Dear Kearsie

Dear Kearsie,

I hope you don’t mind if I borrow your blog for the day. I need to share a few thoughts with you so I figured I could just do it here. I want everyone to know how awesome I think you are. You are my greatest inspiration. Here are a few things I have learned from you over the years. (I could list thousands but since I have to write this on my iPhone I will keep it short.)

From you…

1) I have learned the meaning of grace. You know me so well and yet you still love me. You know my darkest secrets. I have told you my most embarassing thoughts. You have seen my worst moments. Through all of this you just keep loving me. The one thing that allows a marriage to thrive is grace. You saturate us with yours.

2) I have learned the meaning of faith. I am amazed that you trust God so much that you are willing to follow my leadership. It may not be popular in this modern era but you have followed me through quite a few storms. That will be popular in eternity because it means you trust God enough to trust me.

3) You have taught me the meaning of intimacy. Let’s face it. My greatest spiritual gift is faking it. I watch you as up close as anyone and I see someone who is real. My favorite thing about our relationship is that we tell each other everything. You really are my best friend.

Blog readers out there. Know this about my wife. She is the most amazing person I know.

Kearsie, I love you. Happy Valentines.

Yours forever,

Lance

P.S. Do you know where we hid those gummy handcuffs? It is Valentines Day!

P.S.S. “Officer Murphy here. Kearsie you have been a very bad girl. I think I am going to have place you under arrest.”

13 responses to this post.

  1. Oh.my.goodness…

    This now goes down in history as one of the top five Most Amazingly Romantic Gestures I have ever encountered! I cried!!!!

    You weren’t kidding girl…you landed a great guy!

    If you all lived here, I would say, “SOMEBODY is getting ‘lucky in Kentucky’ tonight!!!”

    Nothing good rhymes with Alabama…

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY YOU TWO!

    Reply

  2. There’ll be a lot of whamma goin’ on in Alabama. Beautiful, just beautiful. There will be a lot of folks reading it that will thiink of that ad where the guy goes to Jared and then the girlfriends text her and it says “Do you have a brother?”. ha
    You two sound like the perfect couple and deeply in love (as it should be!)
    I am lucky too. Been married 37 years to my best friend who knows me better than myself!
    Happy Valentine’s Day, you lovebirds!

    Reply

  3. Aww! *wipes tear away*

    Kearsie is lucky!

    Reply

  4. I think I have a cavity now. SWEETNESS OVERLOAD!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mom on February 15, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Awwww! That is the sweetest thing I’ve ever read! And I KNEW it was Lance speaking (writing) when he said “you are my greatest inspiration”> I DID finally find a ‘get out of jail free’ card that I was going to send him but maybe I should hang onto it so you two can stay cuffed/linked for a while longer? Give that boy LOTS of xxxx & oooo’s 🙂

    Reply

  6. I will pick up my jaw tomorrow. WOW.

    Wow. Just. WOW.

    Reply

  7. How refreshing it is to know you two! Hey Lance, give John some help in the cheesy romance dept, please. I love cheesy romance! I mean I know this was a sincere thing, but cheesy too. I love it! You two always make me smile! Go Murphy’s!

    Reply

  8. sweetest.thing.ever.

    Happy Valentine’s Day to The Murphy’s!!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Alice on February 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    I love it! There is nothing better than being married to your best friend. It gets you through all things, good and bad. Been married to mine for 35 years. God is good! Of course, Fred is not quite so romantic but I learned to adjust! lol

    Reply

  10. well. i’m a little late reading this. and whilst everyone oooohed and ahhhhed. i shan’t. i shall just sit here and sulk.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Robin on February 19, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    sulking with winn.

    Reply

  12. You could say “someone’s getting the slammah in Alabama!” It could be the newest craze in euphamisms. Feel free to share with your friends and neighbors. (The phrase, not the slammin’)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

