extra hair though… I had a bald spot. It was hilarious.

    Reply

  4. I so need to do this. But I’m so lazy I haven’t even gotten a pedicure in months. Lazy lazy. Oh the GUILT.

    Reply

  5. I hate the plucking. I want to see the caterpillars, please.

    And I already told you what to do about the ‘stash during scrab…that’s just between us tho…

    Reply

  6. i used to have them waxed weekly.

    once. i tried to wax them at home. that was not good.

    Reply

  7. You are a brave, brave woman. Keep that hot wax away from my uni-brow.

    Reply

  8. Just think how fun a bikini wax is!!!!

    Reply

  9. Hey…where did my comment go?! Stupid form…actually stupid computer. It timed out on me.

    Anyway waxing is soooooooooooooooo much more better than threading. Threading is horrible. It’s this little woman standing over you with thread and yanking out every single stray hair on your face. Whats worse then the hairs being yanked out from their root? the SOUND it makes.

    Oh my. Pain.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Melissa on May 20, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Kaufman curse?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 20, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      If you have a mustache, then yes, it’s the Kaufman’s curse. If not, it’s just my horrid genes.

      Reply

  11. Posted by wigginsout55 on May 20, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    so where is the picture? I wanna see the new shapely, sexay caterpillars! And man there is not much in this world that we do to ourselves that hurts worse than waxing…anything!

    Reply

  12. Posted by finuke on May 21, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Look … there is nothing wrong with women having mustaches. If you do have a mustach you should trim it up so it is a pencil thin mustach. The Boston Blackie kind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

