Remember this? *Inspector Gadget installment*

I miss my childhood.  Childhood was fun.  Childhood was getting up early on Saturday morning and watching cartoons like this:

 

What were some of your favorite cartoons from childhood?

24 responses to this post.

  1. I could use Inspector Gadget. Do you rent him out????

    I used to love the classics…Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck and that one with the witch that when she took off, the screen showed dust and a bunch of her hairpins…I don’ t remember her name. Oh, and the Pink Panther of course, along with the Road Runner.
    Maybe I need Inspector “Gadget and all the things from the Acme company that the Road Runner would order…!! 😀
    The Retirement Chronicles

    Reply

  2. Posted by Carrie on April 8, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Inspector Gadget was the bomb. My favorite was Fraggle Rock though.

    Cast your cares away
    Worries for another day
    Let the music play
    Down at Fraggle Rock

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 8, 2009 at 5:51 pm

      Good one Carrie! The only episode I remember is when that one Fraggle with the purple pigtaily things was mad because someone was eating her special treats and it turned out it was her eating them in her sleep.

      Reply

  3. I was all Smurfs, all the time. That said – whenever anyone asks me what superpower I would choose, I always say “Go-Go-Gadget-Arms!” What can I say? LAZY.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 8, 2009 at 6:27 pm

      Would you think me ridiculous if I admitted to actually willing my arms to grow longer to turn off the lights while I’m seated on the couch ala Inspector Gadget? …Yes, I am ridiculous. Also, I’ve tried to do this with brain power. Alas, I have no extra brain power or telekinesis. Also, I had to google telekinesis. Sigh.

      Reply

  4. I loved the superhero cartoons and looney toons. Captain Caveman was great and Scooby Doo I watched a ton of.

    I love cartoons. The ones I like now are of course the old Ren and Stimpy, Spongebob, and Dave the Barbarian, which was canceled…

    Just like dinners, too many to list…

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 8, 2009 at 9:12 pm

      My favorite Ren and Stimpy is where ahahhaha Stimpy is Rapunzel ahahahahaha and Ren goes to the castle tower to save him hahahaahahahahah and there is a lock of hair hanging down which he lovingly carresses ahahahahhaha and the camera pans up and it’s from Stimpy’s nose ahahahahahaahahahahaha

      Also, thanks for commenting.

      *drooling*

      Reply

  5. Posted by Kamryn on April 9, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Ahem…I seem to remember a certain big sister who used to hate watching my cartoons like Maya the Bee and David the Gnome…

    Reply

  6. I was ALL about smurfs, except Gargamel scared the bejesus out of me every time. I was pretty much a woos. I miss you on my blog!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 9, 2009 at 1:08 pm

      I had forgotten all about the Smurfs! Gargamel and Azreal were both really creepy. I think they were supposed to be real evil figures from history, too. Which makes it even creepier…
      I promise to come back to your blog like a disease, Lindsay, I have been going through a tired funk. No energy, not sleeping well…it makes for very little brain power and next to no wit. But I will be myself soon, promise.

      Kam, yes, I did indeed hate Maya the Bee and David the Gnome, if only because it meant I couldn’t watch MTV or Comedy Central all hours of the day like teenagers think they should be able to. I apologize. I would sit and watch Maya the Bee now, just to prove to you my love. Or how about I just change Mayer’s poopy diaper?

      Reply

  7. I loved Inspector Gadget, soon as I saw what this would be I was already humming the theme in my head. It really brightened my day a little when it needed it, thanks Kearsie.

    (When I want something out of reach, I’ve been known to reach out my arm as far as it will go and say “Go Go Gadget Arm” and wait in hopes someone will hand it to me. It’s been quite effective.)

    I recently bought Fraggle Rock on DVD, I’ve been trying to introduce my nieces and nephews to the finer things in life.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 9, 2009 at 2:56 pm

      That is awesome Samantha! I have been trying to introduce some of the oldies but goodies to my kids, some of which they like (The Dark Crystal), some of which they didn’t (Labrynth). I need to find some Fraggle Rock for them!

      Reply

  8. Awww, don’t be dissing David the Gnome. I still have my collection of about 20 little gnomes spread throughout my house.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Robin on April 9, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    i loved the smurfs and looney tunes. i also used to watch the “usa cartoon express” and there was this “jane of the jungle” cartoon…she rocked. also on the express was “jabber jaws” some cartoon about a shrark…..

    i also really liked this one with race cars called “pole position” i still remember the theme song. there was also “thunder cats” come on! who didn’t love thundercats ho!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 9, 2009 at 4:09 pm

      Am I a total nerd if I say I also used to love Jem? “Jem is truly outrageous, truly, truly, truly outrageous, woah, Jem, the music’s contageous, outrageous, Jem is my name, no one else is the same- Jem is my name!”…genius lyrics, really.

      Reply

  10. Posted by Robin on April 9, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    oh man. jem was tops. and that pink hair of hers. da bomb baby.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Robin on April 9, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    oh and i had forgotten all about captain caveman! good call kim! “i have a taffy waffy plan!”

    Reply

  12. Posted by Kamryn on April 9, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I remember you saying you wanted to change your name to Jem because she was rad. I think we need to bring back words like rad. And also bitchin. Pardon me while I put on my parachute pants and break out my New Kids tapes.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 9, 2009 at 8:24 pm

      I’m pretty sure you just made that up.

      Reply

      • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 9, 2009 at 8:25 pm

        But if you find me a cool earring that makes me metamorph into Jem by saying “Synergy!”, then, maybe you were right.

  13. Gummi Bears
    Duck Tales
    Snorks
    Smurfs
    Fraggle Rock
    Muppet Babies
    Chip N Dale Rescue Rangers (I dare you to not get that song stuck in your head)
    Doug

    Reply

Leave a Reply

