My mother is awesome

Awhile back, I told you about our harrowing experience with the law which ended up in handcuffs and a barrage of questions from my poor children.

We’re mostly over it now.  We’ll get to laughing, “AHAHHAAHAHAHHA, you were arrested!” and then a few minutes later it’ll hit us.  “Dude.  You were arrested.”

But we’re mostly over it.

Lance’s birthday is on Monday and Addie’s is a week later, so my mom sent them some birthday gifts.  When Lance opened his, this is what he found:

Looks like an ordinary box.

Looks like an ordinary box.

***

Let’s open the box:

"Dessert" for now or "Just in case" for later

The note says: "Dessert" for now or "Just in case" for later

 

***

Now we open the tissue paper:

It looks like Hostess Cakes taped together.

It looks like Hostess Cakes taped together.

 

***

Let’s remove the tape.

Yes, that's a nail file.

Yes, that's a nail file.

 

Mom, you’re the coolest.

7 responses to this post.

  1. AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA!

    Your mom is as funny and witty as you…or is it you are as funny and witty as your mom? Either way, totally hysterical and I want her to send a package to my “guest blogger” when the warrent gets issued…I *COUGH* I mean SHE LOVE HOSTESS CUPCAKES! My *cough cough* I mean her nails look like garbage too…

    Reply

  2. What an experience! Glad to hear everything worked out so well and you all retained your sense of humor.

    Reply

  3. OMG! HILARIOUS!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kamryn on February 14, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Dude, you have to post my present to Lance when it arrives…

    Reply

  5. You have been tagged by me today in my blog.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mom on February 15, 2009 at 1:14 am

    I’m so glad he liked it (he did, didn’t he?), and the cop birthday card that went with it was so appropriate…too bad I didn’t find the ‘get out of jail free’ card in time to send it with his package. I have it, though, JUST IN CASE. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Alice on February 15, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    That was a laugh-out-loud story. I think your mom & I would be really good friends! Glad Lance is okay. What an experience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

