What’s Love Got To Do With It?

Good question, Ms. Turner.  Also, great song.

What does love have to do with…love?

Today I am reminded of a famous page in the Bible, found in the book of 1 Corinthians chapter 13.  It’s often called the “Love Chapter”, mostly because it repeats the word “love” about a million times. 

I have a quick challenge for you.

Replace your name with the word love and determine to accomplish what it says.  For example:

(4) Kearsie is patient

 Kearsie is kind

Kearsie does not envy

 Kearsie does not boast

 Kearsie is not proud.

(5) Kearsie is not rude

 Kearsie is not self-seeking

Kearsie is not easily angered

Kearsie keeps no record of wrongs

(6) Kearsie does not delight in evil but rejoices in truth

 (7) Kearsie always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perserveres.

 

You know why these are so important?  All of these are choices.  I choose each of these actions.  And in doing so, that is how I show love.  Sometimes these choices are rather inconvenient.  They go against what I want, because at my very core I am a selfish human being.  I want the Burger King life:  I want it *my* way.  It is inconvenient to my life to actively and continually show constant love.   

The above passage isn’t just fancy phrases you see on Valentine’s cards, or words you’d expect to hear at a wedding right before your vows are spoken.  They are every day wisdom that applies to each of your relationships. 

Love, when treated as an action, does not fail.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Great reminder! Sooooooooooo glad I don’t have to depend on myself for this! Better ask Him for my fill-up today!!

    Reply

  2. Great post!

    Reply

  3. Amen to that.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Morgan on February 14, 2009 at 2:58 am

    What an excellent way to look at it!! I’m going to try to do it. Going to write it out & stick it up as a reminder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

