Thrills and Chills from my Exciting Weekend

I am not very hosty.  Or equipped with the ability to whip up delicacies for parties.  Yet I signed up for the punch needed for a baby shower I was to attend on Saturday.  Twas a moment of madness, I’m sure. 

I usually drink green tea, diet coke or water every day.  What was I going to serve these fine women?  I almost had a panic attack, but I remembered in my dusty and rarely opened recipe box I had the perfect punch recipe. 

Here it is:

 

Mocha Punch

1 1/2 quarts water

1/2 cup instant chocolate drink mix

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup instant coffee granules

1/2 gallon vanilla ice cream

1/2 gallon chocolate ice cream

1 cup whipped cream, whipped

 

In a large saucepan, bring water to a boil.  Remove from the heat.

Add drink mix, sugar and coffee.  Stir until dissolved.  Cover and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

About 30 minutes before serving pour into a punch bowl.  Add ice cream by scoopfuls.  Stir until partially melted.

Garnish with dollops of whipped cream.

Yield 20-25 servings (5 quarts)

 

And it was delicious.  At least, all the ladies told me that.  But I had told them to lie to me if it was horrible, so really I don’t know what they really thought.  They also called it “milkshake punch”, which is what it kind of tastes like.  Also the consistence is thick like a milkshake. 

Oh, also, because this was being served at a baby shower, I tried to find caffeine free or decaf products, because I’m super thoughtful that way.  And in case some of you out there don’t really dig coffee, like me, don’t worry.  You can barely taste it in there. 

Enjoy.

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Good job for going against the grain and not making the rainbow sherbert/gingerale concoction, and for decaffeinating so pregger women weren’t hopped up and thus crazily “nesting” until 4 am!

    But you said you couldn’t taste the coffee?? Sad…not tasting coffee to me is like, not breathing…well, not quite!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 9, 2009 at 2:35 pm

      Well, you could taste a smidge of the coffee. I guess you could always add a bit more of the granules to the punch in the beginning if you’re addicted. Your preorogative. (Sing it Bobby Brown)

      Reply

  2. Oooo I can’t wait to try this. Thanks.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 9, 2009 at 8:03 pm

      And thank you, Mrs. Musings, you have just booted my stats to 17,000! Interestingly enough, I’m much more excited to make this punch again. Mmmm, chocolate milkshakes…

      Also, hope your brace is easier than your cast.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

