Florida

We had the unexpected pleasure of trekking to Florida this last week for Spring Break.  We rented a car, borrowed a GPS from my inlaws, packed up and drove to see my family.  Here are pictures for your viewing pleasure.  Also, this may be as boring as seeing someones vacation slides from Europe.  Feel free to head to Cake Wrecks.

 

When using GPS, make sure to check the settings, lest you wind up on some road like this:

12379051354448

 

Even the girls were like, “Um, I don’t think this is the right road…there are cows right next to us.”

I don’t even know the name of this road.  It was like Bob’s Road.  Finally, I looked at the GPS settings and realized it was set to LOCAL.  Yep, always check the settings.

We made it to Florida and saw the family.  My sister had just had a baby named Mayer.  I held her as often as I could.  Here is her beauty for you to ooh and aah.

Mayer

Mayer

 

and my personal favorite:

picture-0031

 

I woke her up taking off her socks to get this picture.  She paid me back by spitting up all over me.

We also got to dote on my other niece, Lilah.  She especially loved her cousins whom she called “husbands”.

picture-010

 

We did fun things like go to the park, which is like free Disney World to my kids. 

2582_59354714899_509044899_1581029_8125288_n

 

We climbed trees.  I say we like the royal “we”.  I, personally, had nothing to do with the trees except look at them.

2582_59358404899_509044899_1581130_6323996_n

 

There was also lots of swinging.  And then there was some sliding. 

2582_59359274899_509044899_1581164_5945051_n

 

Synchronized sliding is very difficult to direct with children.  This picture is attempt #7. 

Then we went to the beach.  It was my two girls’ first time to see the ocean and walk on sand. 

picture-006

 

The girls were VERY put out with me that I didn’t bring their bathing suits. 

Then we went to the Homosassa Springs Natural Wildlife Park.  I was most impressed by the fact that all the workers are actually volunteers.

 

Waiting for the manitee show to start.

Waiting for the manatee show to start.

 

Note to self:  don’t allow pictures to be taken of my backside.  Not my best feature.  Also, you don’t see the large man that sat directly in front of me who I was convinced would lean back and knock me off the bleachers.  Also not seen in this picture is the woman who sat directly in front of Lance who had the Grand Canyon as butt crack.  Also not her best feature. 

Finally we saw the manatees.  They don’t do a whole lot.

123790513544481

 

Back at my mom’s house, the girls made banana pudding. 

picture-0082

 

I caught Addie just as she was putting her fingers in her mouth.  Rest assured, I made her wash her hands again.  The pudding was delicious, even with possible Addie slobber.

Twas a fun trip.  I suspect my brain is now banana pudding.  Also, now I’m craving vanilla wafers. 

Happy Tuesday!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hey the pix are great! Glad you all had a great time, and the baby feet pic is priceless.

    OK I so need banana pudding w/ nilla wafers, like, now…Even with slobber I don’t care…

    I just found out today that our brains are the consistency of raw eggs…nice huh?

    Reply

  2. mmmm…banana pudding sounds good!

    Looks like you had a WONDERFUL trip, how cool to see a manatee, even if it didn’t turn cartwheels. Although that would have been REALLY cool.

    Nice to have you back. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Nice trip photos!
    I also loved the baby feet!
    Now, do the girls think that was the quickest summer EVER? And that it is OVER now that they are home?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kamryn on March 25, 2009 at 1:45 am

    We’re glad y’all headed south! Lilah has declared she wants to move to “Bama” to see her husbands.

    Reply

  5. Hey, free Disney World is great if you can get away with it! I sometimes wonder why we never learned more about manatees in school, they seem like interesting animals, probably very cool in person.

    Reply

  6. great pics! looks like a fun, relaxing trip. sometimes those “local” roads lead to great adventures…it’s nice when you have time to explore them.

    Reply

  7. Posted by everydaycreate on March 25, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Looks like a great trip! I’ve always wanted to see a manatee – they’re so adorably weird. And beware the GPS – those things are evil.

    http://thecraftbegins.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

