Sweet nothings

Every now and then, Lance will say something that gives me pause.  He often says he knows me better than I know myself, and I’m always thinking, yeah right, no one knows all the convoluted workings of my mind.  But I sometimes think maybe he does.

The other day, I had the pleasure of going to lunch with him and just him.  We don’t have this opportunity too often, since we both have full time jobs.  And when we’re not working, there’s always the problem of finding a babysitter.  Being a grown up is sometimes dang hard.

So anyways, Lance pulls up at my work in the car to get me, I hop in and exchange a few pleasantries with him and he just busted out with a sweet nothing.  And it meant the world to me.  It was just what I needed to hear.  Would you like to know what it was?  (To you few who are rolling your eyes – go away, your negative vibes are killing my romantic buzz.)

He said, “You’re so capable.”

I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking…dude.  That’s it?  No “you’re so beautiful, you make my jaw drop” or “you’re a bad girl, you make me hot” or “I’m the luckiest man on the face of the earth”?

It was just what I needed to hear because I am perpetually plagued with doubt and guilt.  Was I a good mom today?  Was I an exemplary employee?  Did I work out on our Wii Fit long enough to burn off the calories from the cake I ate yesterday?  Did I blog enough/read enough/do laundry enough/clean enough/be friendly enough/pray enough/carpe diem enough, etc?

It’s exhausting. 

So when he just quietly told me that I was “capable”, it was the soothing balm of “you’re doing just fine” that my ragged soul needed to hear.

Thank you, Lance.  I love you.

9 responses to this post.

  1. that is sweet!

    Reply

  2. I think that’s sweet!

    Reply

  3. AWWWWWWWWW! Unicorns are hopping around everywhere!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Candy on January 30, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I too would think that to be the best “sweet nothing” I long to hear those words myself .. life is exhausting it is good to know we still can do it… what ever the current doubt is at any given moment 😉 by the way Kears .. I believe in you too!

    Reply

  5. I think that’s so sweet. It takes intelligence and truth to say something like that, not just a textbook sweet nothing. And you are wonderful, remember that always.

    Reply

  6. Put me down as also having a slight man-crush on your hubby. He must have known that you really needed to hear exactly that today. Wonderful!!

    Reply

  7. That is really a nice story. My husband is romantic like that (as opposed to the chocolate and flowers way), and it does make me feel like he knows what I need.

    So far so good. Being entertaining to new eyes is not easy 🙂

    Reply

  8. Wow. I am impressed!!

    I know that you didn’t write this intending to receive compliments or encouragement, but you *are* capable, and you *are* amazing. I think you’re just going to have to deal with it. 😉

    Reply

  9. My boyfriend Christopher – “Hi, beautiful.”
    Me – “Hi, mediocre.”

    I’m so sweet.

    And he knows I’m kidding! He’s beautiful 🙂

    Yay for sweet boys! Er, men!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

