I type with bleeding fingers

Well, not really.

My baby sister is having a baby.  That so sounds like an After School Special.  She might also yell at me for typing this. 

My sister is having a baby (her second) and she asked me to make some wall art for the baby’s room.  I had the crazy notion, once again, of busting out my wool sweater stash and going to town.  It didn’t turn out quite the way I imagined, but nothing ever does.  However, I am pleased with the results.  Would you care to see? 

First, let me explain what I’ve done, in case you can’t figure them out.  I took three art canvases and painted them (erm, they were supposed to be light pink and light green.  Haven’t a clue as to why they turned out peach and teal.  Help, Sean?)  Then, I cut out flowery petally thingies from the sweater and sewed them to the art canvas with embroidery floss, so the stitches would be big and glossy-like.  Hence, the bleeding fingers.  It is way hard to push a big fat needle through painted canvas.  I eventually had to use pliers.  I should have thought of that in the beginning, but a little torture is good for the soul.

Anyways, here they are.

One of the set of 3

One of the set of 3

 

***

Two of set of 3

Two of set of 3

 

***

Three of 3

Three of 3

 

***

And so you can get a feel for the size and scope of them, here is one of them all together.  Try to ignore the fact they are propped up on my office chair.

All three

All three

***
They are meant to look imperfect and irregular.  That’s just the way I roll.
Well, Kammy Whammy, I hope you like them and that Mayer will learn to love art, so Aunt Kiki can have something to offer besides gum.
14 responses to this post.

  1. They are SO STINKIN’ OISOME!! And no blood on the canvas! Good job! Your teenage, delinquent, baby making machine of a sister will love them! There. Now she can be mad at me.

    Keep up your painful artistic expressions with shrunken wool sweaters! However, I suggest you go get a tetanus shot, or two, and go get yourself some thimbles…

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on February 24, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Perhaps now would be a good time to say that my sister is 26, happily married and stable. Not good fodder for an After School Special.

    Reply

  3. Those are awesome! You are so creative!

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on February 24, 2009 at 4:33 pm

      Hey there, Delilah, thank you!

      Also, sorry for the corny “Hey there Delilah”, I couldn’t help it.

      Reply

  4. Very cute! I’ve been cutting up my little girl’s old clothes to use in collages. Nice of you to make something for your niece-to-be!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kamryn on February 24, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Yes, my big sister rocks. Not that y’all didn’t know that or anything. Kears, I LOVE them and am uber excited about putting them in her room. You’re the best aunt ever!

    On a side note, I had “Hey There Delilah” playing the other day, and Lilah said, “It’s not Delilah. It’s just Lilah.” 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Jaime Williamson on February 24, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Very creative. I love them. Too cute!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sean on February 24, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I was thinking that if you painted pink and green and got peach and teal, there was probably some yellowness to the canvas that affected the color, but yellow plus green isn’t teal.
    It’s chartreuse.
    Blue would it it more teal.
    Hmm, but blue and pink would get you a lavender.
    I’m lost.

    …wait, that’s the answer. LOST.

    I blame The Island.

    Reply

  8. Hang on, let me stop laughing at Sean’s LOST reference…

    Okay, done. Now:

    I want. Is there anything you can’t do? I am so impressed, and wondering what event I could come up with that would be worthy of receiving these or having a reason to commission you to make something for me. Hmmm, maybe a new home perhaps? Start thinking about your fee, girl.

    Those are GREAT!

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on February 24, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    You are too too kind, Ness. There are many things I cannot do. I cannot crotchet. I cannot make risotto, mostly because I still don’t know what it is. I cannot walk past Reese’s Cups without eating one or twelve. I cannot speak Spanish past “May I have extra napkins please and I like chicken.” and I cannot fix the RSS feeder on this here blog.

    Must remain humble.

    Reply

  10. Cute, cuter, cutest!!! By the way, I had a baby 30 years ago, could you whip one up for the occasion???? hahahahahahaha

    Reply

  11. Posted by Alice Wiggins on February 25, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I LOVE them! You are so talented. And truly, no meanness intended, but some of your posters are as funny as you are… I guess people draw people who are like them. Have a great day!

    Reply

  12. Posted by LuLu on February 27, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I do really really love these!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

