Q & A

I sit here staring at my computer, on my blog which I love with the fire of a thousand suns, and I have nothing new to share.

Rather than go through another period of writer’s block where I torture you, I am just going to ask if you sweet readers out there have any questions for me?  I will answer as honestly as I can.*

So, lemme have it.

 

Also, I will answer one question right now.  It’s a question I’ve been asked in several private emails from readers. 

Q:  Are you funny in person?

A: AHAHAHAHAHA.  No.  Not really.  It’s all in my head.   

 

Any other questions?

 

(* unless that question is anything along the lines of “How much do you weigh?” Then I will lie my Fatty McFattington sized pants off.  Just sayin.)

33 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    *crickets chirping*

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kim (aka Josh) on March 30, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Really, what do tomatoes sound like?

    Kim (aka Josh)

    Reply

  3. Is the “eskimo kiss” a real thing or is it like “french dressing”?

    Reply

  4. Should it be called an “inuit kiss”?

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Josh (aka Kim), tomatoes sound squishy. Or like tornadoes, according to my daughter. Which is how I got the name.

    Sean, haven’t a clue about the eskimo kissing thing. I would point you to Google on that one. Also, I almost typed Goggle.

    Reply

  6. No. I’m not going to Google (or Goggle). This was your question. Make something up.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 4:02 pm

      Dang, Sean.

      Um, the eskimo kissing thing started when one day, one Eskimo guy went to kiss his honey, this hot Eskimo girl. But he had just eaten some fish, and there were scales still attached to his lips, because he was eating it raw, yo, because he was burly that way. And his honey was like, “Psh, if you think I’m kissing you with fish scales all over your lips you’re smoking crack.” And then he’s all, “Um, what if we do it with our noses?” And she’s like, “Um, that works.”

      And because this couple was like, the popular kids in the village, everyone was all, “OMG, that is such a cool way to kiss! I’m totally doing that with Brian.”

      Thus, Eskimo kissing was born.

      Happy?

      Reply

  7. Posted by Brandee on March 30, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    If a blog flops, and no one is around to notice, is it really a floppy blog, and how can a blog flop with out a flip?
    And if a country girl like chickens, does that make her a hick chick or a chick hick…?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 4:13 pm

      Brandee, your questions make me scratch my head like a chick scratches for um, feed or worms or whatever they scratch for. Hmm. A blog that flops without someone noticing, it still is a floppy blog, just not a loud one. A country girl who likes chickens is a….um, chick chick. A chick who likes chicks. In the nice way.

      Reply

  8. Posted by Brandee on March 30, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Scratch your head with your foot? LOL Now that is rather, well, TMI! Yea, I thought about the chick chick, but that’s what I call the chicks, Hhhheeerrreee chick chick… or bitties..
    So what do you think about the polar bears DYING up there in your home land area? If the ice cube they are on is melting aren’t they smart enough to get on another one?
    Did you turn the lights off Sat? For Earth hour?

    Reply

  9. Happy.

    I knew you could do it.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Robin on March 30, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    this is corny, but i don’t care. i like to play boardgames. what are you favorites? and why???

    i like scattergories cause it gets everyone sharing and laughing and i like monopoly sometimes when it’s the right people. i am avidly against settlers of catan. people go crazy when they play it and take things too seriously.

    Reply

  11. This is SO not a funny question. I ask this b/c you invited us to ask whatever…so here it is. 1) Do you read your Bible often? and 2) What in your spiritual life would you LOVE to improve on? If this is TMI, just say. It’s ok. Just thought I’d take advantage of the question asking. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by Aunt Melissa on March 30, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    name your top 5 favorite things to do when you actually have 1 hour to yourself.

    Reply

  13. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Robin, I love games period. But some of my personal favorites are:

    The Game of Life – because it always turns out different.
    Imaginif – because it’s a great way to get to know people.
    Scrabble – even though I kind of suck at it.
    Scattergories – because it’s just fun.
    Cranium – because it’s also fun.

    Also, I only own one of these games.

    Reply

  14. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Jaime, this question is full of seriousity. But that’s ok.

    I never ever read my Bible often enough. But I figure, if I was reading it 9 hours a day, I still wouldn’t be doing it enough. I also think, what is “enough”? I go through good phases and bad phases. I’m trying to just take it one day at a time, and when I do read, read with the mindset of I GET to read by Bible today, not I HAVE to read my Bible today. Also, I have a small fear of May, when I’m supposed to speak at a women’s retreat that all the ladies there will be like, dude, you don’t read your Bible everyday and you’re our speaker? and I’ll be like, umm, yeah. And they’ll be all, I feel dirty. And I’ll be like, huddling in the corner of my room crying at night.

    This is the area of my spiritual life I guess I need the most improvement on.

    Reply

  15. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Auntie Melissa, here are the top 5 things to do when I have an hour to myself:

    1. Read a book. Currently I’m reading 3- Breaking Dawn, Brisingr and Dragon Knight.

    *Note: after Jaime’s question I feel like dirt for not listing the Bible. Forgive me, people.

    2. Knit or craft. Right now I’m working on something from a pattern called Amanda’s Squatty Bag. I modified the pattern but I keep forgetting where I’m at, which is a sure fire way to make yourself cuss in your head a lot.

    3. If I have an hour to myself and the girls are not around, I will clean. Seriously, I get so much more done when the family is not hovering.

    4. I have a few people I call on my cell phone during non-busy hours.

    *Note: Sometimes I go hog wild and combine #3 and #4. I have such an exciting life.

    5. I’m trying to organize my notes for writing a book. I tried just sitting at the computer, winging it. Apparently, that method is truly madness. So I’m outlining and jotting all my ideas.

    Reply

  16. Have you hula hooped?

    Are you still jittery?

    Are you gonna watch Noises Off and read Patrick McManus soon?

    Is your oven on?

    Can I get a WOOT WOOT?

    Is there something in my teeth?

    Will this Ed Bender ever be over with?

    Will you follow all the rules of my next giveaway??

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 5:43 pm

      Kim,
      1. Haven’t hula hooped in two weeks. I rock.
      2. I am not so jittery. Although, I was up until 4:45 Sunday a.m. with tons of energy. Today, not so much.
      3. Noises Off is on my list. I am a woman of my word. Have to hunt down Patrick McManus. You know, Twilight is much easier to find, ahem.
      4. I don’t *think* my oven is on, but now I’m slightly afraid it is…
      5. WOOT WOOT.
      6. I’m hoping only plaque is in your teeth. Also I really had to think if it was plague or plaque. I’m getting dummer.
      7. The Ed Bender is here to stay. It is Ed Permanent.
      8. I will follow every rule of the giveaway so long as it is not GIVE UP TWILIGHT AND EDWARD. That, my friend, I cannot do.

      Reply

  17. Didn’t mean to scare you with the seriousness, lol!! And what woman at the conference really reads her Bible EVERY day?? Maybe some. Probably not alot. No worries. Don’t cry. Where are you speaking? Wish I could be there.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 5:51 pm

      I’m speaking in Orlando for Vanessa and Winn’s ladies group. We’re just hanging out a lot and I’m only speaking once. I’m told by Winn that I cannot: talk more than 20 minutes, get sappy or emotional, and be too serious.

      I think she’s kidding. Erm.

      Reply

  18. how much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood? and. what will you do in your dream life – when you find out that in real life – edward will always be with me?

    and. 20 minutes without sap, over emotion, and seriousness. i’m not kidding.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 7:47 pm

      He’d chuck all the wood a woodchuck could if a woodchuck could chuck wood.

      Edward can visit me in my ski lodge with a broken leg any.time.he.wants…in my dream.

      Also, I need to buy a dream stethoscope.

      Reply

  19. 1. Have you read Louise Rennison’s Georgia Nicolson series? These books are nothing at all like the Twilight books, except that they’ll hook you into them. They’re hilarious. And Georgia uses words like “seriousity”.

    2. Did you KNOW you were ready to have kids when you got pregnant with your first child? Or was there part of you that wondered if you could handle it or if your marriage could handle it?

    3. If you could travel anywhere tomorrow, anywhere in the world, without any concern for cost or leaving obligations behind, where would you go and with whom?

    4. What’s your favorite ride at DisneyWorld?

    5. Who’s your favorite Muppet?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 8:31 pm

      Lara!

      1. I’ve not heard of that series, but anything with the word “seriousity” has my vote. Word.

      2. Hmm, when I got pregnant the first time (I miscarried my first and my last children) I think I got to this point in my marriage where I was like, dude, isn’t this the next logical step? I had no idea what I was doing. Really, my kids are now 7 and 5 and I still look at them sometimes and think, Oh my gosh, what am I doing??? I can honestly say that I would SUCK as a parent without my husband. Truly we balance each other. And really, I barely remember life with just Lance. In fact, it seems kind of boring.

      3. Gosh, can I split this question into three different ways?
      A) Disney World. Because really, I am just a big kid who can’t wait to go there. With my family of course. Kids make everything more fun.
      B) New York. With just Lance. Because it seems scary and dangerous and exciting and I only want that with Lance.
      C) Italy. That’s the big one. I sooo want to see Italy, and learn Italian. And try real Lasagna. And see the history.

      4. Favorite ride at Disney: I’m a sucker for Pirates of the Caribbean. And the last two times I was there I was pregnant so I have forgotten how exciting roller coasters are. Also why I want to go back.

      5. Favorite Muppet without a doubt: Janice. “Like wow, man.” Word. Janice is the best.

      Reply

  20. Did you know that I am still considered the LEADER of the group that you’re speaking to, and if you want to add sap or speak for 21 minutes, I will allow it? Did you also know you’re invited to enjoy yourself? (Don’t tell anyone I told you that!!)

    Did you know that I might copy this on my blog?

    What kind of shoes are you wearing?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 8:33 pm

      Hahahaha Vanessa:
      I am also afraid of speaking because sometimes…a lot of the time…I cry when I speak. Because it’s all pent up inside and I really mean it and I can’t express it except by ugly crying. I’m preparing for this and have decided to bring a sharp object that I will poke myself with and so if I cry, I will blame said sharp object.

      Also I will chew gum, because who cries chewing gum?

      Copy away, because it’s cool with me.

      Shoes, I’m wearing black Mary Janes. They are my staple shoes. I wear them just about every single day.

      Reply

  21. **PS, I totally cry when I speak, too. THe worst, most mortifying experience ever was when I was in high school and I had been the Senate President Pro-Tem for Youth in Government, and at the end of the YIG “session”, I had to give a speech about how great the experience was and I ended up crying. IN front of a whole whole bunch of my peers (including many cute boys). I still flush when I think of it.

    Reply

  22. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 30, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Lara, I never was a crier. Then one day, very much like Chandler Bing, the gate opened. All of a sudden *weep* I couldn’t through serious stuff without bawling.

    It’s so bizarre. I suppose in retrospect this is better than laughing at everything. Like when I got pulled over by a cop once. And when my first boyfriend broke up with me, which broke my heart. I laughed in his face.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Carrie Mace on March 31, 2009 at 12:48 am

    what’s your favorite breakfast?

    Reply

  24. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 31, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Once in a blue moon, Lance will go whole hog and make a killer breakfast with everything you can imagine: eggs, bacon, pancakes, biscuits…it’s worth every pound.

    I’m also partial to oatmeal. With raisins.

    Reply

  25. Great idea to just ask what others want to know!!!
    I love the interaction of this post!!

    So, my question is:
    Are you going to do this once a week? Once a month?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 31, 2009 at 9:19 pm

      Hmm, O Retired, Awarded and Too Busy to View My Blog One, I thought about doing a Q & A Monday. Perhaps that shall be a recurring event. I shall also add the word Wise and Creative to your name.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

