Remember this? *We are the World installment*

Remember watching MTV when MTV still had music videos? I miss Kurt Loder. And Martha Quinn. But not Down Town Julie Brown.

This was a music video with just about everyone popular in the year 1985. If you’ve never seen it, you must have been living under a rock. Or growing up with my husband in The Void of Culture.

Enjoy.

Or if you are a lover of all things British, here is the video done by our pals over there.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I do. I recall sitting with my best friend and her brothers and sisters on her couch and watching some of the first MTV videos. Do they not do music videos any more? O.k., back to sterilizing tomato start containers.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Megan on April 22, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Or if we have never seen it we must have been born in 1985!

    Reply

  3. “Do They Know It’s Christmas” is one of my all-time fave songs. I play it every season! I was a complete Mtv junkie as a kid, until all the shows came around. Video killed the radio star, reality TV killed the music video.

    Reply

  4. I loved We Are The World. I used to sing it all the time and pretend that I was in the video (holding the ear thing with one hand and singing into the mic.) Oh…good times.

    Reply

  5. Oh how I remember MTV when it actually was Music Television. Okay so I watch the Hills and The City but can someone please tell me whats so music-y about that? The only music related thing on MTV now is the TRL count down type of thing.

    Remember when MTV had music and the only non music thing they had was Real World, Road Rules, and that game show REMOTE CONTROL?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

