Mom

With Mother’s Day just a stone’s throw away, I thought I’d introduce you to my mom.  Also, I will not be throwing any stones.  Maybe Orbit gum wrappers.  Or used Kleenex.  Whatever.

My mom was a wee babe herself when she found out she was pregnant with me.  I can only imagine how scary it must have been to barely be a teenager and all of a sudden became a mother. I was the ripe old age of 25 when I had my first, and I was terrified then.

1975

1975

***

The fashion malaise starts early with me

The fashion malaise starts early with me

***

But I must have been a happy kid, because all my childhood pictures are of me grinning and getting into trouble.  Like this:

Check out my mad accessory skillz

Check out my mad accessory skillz

***

I hunted and hunted for photos with me and my mom, but unfortunately, like so many mothers, she was the one always behind the camera.

Scan 3***

When I was seven, my sister was born.  Once again, during an extremely stressful time for my mom.  But we had a whole lotta love going on between the three of us.  Also, be prepared for extreme gawkiness.

The Tooth Fairy visited a lot that year.

The Tooth Fairy visited a lot that year.

***

And time marched on as it does so well, and we grew up.  I developed my keen sense of personality and joie de vive, also known as Teenage Attitude.  Whatev.

Scan 5***

After awhile, my mom remarried.  Also, she had the most excellent Mall Hair ever.

Scan 6***

And then, I married and a few years later, joined the ranks of Motherhood.

There is NEVER a dull moment with my family.

There is NEVER a dull moment with my family.

My mom is going to KILL me for adding this, but I just had to show you the crazy sense of humor I was raised in.  That’s my Gma in the middle, striking the baby bump pose with me.  I love you Mom, please don’t harsh on my funny.

***

When I had Emma, I finally understood that crazy thing we call love.  That thing that makes you stare at a little squishy leaky person with pure adoration and awe.  I got it.  I hope I never ever lose it.

Emma

Emma

***

Then we had Addie.  Having my second child was a whole new life.  She was so completely different from Emma, but she added a whole missing dimension to our family. We were complete.

Emma and her Baby Addie

Emma and her Baby Addie

***

Alas, I suck as a parent, because I could find very few pictures of Addie that aren’t already cemented into her scrapbook.  So we’ll jump ahead a few years.  This is one of my faves of Addie:

DSC00008Man, I miss my kids when they were so little.  Wasn’t she a doll?

***

I am so blessed to have my girls.  They are such a joy when they aren’t driving me crazy.  I can’t imagine life without them.  The world has more color, more depth.  Motherhood is dang hard, but man, it is also awesome.

DSC00180***

DSC01907***

DSC02604***

DSC04103***

Emma Wemma and Addinator Alligator

Emma Wemma and Addinator Alligator

***

To my mother: Thank you so much for being my Unordinary Mom.  For your sacrifices, for late night talks, for giving me swear words, for buying me makeup when I turned 11.  I owe a lot to you, and I thank God for you.  Muah.

To my children:  I am honored to be your Momma.  I pray I am a good example, a best friend and a confidant.  I love you to the moon.  Also, be kind to me and don’t post pics of me when I was a fatty in the future, ok?  Muah.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Candy on May 8, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    okay I am all “leaky” as you would say .. beautiful Kears.. beautiful .

    Reply

  2. this was beautiful….loved all the pics!

    Reply

  3. Truly such a sweet, lovely post (SOB!) like seriously no lie. Happy Mama’s Say!

    Reply

  4. Posted by thelonelyeskimo on May 8, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Word to your mother…oh, wait…

    Reply

  5. It is so true that you appreciate your mother so much more when you become one yourself. You understand the unspoken emotions and life experiences.
    Your mom knows you love her.
    Just like you know your kids love you.
    Happy Mother’s Day!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mom on May 9, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Thank you, (snif) darlin’, that’s (snif) the nicest thang (snif) anybody’s ever (snif) said to me…except maybe that time that guy told me…..no, wait, never mind, what you said is WAY nicer. You and your sister sure did make it easy to be a Mom, you all were the BEST KIDS in the world. And now you’ve gone & blessed me with the most AWSOME grandbabies EVER EVER born! My grandgirls just ROCK. They make me want to sing and dance and throw glitter everywhere! They are like ice-cream and sparklers and summertime all rolled into one experience and they are the lights of my life. I thank you both (yeah, and your hubbies have to be thanked too) for these girlies you have blessed me with. Happy Mother’s Day to everyone.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mom on May 9, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    P.S. I really did LOVE all the pictures, even the one of the three a-preggos. I’d forgotten all about it. G’ma’s to blame for all the family wackiness, ya know, she’s always been such a hoot to be around…except for those darned kleenex she stashes EVERYWHERE. Well, we’ll never go hungry and we’ll never lack for kleenex as long as G’ma’s around. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I must say that I am insanely jealous of your Mom’s mall hair. Being a Jersey girl, that hair is PERFECTION! It’s almost as good as being a Mom. 🙂

    Happy Mom’s Day!

    Reply

  9. I meant to say “being that I’m a Jersey girl, I must say her hair is PERFECTION!”

    I gardened all day and I’m too pooped to write clearly!

    Reply

  10. You have a beautiful family. HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!
    Thank you for the comment 🙂
    Check out my blog again…you’ll see your name! 🙂

    Reply

  11. This is so sweet! Happy (late) Mother’s Day.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Melissa on May 14, 2009 at 1:47 am

    I remember so much when you were the ages of baby through 7 with those pics you posted (and your mother too). You were such a sweet girl. I don’t know if you remember coming to my house for the weekend and we went out to dinner and did something you wanted to do (swimming, movies, etc.) and then I bought you something cool. You and Trinette were so good when you were around me that it gave me courage to have my own daughter. I agree with you about having a daughter(s). I only wish all those fun things we used to do I got to be able to spoil Kam with. I missed out on that fun and wonderful experience. Gee, if your girls were closer, I could do the same with them (and possibly ruin them too) 🙂 Miss and love you much babydoll.

    Reply

  13. Posted by wigginsout55 on May 18, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Beautiful. Make sure you take lots of pics w/ your daughters & Lance, too. I lost my mom really young and only have a couple of pics of me & her together. Too late for my own kids, but I try to make sure the grandkids get pictures w/ their moms. Very special! Love you, Kearsie!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Aunt Shanon on May 19, 2009 at 3:16 am

    I remember you at those tender young years. You were so sweet and loving. Thanks for the photo memories. I love you and miss you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

