When going on vacation…

1.  Spend your time at work blogging and/or facebooking.  Because really, who can think of work when you’re planning a vacation?  It’s much better to let work stack up to overwhelming heights for your return.

2.  Write a list of what you’ll need and then don’t go by it.  Because really, who needs to remember underwear?  That’s what Walmart is for.  Plus, it’s in Florida so it feels Exotic.

3.  Do laundry several days in a row in order to get the “good” clothes in your suitcase and then wear “good” clothes instead of packing them.  Because really, who doesn’t want to stay up until midnight doing their laundry the night before they leave?  You can always sleep in the car.

4.  Decide to save your bonus check for your vacation and instead spend it on new clothes and way too expensive but just too darn cute to pass up flip flops.  Because really, what are you planning to buy in Florida?  You’ll be poor but at least you’ll feel cute.

5.  Get a hair cut precisely two days before leaving so you will have no idea how to fix your newly shorn hair.  Because really, who doesn’t like new hair adventure?  And you’re always behind the camera anyways.

6.  Line up all your luggage by the door the night before and when you leave, forget your toiletries bag.  Because really, who doesn’t want to shop at an expensive Florida grocery store for all new toiletries?  (True story, that.)

7.  When traveling with kids, buy them new activities to occupy them during the car ride then give said new activities to them three days earlier.  Because really, who doesn’t want bored children for a 12 hour car ride?  That’s what Benedryl is for.  (I jest, people.)

8.  Buy a fish for your daughter’s birthday and then leave on a 5 day trip, leaving Darby behind.  Because really, don’t children need to learn about death?  Fish die, it’s a fact of life.

9.  Have intentions of charging phone and camera but don’t, and leave the chargers behind.  Because really, what would you use your phone and camera for anyways?  I like to live dangerously.

10.  When driving a 12 hour trip, plan to bring maps and/or a GPS but forget to do so.  Because really, who gets lost on a 12 hour trip?  (Erm, that might be a true story, too.)

***

I’m off for the sunny and humid skies of Florida to see my family.  See you on Monday!!!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kamryn on March 17, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I’m so confused! I thought you were leaving Wednesday. Is today Tuesday? Wednesday? Mayer has scrambled my brains.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 17, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      I do leave Wednesday. This is just my backwards list of what to remember. Sort of my “worst case scenario” list.

      Reply

  2. Have a great time~!
    We just got back a few weeks ago, and I want to go again.
    What area of Florida are you heading for?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 17, 2009 at 6:10 pm

      My mom lives in Inverness and my sister lives in Tampa. I’m sure I’ll need a vacation from my vacation. First things first…

      Reply

  3. Enjoy your trip – I hope the weather is nice! I’m glad to hear you got the package. I’d be interested either way if you like it.

    Reply

  4. Sounds like your off to a great start. Hope your vacation just gets better and more relaxing from here!

    Reply

  5. Boy do I know the feeling of buying a lot of over priced clothes just for vacation (but of course I need to buy more depending on where I am because my clothes just don’t blend in with the local culture! LOL) and making a list of things to not forget and of course, forgetting it.

    Oddly enough right before going on my honeymoon I had gotten an aquarium installed in my house (for a tv show shoot for my work) and I was like ummm I’m gonna be gone ten days who is going to feed my fishies?! Luckily for me, I work at a company that makes aquarium filters and accessories and we have a fish feeder so my 120gallon tank didn’t get all gross and the fish were fed on a daily basis!

    Something you forgot on your list, 11. Buy a bunch of reading material that you plan on reading while away and never get past the first page on the first book because you are too busy looking after the kids, making sure they don’t drown in the beach, the sun is too bright and hurting your eyes causing you to squint therefore causing premature wrinkles… yadda yadda yadda!

    Have a wonderful vacation!

    Reply

  6. It’s just not a vacation unless you’re stuck going commando, brushing your teeth with your overpriced gift shop toothbrush in your new (stained)outfit. I hope none of these things happen to you though! *hugs*

    Have a fantastic trip!!!

    Reply

  7. Oh, I love it! Thanks for introducing yourself and your blog in the forums. I’ll definitely be back!

    Reply

  8. ANOTHER CHANCE TO GET NEW UNDERWEAR!!! Smart!!!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Mom on March 18, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    I can’t wait for you all to get here! I bought the girls cheap beach back packs filled with cheap but cute flip flops, cheap but cute sun dresses, cheap but cute cameras and mats for laying in the sand (or concrete if they want to try it out in the back patio), cheap but fun toys that will not last longer than the 3 days you’ll be here and lots of junk candy that will require serious dental work after you leave. I am SO looking forward to this, I can hardly stand it!!!! I also got you & Lance cheap but tasty giant chocolate bars to fuel your innards so we can zoom around doing stuff since you’ll only be here 3 days and we need to cram as much fun into your ‘vacation’ as possible. Oh, yeah, I also bought a bunch of fruit to be sure both girls get the runs before they leave, (there by ensuring an emergency run to the local pharmacy for something to stop them back up again) and I remembered to pick up the stuff for them to make Banana Pudding so we can create a huge mess in the kitchen, eat ourselves sick and laugh about it later….much, much later! WooHoo, we’re gonna have some fun around these parts this week! See ya soon!

    Reply

  10. Great job on the list. I love making lists too. I’m such a space cadet that I need them for reminders most of the time.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Robin on March 21, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    this post reminded me of the way we seriously over packed for our carribean vacation. can you believe i actually packed a weeks worth of socks! and two pairs of jeans that were never worn. i bought about a gallon of sun screen and only used about a quarter of the first bottle. the only things i used on that trip were my swin suits and my cd’s! we were toasty………

    Reply

  12. Posted by Candy on March 23, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    I think I have done all of those mentioned above on one trip or another sooo true actually sometime all in one trip.. lol. I just recently went away for a trip (by my self) forgetting my toothbrush that is the worst…

    Reply

  13. Posted by dg at diaryofamadbathroom on April 15, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I have done all or most of these. I have even left without my luggage and had to turn around and go back an hour into my trip. If only I had used that list that I wrote. .

    Reply

  14. How about remembering to bring the cell phone charger and then leaving it in the hotel so you have to come home and buy a new one. (True story)

    Reply

  15. lol! stopping by from speaking from the crib. I always do that before a vacation – mainly the forget maps and go on facebook/blogs all week at work before leaving for vacation. I remember forgetting maps in Florida a few years ago and we drove around for about 2 hours trying to find out hotel, I see it as a bit of adventure and spontineity! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful vacation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

