What did he say? Is that English?

I fear all my years of listening to Bass in the back of cars sitting next to giant speakers has finally taken it’s toll on my ears. 

Friday, in my Keyboard Confessions, I stated that it is impossible to be in a bad mood listening to Come On, Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners.  For real.  Find the song and listen to it and I am not kidding- it is impossible to have bad feelings.  It’s better than Prozac.  Maybe.

However, if you are like me, you are scratching your head because you can’t understand more than a handful of words. “Toora loora toora looray aye…” What the heck?

 

I am not alone in this.  I found this video on youtube from a guy with the same problem. 

 

And if you’re a lyrics junkie like me, here are the real lyrics for Come On, Eileen.  Not that they really help.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I always thought that part was taken from a German lullaby…I didn’t check the lyrics, but am I right?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Robin on April 27, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    kearsie…we would be famous if you tube had been around when we were in highschool. i can totally see us posting something like that. remember “hot potatoes, hot potatoes” HAHAHAAA

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 27, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      HAHAHHAHA I forgot about that one. Or how about CHRISTIAN ROCK?

      “Hey man, is that Christian Rock?”

      “Yeah man!”

      “Well turn it up!”

      Reply

  3. Irish lullaby, but yep, that’s what it’s from. Won’t pretend to know all the words though. 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by thelonelyeskimo on April 27, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I saw a shirt that said “I came on Eileen.” It’s wrong on so many levels, but I think it’s hysterical.

    I know.

    Bad Kamryn.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Karen on April 28, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Sang it to both of my kids…
    Toora loora loora
    Toora looray aye
    Toora loora loora
    Hush now don’t you cry
    Toora loora loora
    Toora loora aye
    Toora loora loora
    That’s an Irish lullaby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

