Famousosity, sort of

Remember awhile back, when I told you I entered some of my posts into a humor contest?  Well, the results are in and I am a semi-finalist.  I’m not sure what this means.  But I do know I get published, and that is oisome.  They chose this post, if you’re interested.

Also, the second prize winner is Joan from The Retirement Chronicles who is over on my blogroll.   She entered a post about burgers at Burger King and it had me in stitches.  Congratulations, Joan!  I’m so glad you won!  (Only on Fridays.  Only on Fridays.  I can’t go on Tuesdays.  Only on Fridays.     HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAH!!!)

 

In other news, I had a dream last night that I joined the Army.  If that’s not weird enough, I dreamed I was in a classroom taking a test and finished early so the teacher who looked an awful lot like Christina Applegate passed out something to read while everyone else finished.  It was a list of newspaper headlines from the last 10 years.  Number one was about Muhammad Ali and something to do with boxing.  I skipped over that because even in my dreams I could care less about sports.  Number two was about Monk and how the writers of Monk had begun to slip in four letter wordsTony Shaloub was quoted, “Well, now we’ll say I’m going to turn on the LAMP, or going to drink a SODA…”

And then Lance woke me up.  I was laughing trying to tell him about this crazy dream and his response was blink… blink… blink.  When I  pressed him for a response he only said, “well, it’s not very funny.”

Oh well.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats on being a semi- finalist

    Reply

  2. WOOP WOOP!

    OHHHHHHH YEAH!! You da BOMB! I like you A LOH!

    Remember me when you’re famous…but don’t tell people your dreams when you’re famous…they might think you’re weird. Wait…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sean on February 23, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Semi-finalist.

    Semi means half.

    Final means the end of something.

    They’re calling you half-assed.

    I wouldn’t put up with that kinda stuff from strangers. It sounds like they’re being final-apertures.

    Reply

  4. Congratulations. That’s really fun.

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the attention, you doll! Yep, I was as shocked as anyone could be and SO happy! Maybe we oughta co-write a book, or comedy or for MONK ????? We would have TOO much fun!!!!!!
    Congratulations for your writing accomplishment!!!! I am so proud of you!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on February 23, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Thank you Joan! And that would be a total blast to co-write something with you!

    Reply

  7. WOW!!! Congratulations. That’s so exciting! I’m going to have to check out this site — not that I’m funny or anything, but I’ve probably posted something funny once or twice. I love funny blogs though and wish I had the talent!

    Reply

  8. That was a very funny post and deserved the recognition you earned! Congratulations!!

    I will probably think about your post every time I play Candyland now.

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on February 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Thank ya’ll!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Alice Wiggins on February 24, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Well, personally, although I enjoyed Sean’s comment as always, I thought your post was way better than some of the winners. Some of those were depressing and some didn’t make any sense. Yours was hysterical. I could so picture you doing that interview & having sat thru my fair share of watching those types of interviews, I found it very surreal, I mean realistic. Smile, girl. You’re movin’ on up…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

