Q & A Monday

(What?  Is Kearsie starting to do regular thingies?  Yes, Kearsie is.)

 

Another Monday.  Another day to ask questions and get answers. 

Ask me anything or answer this question:  What is your favorite meal?

 

My answer:  A clay pot meal at a restaurant called Viet Huong that we affectionately call Clay Pot. 

getattachment

 

I only know it by the fancy number C11, but it’s shrimp, scallops, crab, calamari, rice, noodles, broccoli, carrots and mushrooms cooked in a clay pot.  It is divine.  It is manna from the heavens.  If you are at the table with me while I’m eating this wonderful concoction, you will hear me make yummy noises akin to “nom nom nom” which will most likely embarrass you. 

 

me-eating

 

Note to self:  quit slouching immediately.

Your turn.  What’s your favorite meal?  Or ask me a question.

24 responses to this post.

  1. 1. Why isn’t that clay pot topped with a piece of French bread and Gruyere cheese?

    2. What are you drinking? Doesn’t look like green tea to me!

    3. How much did you tip for “manna from the heavens”?

    4. Who took the picture?

    5. Is there something in my teeth?

    6. Is it possible to NOT slouch whilst using chopsticks?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 6, 2009 at 3:21 pm

      1. Huh?
      2. I’m drinking Diet Coke. So it doesn’t look like green tea because it’s not.
      3. I tipped a lot for my manna from the heavens meal. Because the waiter answered all our inane questions and whipped up some fancy chopsticks for our kids to use with rubber bands and napkins. He deserved a mighty tip.
      4. Lance took the picture. Also, I tried to act like I wasn’t posing but I was. I don’t normally have ginormous bug eyeballs. Or maybe I do. Hmm.
      5. I cannot see your teeth. Also, this question sounds familiar…
      6. I slouch most of the time, chopsticks or no. I blame the bosoms.

      also, you didn’t tell me YOUR favorite meal.

      Reply

  2. My favorite food? Most definately SUSHI but if we are talking cooked food then it has to be a really good lasanga. I love lasanga but it has to be made right. My mom used to make it good and then she tried to “Greekify” it and then it all turned to adding Feta and ground lamb and I wanted to gag.

    I’ve always wanted to be brave and try Indian food but if something smells too strong I can’t even bring myself to eat it. I have a firm belief that if it doesn’t look good, if it doesn’t smell good, it probably isn’t very good. The smell of curry is tooooooooo strong!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 6, 2009 at 3:35 pm

      Jenny, good choice! I LOVE sushi and lasagna! And I’m kind of like you, I’m scared of Indian food because I’m a big spice weenie and am scared of spices. Besides, my husband, who loves spices, usually pays for it after eating really spicy food. It doesn’t seem worth it to enjoy the meal and then have to hunt for a bathroom soon after.

      Reply

  3. It doesn’t have GARLIC in it, does it??????? (Re: my post a while ago!)

    My favorite dinner? Hard to choose! I love Sweet and Sour chicken and crab ragoons, or lasagna, or grilled steak, or fresh fish…damn…I can’t pick just one!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 6, 2009 at 3:57 pm

      Hmm, I don’t *think* it has garlic. Erm. Never had crab ragoons, what are they? They sound yummy. Dang, this post is making me hungry.

      Reply

  4. I don’t have one favorite dinner. See, it goes something like this…

    Pizza, Josh’s pizza to be exact
    Pasta (Angel Hair, Fettuccine Alfredo)
    Mexican Food, mainly spinach enchiladas, chips and salsa w/ a Margarita
    Thanksgiving, especially the stuffing and gravy
    Sushi, especially manguro (raw tuna), raw shrimp and scallops…
    Fried Rice, winn-style…
    Shrimp Pad Thai
    Lemongrass and Chili soup
    My mom’s eggplant Parmesan
    My dad’s burgers, salmon, or anything he grills
    Homemade macaroni and cheese
    Breakfast for dinner, especially homemade egg mcmuffins…

    That’s just dinner.

    Yeah. I like to eat. A lot.

    Is that good enough for ya?

    Reply

  5. My favorite meal…Habachi steak, fried rice, salad, vegetables, shrimp at the Kanpai of Tokyo near my hometown. We eat there at EVERYONE’S birthday and any special occasion, or when we have money (which is not now)!! I love every bit of that meal, except the bill. It’s so worth it though!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 6, 2009 at 5:35 pm

      Ooh Jaime! That’s a good one. The first time I went to a Hibachi grill, it was for my 28th birthday. We got a sitter, Lance drove me to this new restaurant, and we walked in. This white guy walks us to a table that should’ve sat 12, and it was just us two. He proceeds to start cooking and informs us halfway through that he is actually the Janitor, but is learning the ropes as a cook. It was less than a stellar meal. I look forward to one day going to a real Hibachi grill and being wowed by the knife flinging and flame throwing or whatever happens.

      Reply

  6. My favorite food: mexican food.

    My question (or more of a demand): name a few guilty pleasures.

    My guilty pleasures:
    – People’s Court, Judge Mathis and Judge Judy
    – Mama’s Family
    – cyber-stalking (in a safe, friendly way)
    – puns

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 6, 2009 at 7:41 pm

      Mmm, I love me some Mexican food. We love to frequent a restaurant where one of the waiters named Gustavo is my youngest daughter Addie’s boyfriend. He will speak rapid Spanish to her and ask for a kiss. It sounds creepy, but he’s really a nice guy. Except, I have no idea if what he’s saying in rapid Spanish is creepy…I just lost my appetite a little.

      Guilty pleasures:
      *Candy
      *Pretty much all my internet doings while at work (The Guilt, it smothers, but not enough to not be on the internet)
      *Twilight and Harry Potter
      *Ellen
      *Haikus

      Reply

  7. I miss Vietnamese food – we had a favorite place when we lived in the city. I don’t really have a favorite meal but my favorite thing to eat is bread and olive oil. If I could live on that with a little chocolate on the side, I would. And, I love Indian food – another thing we don’t get enough of anymore, but I love spices.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 6, 2009 at 9:05 pm

      Mmm, bread and olive oil are a good thing. Although, I can’t eat it without dripping oil all over me. It’s one of those quirky big bosomy things. I am still too skeered of Indian food. Do you suggest something for me to order that won’t make me run from the table screaming “Fiyah!”?

      Reply

  8. My favorite meal is my mom’s spaghetti sauce and homemade raviolis. And yellow curry. Not together though.

    Reply

  9. Roast beef po’ boys. Or BBQ shrimp po’ boys.

    My granny’s spaghetti sauce which I have the recipe, which is fortunate since she can’t make sauce from the beyond.

    Egg sandwiches for breakfast. For all of my variety, I’m incredibly predictable in the AM.

    And my question:

    Why do you say “vagina” on your blog but then say “bosoms”? Seems like most people would go anatomical on the latter and more discreet with the former. But what do I know? I have neither.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 8, 2009 at 1:14 pm

      Ack! Sean!

      First, thank you for playing along and listing your favorite meal.
      Second, ahem, I do *not* say the word vagina, I say the word “vaginal”, which is the cold, medical term. And as far as using the word “bosoms”, well, you’re not a girl so you will not understand.

      Lindsay, Samantha and Melinda: it is so interesting how vast and different our meal tastes are! Also, I have not had chicken fried steak or poori before, or curry. So I think I need to add some new meals to my to-do list!

      Reply

  10. Mmmm, that looks so good!

    I’m a Texas girl, chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes and gravy!

    Reply

  11. I love poori – which is a deep fried bread. Hmmm… I sense a theme. I tend to like the chickpea dishes but can’t think of one off hand. A lot of people like saag paneer which is a spinach and cheese dish.

    Reply

  12. I am not a girl so I will not understand?

    Could it be that you *are* a girl and you will not explain?

    Fine, you girls keep your bosomy secrets. 😉

    Reply

  13. Homemade cheeseburgers. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by Robin on April 9, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    can we go there in november???? must try.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on April 9, 2009 at 6:14 pm

      Absolutely!! I was on my “to do when Robin visits” list. Also, I will introduce you to the Athens delight called Dubs Burgers. You may want to bring hand sanitizer, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

