The many variations of the word “hey”

It occurs to me that when I say “Hey” to folks, that I am really meaning different things.

There is the “Hey!”: as in “I’m so glad to see you!”  This is the norm.

There is the “Heeeyy”: as in “There in no inflection in my voice because I’m not that excited to see you, but I’ll stretch out this “hey” to make you feel like I am.”  I’m guilty of this one.

There is the “Heyyyyy”: as in “Wait just a minute, you are saying something to me and I’m just figuring out what you really meant.”  Often, eyes will squint while saying this one.

There is the “HehEYyy”: as in “BIG inflection in my voice because I am thinking big thoughts about you.”  Also found a lot in Southern cultures.  It’s sort of like hearing a Hey rainbow.

And last but not least:

There is the “Hey-HEY-hey”: as in “A greeting with a lot of attitude.”  Also found watching That’s So Raven.

 

Here’s hoping this week’s blog offerings are better than this one.

9 responses to this post.

  1. HEY! Is a fantastic interjection. Seriously. So versatile, flexible, relevant, and mysterious. Not to be confused ever with “hay”, the dry, maze-colored, ground insulator and horse/cow chew. But, my witty husband always yells “hay!” whenever we pass farmland. He has done this for years, and to this day I am still dumb-witted enough to say “what???”

    How is “Gwyneth Paltrow is an ambassador” related to this post. I know it says “possibly” but, really???

    Reply

  2. Posted by thelonelyeskimo on April 20, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    There are also three versions of “hello.”
    There’s the plain and simple “hello” which means, well, hello.
    There’s “Hellooooo” which means “are you seriously that stupid?” (Sounds best with a valley girl accent which is funny because they are stereotypically stupid anyway. But I digress.)
    And there’s “HELLo” which is best saved for eye candy of the opposite gender.

    Reply

    • Posted by Mom on April 23, 2009 at 11:25 pm

      Seriously, have you ever heard an Eskimo use a Valley Girl accent? With all the gutteral inflections the language comes with, it would be easy to get spit on and you wouldn’t know if it was the Eskimo or the Valley Girl doing it…..oh wait, you wern’t doing that on Eskimos, just writing it as an Eskimo….never mind.Please excuse me, I’m going to go rub my nose in the corner now.

      Reply

  3. Posted by thelonelyeskimo on April 20, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    And why doesn’t my face show up on comments instead of the purple square deal? Hmmm…

    Reply

  4. My personal favorite is “Heyyyy Baby” by the perverts you walk by on the street corners. Yuck.
    Like that is going to make you fall to your knees in gratitude and lust for them. Because they are so damn HAWT.

    The Retirement Chronicles

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mom on April 23, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    You forgot HEY! As in “HEY, GET YOUR FREAKIN’ HANDS OFF ME YOU CREEP!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

