I made you the world

Gee, that sounds awfully lot like something God said.  

I am not God.  But I am the owner of several shrunken wool sweaters and the crazy notion that I can make stuff out of them, which practically makes me divine.

I was supposed to attend a Christmas party today for my church’s small group.  However, the sickness gods took one look at our family and said, “Hey look, they are all not sick enough.  They haven’t had their quota of ailment and malaise.  Let’s make them all feel like crap.”

So, we did not attend said Christmas party where we were to bring an ornament of our choice for a dirty Santa gift exchange.

I shall do my first, ever, giveaway with this ornament.  One lucky reader, chosen by technologically supa smart and fail-safe methods (i.e. closing my eyes and pointing to a comment) shall be the owner of one earth ornament made from upcycled wool sweaters in blue and green.  

Here is a picture.

 

Earth, small enough to fit in your hand.

Earth, small enough to fit in your hand.

 

 

And to note the year in which you received this extremely awesome ornament, I’ve also added the year in green numbers.  (Editor’s note: it was butt hard to cut out 2008 from a sweater.)  Addie has informed me that the numbers are “crooked”, but I assure you, it was intentional.

 

The back of the earth.

The back of the earth.

 

 

The ornament measures 4 1/4″ and is two spheres sewn together with a blanket stitch.  The green blobs, aka continents and numbers, were added using my trusty Clover brand needle felter. The hanger is a simple white ribbon which measures 3″.  

Would you like to add this to your tree?  First, leave me a comment saying you are supa interested and must have this one of a kind, hand made ornament.  You have until December 17, Wednesday to enter.  I will select the giveaway winner by 5:00 Wednesday afternoon.  

 

Merry Christmas and may the world look wonderful on your Christmas tree.

 

P.S.  Does this ornament remind anyone else of Edvard Munch’s The Scream?

 

The Scream, by Eduard Munch

The Scream, by Edvard Munch

19 responses to this post.

  1. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

    I love it!!!

    I want the whole world, in my hand…

    I hope you randomly pick me with your blindness!!

    huh?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Misty on December 15, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Takes me back to the old days of borrowing itchy wool sweaters from my cool friend Kearsie! I soo love it and would totally be nostalgic!! Did I mention I think your so creative and talented (wink..wink)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Karen on December 15, 2008 at 7:21 am

    I love it, too!!!! Be careful, you might end up with orders and have to cut 2008 out of sweaters again and again!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Bridgette on December 15, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I REALLY LIKE THEM, TOO!

    Reply

  5. Wow – yet another wonderful use for those sad shrunken sweaters in the closet!
    I would love to have the world at my fingertips!
    (and yes, I can see a little of The Scream’s mouth in South America)

    Reply

  6. Posted by Cory on December 15, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    I want one. How could I not. I will pass this on to my childrens children! But if I do get it spray it with lysol first cause we don’t want your sickness!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Robin on December 15, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    if you don’t give the ornamnt to me i will be FORCED to tell all of your friends about the “french fry incident” at the lunch table in the dimond high cafeteria. i play dirty when i want something. muhahahaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    and i’m also probably your only friend who would go to forks washington with you for one of those geeky bus tours titled something like….”twilight highlights” or something cheesy like that. i say we do it….then go to dollywood.

    Reply

  8. if only the world was really made of wool. life would be grand. except we’d all shock each other everytime we’d shuffle our feet. so. maybe it wouldn’t be that grand. maybe. just maybe, it’d make us scream.

    i want the ornament.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Jaime Williamson on December 15, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    See…you don’t know me, and I don’t know you…but I read your blog all the time and am sad on the days you don’t blog (not sad all day…just the moment I get on and see you haven’t blogged)! But I hope you will “randomly” pick me, even after your threats from your friend Robin!! I love world things. My sister has a whole “Globe” room (no I won’t give it to her)! We just love globes/world because missions is close to our heart. I also love your creativity and will be inspired by you each time I look at it! Is that nice enough for you to choose me?!?!
    A quote from you…”First, leave me a comment saying you are supa interested and must have this one of a kind, hand made ornament”. Ok…I am supa interested and must have this one of a kind, hand made ornament!!! Did I win???

    Reply

  10. Posted by Sara Bryant on December 15, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    You’re so crazy!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Aunt Shanon on December 15, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    You are so talented Kearsie. I would love to have your world ornament, but I am voting for Jaime Williamson to win it at this point. And like Jaime Williamson, I too feel sad when I check your blog and there isn’t anything new. Keep bloging and keep making your crafts. We love you.

    Reply

  12. um.

    dear aunt shanon. why wouldn’t you vote for me? *that* makes me sad.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Karen on December 16, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Now I just want to know what the heck you did with french fries in the cafeteria and if that’s why they had to build an entire new school.

    Reply

  14. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on December 16, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Love the ornament! I, too though, am voting for Jamie! You are amazing, Kearsie!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Aunt Shanon on December 16, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    OK, in the interest of fairness, and just this one time, if you don’t pick Jaime, then pick wendiwinn. The only other alternative is to get busy and start pumping out more of those really cute ornaments. You can do it. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Posted by sandi on December 16, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    very pretty, kears. I like the crookedy numbers. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Posted by Jaime Williamson on December 16, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Can I put out another vote for me?? 🙂

    Reply

  18. OK things have seriously gotten out of control here…I WANT THE ORNAMENT!

    It’s da bomb. I love it a loh…

    Reply

  19. What a great reminder “O Desire of Nations” O Come! Thanks for giving a chance to win an ornament that reminds us of the World of the gospel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

