My daughter, the budding artist

I dote a whole lot on my youngest daughter, Addie.  She is hilarious. 

But today I want to talk about Emma, my oldest.  Emma is 7 and in her 1st grade class they are learning about creative writing.  Here is the story she wrote yesterday, in perfect cursive.

A Funny Boy

I saw a Boy marry a dog.  The dogs name was Angy and the Boys name was Chester. 

Then one day the dog had a baby thats name was flufy.

She had half dog and half humin.  Then one day shy had 50.000 babys

and got married with a humin and thay all lifed happly ever aftr the ind.

 

Further wowing us with her talents, she asked us last night to pose so she could draw us.  My job was to sit perfectly still and smile, which I did while watching American Idol.  Then she moved on to the rest of the family.  Here was the final product.

Pencil drawing by Emma

Pencil drawing by Emma

 

It’s uncanny, really.  But here is what made me laugh and laugh.

Do you see it?

Do you see it?

She drew my cleavage. HAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAHHH
I’m so proud of her.
19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kamryn on March 11, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Oh, my sides ache. I.LOVE.THAT.KID.

    Reply

  2. Oh, that’s just fabulous! I love it!

    Reply

  3. That was great! Maybe she remembers breast feeding?????

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jaime Williamson on March 11, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    hahahahaha!!! She also drew bags under your eyes! Maybe that’s from nursing so much!!!

    Reply

  5. hahahah! Clever girl! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 11, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Jaime, I am sad to say, it wasn’t bags she saw. It was smeared eyeliner. I am one classy gal.

    Reply

  7. Wow. A budding artist. I like her attention to detail. Does that mean if she drew me, she’d include the honkin’ huge mole on my neck with the hair poking out? I hope not.

    Reply

  8. That artistic rendering of your cleavage is just amazing. I am jealous of such cleavage, not to mention the artistic prowess of a 7 year old.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Carrie on March 12, 2009 at 1:33 am

    bahahahahahahaha. peeing in my pants. seriously. that is amazing.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Kamryn on March 12, 2009 at 1:53 am

    Good thing she didn’t draw a pic of me this time last week when I was channeling my inner Xena: Warrior Princess….

    Reply

  11. That’s so ‘realistic’ art!! And such imaginative story!!

    Reply

  12. I remember when my nephew (who is now almost 14; WEIRD! GROSS!) wrote a book of short stories, which were all pretty random & silly like this one. It was awesome. There was one about a theme park that said something like, “We went to Six Flags. We rode the roller coaster. I ate a pretzel. I won’t go back there.” or something like that. Ha. Kids. Well, I thought it was funny. Whatever man.

    Anyway, I wanted to let you know that I chose you as one of the 10 to receive The Lemonade Award! I think your posts are hilarious. Check out my blog to see what that’s all about. Have a great day! 🙂

    Jenna

    http://glitterandrhinestones.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 12, 2009 at 6:16 pm

      Jenna, *wipes eyes* I thank you for your award. I’d like to thank my family and friends. I’d like to thank my future manager, whoever they may be. I’d like to thank the fine makers of Reese’s Cups, I couldn’t make it through my day without you. And finally, thank God, maker of lemons, lemonades and itty bitty babies.
      *applause*

      Reply

  13. Posted by Alice Wiggins on March 13, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I’ll be your manager, Kearsie. I would love to spend that much time w/ you! Your daughters are amazing, but the whole humin/dog thing weirds me out a little bit. The cleavage…now that’s classic. I, too, thought she had drawn bags under your eyes. Much better that it’s smeared eyeliner, take my word for it!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Alice Wiggins on March 13, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Oh, and when you do win that award under my great managerial skills you have to give that exact speech, wiping eyes & all.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Aunt Melissa on March 15, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    the “cleavage” got me. Good one. I wonder how she would draw me? Okay, never mind.

    Reply

  16. Posted by melissa on March 18, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    This made me laugh and I really needed it! THanks for sharing your adventures with me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

