On gleeking

Since so many of you did not know what “gleeking” is, I thought I would take the time to expound on this.  Also, this will prove to you how extremely classy I am.   

Gleek: A stream of saliva from a person’s mouth.

 600a5cbfa7dcded4

Also, a disgusting image, no? 

 

So when I say I accidentally “gleeked” on someone at Blockbuster, I mean that I spit saliva on her in the midst of asking if Underworld: Rise of the Lycans was a good movie. 

 

It occurs to me I could have recovered in one of several ways.

a) Glibly remark, “That was the weather, now for some news!”

b) Glibly remark, “Let me spray that again.”

c) Walk quickly to the door and then trip on the mat and crash through the doors.

 

I chose option C.

12 responses to this post.

  1. I gotta admit, I always wished I could gleek on command. I guess I’m just still jealous of the dudes in middle school who could.

    Also, that picture is disturbing. I mean, ewww.

    Reply

  2. Self deprecation in its highest and truest form, and I applaud you for sharing, for I laughed so hard that cheese came out of my nose! Where the cheese came from, I am not sure…

    Reply

  3. You are cracking me up! And yeah, that is a gross picture. And I’m eating. So thanks for that!

    Reply

  4. Okay, I’ve got option C down pat, but I’m still not sure I have the physical ability to gleek. I’ll try it at carpool…

    Reply

  5. Oh thank god for the definition and graphic.
    I say, if you swallowed more frequently (or drooled less), you may not have to suffer this gleeking condition. Like Kegel exercises for your bladder, let’s practice now, shall we?
    Swallow, talk, swallow, talk, swallow (shut the frick up), swallow, talk. See, that wasn’t too bad. Do 50 per day while watching ads on TV (unless they are advertising foods, which only exacerbates the drooling thing). See…after 6 years, you will have absolutely no more gleeking problems.
    That will be $50 please, for the gleeking counseling from an R.N.
    Drinking copious amounts of alcohol also exacerbates the gleeking symptoms, so for you, perhaps it is a lost cause. So, perhaps I could refer you to Gleeker’s Anonymous?
    No…that won’t work, because as soon as you introduce yourself, you will gleek on someone. Of course you will have a sympathetic audience (not to mention wet).
    I’ve got it, use sign language!!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mom on May 18, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    You forgot about option D…where you crack up over your gleek (or other social blunder) and laugh so hard you pee your pants and THEN try to casually stroll on out the door.

    Reply

  7. Oh my goodness. Okay well now it makes more sense that I know what it is. I think I often gleek on myself. LOL Sounds odd and I don’t know how I do it but I often do.

    BTW: Underworld Rise of the Lycans was a great movie! 🙂 You should rent it…. from another Blockbuster.

    Reply

  8. I can’t stop laughing b/c I can picture the whole thing, quite vividly actually. Have I done this?!

    Reply

  9. Posted by wigginsout55 on May 19, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Thanks for the explanation AND the visual. Wherever did you find that picture? There just is no genteel way to get out of a situation where you have gleeked, loudly burped or accidentally farted. As you get older you will begin to see that these are just the kinds of things that should have built character when you were younger, but you’re not younger so you really don’t care. Loved the tripping over the mat and slamming into the doors. Too perfect!

    Reply

  10. dude. if i were with you, i woulda been like

    to the blockbuster girl: yo. did you just pull spit from my friend’s mouth? that is so uncool. give it back to her.

    Reply

  11. ROTFL!! Okay, everyone’s comments before me cracked me up as much as your post.

    Thanks for the humorous and ewwwwww-y break in my evening. Now I can go to bed happy. LOL!

    Visiting via SITS. So glad I surfed the comments and visited you. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

