Facebook

Facebook is a funny thing.  The people you thought you’d never lose touch with that you inevitably lose touch with find you once again on Facebook.  It’s awesome, in an awkward way.

However, what are you supposed to talk about to someone you knew in the first grade? 

“Hi!  Um, so what’s been going on in your life for the last *perform mad math skills* 24 years?”

“Hey, remember Mrs. So and So?  I wonder what happened to her?”

“Remember that time you wet your pants and had to wear boys underwear?  That was funny.”

 

It’s weird.  I have a whole bunch of friends, but I rarely talk to any of them.  Just more fodder for The Guilt.  I wonder sometimes, should I drop a line?  Should I poke them?  Should I start a Scrabble game?  Perhaps they would be interested in Pet Society/Fashion Wars/Sorority Life/Random Time Wasting Application? 

But I don’t do it.  Because I’m certain that they, too, when seeing my notification, will feel The Guilt.  They may be thinking, what I am supposed to say to her?  I hate Scrabble/pets/fashion/sororities/wasting time?  This sucks.

And I feel bad already. 

And are you guilty, too, of someone finding you that you know you’re supposed to know, but you don’t know?  Erm, me neither.  Ahem.

 

I found this little ditty, just for you facebook addicts.

15 responses to this post.

  1. This is SO me!

    Without the Mac

    or the beard

    and I’m a girl

    otherwise

    this is SO totally me!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Marilyn on March 10, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    How am supposed to ad this to my facebook profile? You don’t have the buttons on your blog. J/k. Great post.

    Reply

  3. You can’t make a person laugh like that when they are having abdominal pain!!! Or post a video like that! OW! 😉

    Reply

  4. OK. Facebook should never bring on the GUILT. You and me know about the guilt, but facebook is just for fun. I post things on friend’s walls that I haven’t seen forever, and then if they don’t respond, I honesly don’t notice, because they are not really in my life. So I know they aren’t noticing when I forget. Its fantastic.

    Reply

  5. That was hilarious!
    You have an award waiting for you on my blog!!

    Reply

  6. i feel no guilt. i’ll waste time with you anyday.

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Insanity Kim:
    I think this is me, too. I’ll be the guy with the beard if you want. I like facial hair. I’ve started growing sideburns, I figure I should just go whole hog and get a goatee, too.

    Marilyn:
    Thanks for reading! I will email facebook right now and ask for a button. Just for you.

    Much More Than Mommy:
    I’m sorry for causing you additional pain. Youtube has that effect sometimes. Or is it affect? I can never remember.

    Mrs. Musings,
    I would try to hunt and stalk you down on facebook, but I wouldn’t want to add one more ounce to The Guilt for either of us. Just curious tho, what are your thoughts on Scrabble?

    Retired and Heavily and Mightily Awarded One:
    I thank you for your award. If it weren’t for you, I wouldn’t get awards. You boost my self esteem and blog. I thank you, and the Academy.

    Wendiwinn:
    I envy your guiltfreeness. I don’t think that’s a word.

    Reply

  8. I absolutely know what you mean. Facebook has brought me too close for comfort to so many people I don’t feel I know at all. What I really don’t like abut Facebook is how invasive it is, anyone you’re friends with can see your any activity there, how is that a good thing?

    Dying to see this video but there are little ones sleeping not far away. I’ll have to check back when I’ve cleared out my house. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 10, 2009 at 8:58 pm

      I know, I too feel like the whole facebookosphere is watching my every move. One doesn’t even feel like they can scratch or pick or be at all revealing. It’s too much like real life.

      Reply

  9. Posted by Kamryn on March 11, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    I updated my facebook status the entire time I was in labor, so there’s a lot to say for self-induced invasiveness 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 11, 2009 at 2:19 pm

      We were all in awe, by the way, of your continual status changes. It was a wee bit like watching a football game on the computer, watching by stats only. This is the female version.

      Reply

  10. omg, too funny!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 11, 2009 at 4:51 pm

      Thanks for visiting! I love love love your magnets! Especially the happy animals. I have some I made years ago that are ladybugs. I should try that again, you’ve inspired me!

      Reply

  11. bwahahahahahaha! Just watched the video, too funny. Thanks for that!

    Reply

  12. I think I just tinkled from laughing so hard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

