Making peace with plus sized-ness

Erm, not that I’m saying I’m plus sized.  Just if I was plus sized I would need an extra dollop of peace.  With a side of Reese’s Cups. 

Erm.

So, a couple of months ago, we finally found a Wii Fit.  It’s been like a consumer treasure hunt since Christmas trying to locate one of these bad boys.  When I walked into the Electronics department at Walmart and found a Wii Fit just sitting on the shelf I snatched it up and had to restrain myself from breaking out in dance.  It wouldn’t have been pretty, folks, security would have been called and I wouldn’t have been able to purchase my Wii Fit, it’s a good thing I walked calmly to the cashier. 

We brought it home, set it up and for the next five days we faithfully worked out.  And then we put it up and didn’t use it again until this week.

Why did we do this?  I’m not sure.  But I’m using it again, and with positive thinking, I shan’t punish myself but just let my girly cartoony fitness instructor punish me by kicking my butt.

Now, if you don’t own a Wii Fit, let me just explain a few things to you.  First, you have to set up your Mii character for the Wii Fit.  My Mii character started out all pretty and skinny.  Then I got on the Balance Board and got my measurements taken.  This is what my Wii Fit character looks like now:

Lovehandled Mii

Love-handled Mii

 

Just slightly depressing.  Also, I can only dream of having that perfect bangs-swooping-across-my-forehead look. 

Even more depressing was when I was measured a few days ago after my month long fitness sabbatical, it showed I had gained five pounds.  Sigh. 

I blame our receptionist.   I think she might be a secret agent for the Devil because she brought in a Sun Drop Cake and gave me the recipe.  Here it is, because misery loves company and I want all of you to be Fatty McFattingtons, too.

SUN DROP CAKE

1 Box of Lemon Cake Mix

1 Box of Lemon Pudding Mix

3 Eggs

3/4 Cup Oil

1 Can of Sun Drop

Sun Drop, dew of the gods

Sun Drop, dew of the gods

Whisk together cake mix and pudding mix.  Then add eggs and oil.  Stir and add one can of Sun Drop.  Stir and pour into dark bundt pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.  If not done then bake for 5 minute intervals. 

ICING

1 Cup of Powdered Sugar

3 Tbsp of Sun Drop

Mix powdered sugar and Sun Drop. If consistency is too runny, add tiny bit more powdered sugar.  If too thick, add tiny bit more Sun Drop.  When well mixed, pour over Sun Drop Cake.

 

Also, if you don’t have Sun Drop in your area, first: Thank God, because it’s an addictive substance that you’ll crave for nightly.  Second, well, you’ll just not get to experience the joys of Sun Drop Cake and you’ll be left pining for this wicked concoction. 

 

Anyways, back to the Wii Fit.  One of the exciting things about using the Wii Fit is unlocking new exercises and levels of difficulty.  One of my new aerobic exercises is hula hooping for six minutes.  You might be thinking, Psh, that’s childs play, easy peasy mac and cheesy, 6 minutes is nothin.  Well, scoffing thinker, you try it.  Then come back and Psh me.  Seriously, ouch.  Last night I did it and opened up the 10 minute level.  Tis now my goal to hula hoop for 10 minutes without having a heart attack.  But the pain must go away first. 

Excuse me, I must go wash some Tylenol down with some Sun Drop.

19 responses to this post.

  1. No Sun Drop in the north of Michigan. So, I will be glad that my drug dealer (you) had it as an ingredient. Now I can’t make the cake and get addicted. ha
    I tried the video at my grandson’s….did some bowling and almost wrecked my wrist.ha
    They are addictive as well!
    Have fun hula-hooping!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 5, 2009 at 3:50 pm

      Thanks Joan! Although, I don’t think sweating profusely, grabbing my heart in attempts to keep it from bursting from my chest and mentally cussing constitutes as fun.

      I’m glad you had a great vacation!

      Reply

  2. I have never heard of Sun Drop, but I don’t like lemon-flavored things most of the time. So NO ADDICTION FOR ME!!!

    I have always stunk at the hula hooping. In real life, I won second place in a hula hoop contest. On the Wii, I had to have my nephew step on the board so it would think I was leaning over to catch the new hoops. My trainer was none the wiser! Muwahahahahah!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 5, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      Yes, I too, am beginning to realize that the Wii is not omnicient. I can fool it. But I don’t want to think about this too much or else the Reese’s Cups will take over the world and I’ll have spent a zillion dollars on the Wii and Wii Fit for nothing.

      Reply

  3. I have never heard of Sun Drop!

    Or Wii

    or fitness

    or working out

    or hula hoops

    or receptionsists

    let me go eat some reese’s peanut butter cake.

    your legs are HOT!

    Reply

  4. Here is my question for you…and I need an answer. Is the Wii fit worth it? I am hopefully getting out of my cast today, and have gained many pounds from the bed rest I was on (enough pounds that I’m a little nervous none of my pants will fit and I will need to wear sweats to work tomorrow, even though my cast is off). Anyway, I have really wanted a Wii fit because it just seems like something I’d actually do for exercise. My husband thinks that it is ridiculous and I should be at the gym or golfing…so, you tell me…was it worth it?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 5, 2009 at 6:15 pm

      Hmm, well, I enjoy the Wii because I don’t enjoy working out, but the exercises and stuff is easy to do (except for some yoga which I’m not entirely coordinated for) but I’m not really sure how much I’m really doing. My super duper plan is to begin walking in the mornings before work and maybe lifting some arm weights at night when I’m watching TV, just so I can be consciously active. Because, for real, I am the antithesis of active. So, I would say, if you got a Wii Fit, you would enjoy it until it seemed like regular exercise. But judging from your pictures, you are a cutey even with your cast, and your weight will probably fall off in no time. My weight is the kind you pack on over time, like 10 years, so I’ve got my work cut out for me. But I’m going slow, because I want to do it right and just be healthy.

      BTW, golfing. Do you already do this? Are you good enough that you don’t throw your clubs into the woods shouting profanity? Because I am secretly afraid that is what I would be like if I played golf.

      And finally, congratulations on getting out of your cast! Here’s hoping you enjoy showers, dancing, wearing pantyhose, and erm, other fun stuff!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Jaime Williamson on March 5, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Wii fit was fun at first. Hoola Hooping and the Step Aerobics is fun. I haven’t done it in forever though. It shames me every time I get on there. But (hypothetically of course), it’s super fun and hilarious to watch the husband hoola hoop in underoos!!! Just sayin’!

    Reply

  6. I refuse to read that recipe. I refuse. You will not take me down with you.

    Not that I’m plus sized or anything either. *whistles*

    Reply

  7. Posted by Robin on March 6, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    welp! i am a phase person. i usually eat for twenty pounds and then exercise and diet for twenty pounds. for the last three years i have gained and lost twenty pounds every year. i am in a diet and exercise phase right now and i am down 5 pounds. but next year when i have lost my poundage and i feel like i have earned the privledge to eat again i shall make sun drop. save the recipie for me………btw i guess the new term for love handles is now ” muffin top” when our middles hang over the waist of our pants and look like the top of a muffin…..heh heh.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 6, 2009 at 4:28 pm

      First, congratulations on losing 5 pounds. That’s no easy feat. Second, it figures they would name my belly fat something I enjoy eating, thus making it all that much harder to lose it.

      Reply

  8. The wii fit is so great, my husband’s new years resolution was we both do it every day. Like that was going to happen. But I have done it lots more than him this year, I’m super proud to say. (I do hate the way it sometimes makes that uncomfortable noise when you step on though)

    Good luck sticking to it, I know how hard it can be, and congratulations the weight loss! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 6, 2009 at 5:22 pm

      Hahahahah, I forgot to mention that- the sound the Wii Fit makes when you step on it. I died laughing the first time. Does yours say “Oh!” in a shocked voice? ahahahahahaahahahah

      Reply

  9. Hi,
    Dropped by to see what this is all about. We have a Wii Fit and I did the same thing. Now working out every other day, but I’m skipping the measuring. Don’t want to see how much I gained from my husband’s valentine heart. It was huge. Go see it on my blog to believe me! It took up a whole huge cake box. By the way, love this blog and good luck on the Wii. I do like my male trainer, though.:)

    http://barbaraehrentreu.blogspot.com/2009/02/hope-you-enjoyed-valentines-day.html

    Barbara

    Reply

  10. Posted by Amy on March 9, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Two things–
    One: It doesn’t count as going up a size if you buy your pants at a thrift store. That’s what I do & it is not necessary to make peace with anything!
    Two: For those who are not familiar with Sun Drop–I make this same cake with vanilla mix, vanilla pudding & root beer.

    Now, wasn’t that helpful? 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 9, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Barbara E. Thanks for stopping by! I always love it when new people come to the party. I did go to your site and scope your chocolate heart and roses. If my husband did this, I would just throw in the towel and get fat. It looked delicious.

    Amy, I like your idea of the thrift store pants. I may have to do this…and maybe even cut out the tags in all my pants I have now and then I shan’t have to look at my numbers everyday. Hmm. Also, stellar idea with the root beer, I’ll bet that you could even find diet root beer, thereby making it diet cake. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

