And then there were five

We have been a family of four now for five long and wonderful years.  We have all expressed the desire for our family to expand.  We discuss names, nicknames, where he or she will sleep when he or she makes their appearance.  We have hoped and prayed for this moment for a very long time.

***

***

***

***

***

I am pleased to introduce the newest member of the Murphy family.

Our fish, Darby.

Our fish, Darby.

 

He’s pink, he lives in a pink fish tank and his name is Darby.  Believe me, that is a whole lot better than the other name the girls were insisting on; Melissa.

 

Here’s a close up.

Isn't he beautiful?

Isn't he beautiful?

 

To be honest, the addition of another living, breathing, eating, pooping creature in our home wasn’t really my idea.  And Darby doesn’t do a whole lot.  But, my kids adore him.  And that’s awesome to see.

11 responses to this post.

  1. heh heh…

    fish poo.

    I will send him diapers ASAP, as nothing is cuter than a fish in diapers!

    You might kill him while changing him, though…I’ll send a baby care fish book, too.

    Congrats on the new addition!

    Reply

  2. Ya, it seems like a good idea at first, but he’ll just keep you up all night with the crying and the midnight feedings. 😉

    Adorable tank, have fun!

    Reply

  3. hahahahhahahahaaa….fish Depends….brhahahhahahahaaaaa

    Reply

  4. Where oh where did you get that fish tank. That is pretty much the cutest fish tank I’ve ever seen. I admit, its been a while since I have fish tank shopped (like, when I bought a $1 fish at the fair when I was 10 and bought it a little bowl, in which it pretty much lived for all of 5 minutes). But, if I saw a fish tank that cute in a store, I may just be tempted to try another fish’s fate in my killler hands.

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on February 26, 2009 at 9:02 pm

      I bought it at a shop called Diesel and Lola. Actually, I used my Christmas gift certificate from my boss because it was around $50. They did have smaller tanks though, of around $25. So, including fish supplies and the fish, I spent only $10. Aren’t I cheap?

      Reply

  5. Posted by cristy Finucane on February 27, 2009 at 12:53 am

    I personally think Melissa is an excellent name for a fish. Darby is OK, too. We had 2 fish that we won at the fair over the summer. They’ve gone to be with Jesus (I assume they were saved). Just a little encouraging word for ya, there.

    Oh, and, I love love love the fish tank. That is awesome. Our fish tank was much uglier. Maybe that made our fish lose the will to live. Nevertheless, Godspeed to Darby.

    Reply

  6. Darby is an alright name.

    Bella had a red beta named “Reddish Girly”. After that one went to see Fish Jesus, she got another one. This one was red with blue and it became “Bluish Reddish Princess Girly”. It now swims with Fish Jesus too.

    Maggie once named a Barbie “Mayonnaise”

    Names are a screwy thing around here.

    Reply

  7. i think darby looks a lot more like you than he looks like lance. should i ask why that is?

    Reply

  8. Posted by Alice Wiggins on February 27, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I can’t compete with all those wonderful comments, but the fish tank is cute.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Aunt Shanon on February 27, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Wal*Mart sells those fish tanks once in a while.

    Reply

  10. congratulations on your new addition. please take a picture of darby eating his own poo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

