The Guilt

For as long as I can remember, I have carried The Guilt around.  Sometimes it can be found in what I ate, meaning I’ve just put too many Reese’s Cups in my belly and I regret each and every savory morsel because I will not work off the calories by sitting here typing away at my desk.  Sometimes it can be found late at night, when my head is full of regrettable words I’ve shared with my children, usually in a raised voice that was probably unnecessary.  Sometimes it can be found in the wasted moments of my day, when I didn’t work enough, write enough, talk enough, etc. 

Today, I experience The Guilt because tomorrow is my mother’s birthday and her gift sits here on my desk, today. 

Here’s the thing.  It’s not on purpose.  In fact, if I had mailed the gift when I began thinking about it, she would’ve received it mid-January. 

Also, I feel The Guilt because my mother has never one time been late in sending ME a gift.  Or a card.  Or a gift certificate or something cool she found. 

The Guilt, it smothers.

 

Tell me, do you experience The Guilt?  What for?

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 2, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    *crickets chirping*

    Reply

  2. The GUILT…my guilt can be found in my recent blog post for Not Me Mondays. I also was born with catholic guilt because that is how Italian Irish mixes are born…and also Jewish guilt because I am also Russian Jewish on my dad’s side (note that I do not practice either religion, yet the guilt part remains). I also don’t keep in touch with friends (or didn’t before Facebook) which would make me feel constantly guilty. Whoa is me. Now I feel guilty for spending time with you instead of working. GUILT.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 2, 2009 at 7:02 pm

      Dear Mrs. Musings,
      I feel so much better.
      Your friend and fellow guilty party,
      Kearsie

      Reply

  3. Posted by Jaime on March 2, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Guilt. I feel guilty just because I have guilt about things b/c the Bible says we are no longer condemned, but free. So that’s reason #1. I feel guilty when I act selfishly toward my husband, when I yell at my kids, when I leave my house a mess, when I don’t exercise (which is constant guilt b/c I never exercise, but I still feel guilty), when I eat junk food as I watch Biggest Loser, when I spend too much money. Did you really have to ask that question??? So there ya go…you’re not alone. But remember God’s word is true. There’s no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

    Reply

  4. My guilt these days comes from playing too much Sorority Life on Facebook. I want a stretch Hummer.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 2, 2009 at 8:00 pm

      Dear Kim,
      While I feel you might have missed the tone of this post,
      I too feel The Guilt from too much Facebook.
      I rue the day Facebook came into my life,
      But then I wouldn’t have re-met you, so I bless the day.
      Alas,
      Kearsie

      Reply

  5. The Guilt. Haunts.

    Am I a good mother, wife, should I not have said that aloud?! The Guilt haunts. But someday I will haunt The Guilt.

    Profound? No. But true.

    You are wonderful, always remember that. If you didn’t feel Guilty, you wouldn’t be a good person. You’re good because you think of all these things and other people. You are grand.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 2, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      Dear Shauna,
      I don’t deserve kind comments like that,
      but I thank you so much.
      We shall overcome The Guilt.
      One day.
      Sisters in this mission,
      Kearsie

      Reply

  6. Hey, one person’s guilt is another person’s…guilt?

    Now I feel The Guilt for commenting with a non-guilt attitude. sigh.

    Reply

  7. I had to cancel dinner with my grandparents this week. I have a bad case of The Guilt.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 3, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      Dear Old But New,
      Also known as Samantha,
      We just met a last week,
      and I hardly know you, except for your rather fine facebook list,
      but I, too, share the grandparent Guilt.
      I haven’t called my Gma in ages.
      I shall call today,
      Kearsie

      Reply

  8. Posted by Kiera on March 3, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Professionally Written And Inspirational Wedding Speeches And Toasts…

    Reply

  9. Posted by Alice Wiggins on March 3, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    All I can say is If you are a mom, you feel guilt. You feel guilt when they do things that you thought they knew better than to do. You feel guilt when you are unable financially to help them out of a hole. You feel guilt when you are financially able to help them out of a hole, but it’s a self-built hole and you’re trying to use tough love. You feel guilt when you resent that they need you to help them out of a hole and it’s taking up time you’d rather be spending on something else. You feel guilt when you take this wonderful trip and you know they can’t afford to do the same. You feel guilt when you hold grudges because they didn’t follow through on something they promised.

    And then there’s the husband guilt. You know, where you seem to only be dwelling on the fact that they rarely seem to pick up after themselves or turn out the lights so you have to or you’ve asked them 50 times to look at something on your car & they keep saying they will, but they dont. Then you realize you are married to one of the greatest guys in the world who has worked his whole life to support you and is a loving husband and father and would do anything for you that you asked. You feel GUILT!

    I don’t have to deal with the parent guilt because I lost my parents a long time ago but I’m at an age where I watch all of my friends going thru the parent guilt.

    God sparks conviction, Satan uses guilt. This is my mantra when I’m feeling like the smallest, meanest person on the planet. And I’m sorry to say that even when you’re children are grown, the guilt continues. Sucks, doesn’t it.

    Oh, and ask Andy if he has gotten his card & usual b’day gift from me. His b’day was January 18. Oh, the guilt. Love you, Kearsie and keep up the blog. It is often the only bright spot in my day.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Alice Wiggins on March 3, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Sorry, didn’t mean to write a letter. But, man, there IS a lot of guilt out there, huh?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 3, 2009 at 2:31 pm

      Dear Alice,
      You have true wisdom in this Guilt thingy,
      thank you for your honesty
      and forthrightness.
      Satan, indeed, is the cause of most of my Guilt.
      So glad I know you,
      Kearsie
      p.s. I love your comments.

      Reply

  11. Posted by Robin on March 3, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    guilt for putting each other thru stupid teenage drama in high school and college. it all seems soooo retarded now. guilt for eating too much. i have 5,000 skinny friends that don’t seem to slim down or fatten up. they just stay skinny and yet every year i gain and lose 20 lbs. i am like a human woopie cushion. i think i even sound like one…..inflate / deflate / stinky…..

    guilt for the way i speak to my children and my mother. at 2 am when i am going over all of the things i said in my mind, i get scared that they will never become christians b/c i think i have set such a poor example.

    so there’s my guilt honey. love ya!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on March 3, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      Dear Robin,
      Our minds were alike in high school
      they are still very much the same.
      Maybe we do, indeed, share brain waves.
      Let’s go to Malibu and hug,
      Kearsie

      Reply

  12. Aww, I’m so I reminded you to call your grandmother, I’m sure it meant a lot to her. I need to call mine to reschedule for this weekend, I’ll try and make myself do that today. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Posted by Carrie on March 11, 2009 at 2:39 am

    I have The Guilt!!! I get it all the time. Yuck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

