Dare I say it? I just might have the Christmas spirit after all.

So, I’ve been trying to hunt through the mental attic again for more favorite Christmas gifts.  I know I just waxed eloquently about it a few days ago, but I wondered if anyone else had these growing up:

 

Princess Leia Underoos

Princess Leia Underoos

 

These were the coolest because they also came with an official certificate signed by Yoda.  Awesome.

Spirograph

Spirograph

 

I looooveeed my Spirograph toy.  Hours and hours of doodling fun.

 

Easy Bake Oven

Easy Bake Oven

 

Cakes, cookies, pastries all cooked by the magical power of a light bulb.

 

Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry Shortcake

I’m pretty sure I had just about everything Strawberry Shortcake you could have.  Bedspread, rug, trashcan, lamp, figurines, coloring books, plush doll and drinking glasses.  I still have a Strawberry Shortcake mug from when I was around 5 or 6.

 

Barbie carrying case

Barbie carrying case

Barbie carrying case to hold my gazillion Barbies, Kens and Skipper dolls. 

And lastly,

Lite Brite

Lite Brite

 

Stepping on a fallen colored peg in the middle of the night, hearing your parents swearing at the top of their lungs…good times, good times.

 

I have to say, I’m beginning to feel the Christmas spirit.  I got to shop (child free!) on Saturday and found the COOLEST dollhouse EVER for my two girls.  

Consumerism, sometimes it’s worth it.

14 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t believe you didn’t have Wonder Woman Underoos. I loved those. I wish I had some now. Why don’t they make those for adults?

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on December 10, 2008 at 7:29 pm

      Dude, I don’t know about the Wonder Woman underoos, but I was workin the Princess Leias. It would be (enter David Spade voice) sweeet! to have some as an adult!

      Reply

  2. OH MY! Underoos? Weren’t we all young superheroes being threatened to keep our clothes on in public or else?

    Yes…thankfully minibake ovens never burned the cookies, or gave us salmonella…

    SPIROGRAPH! That was SO COOL! Loved it…

    I can still smell that strawberry smell…

    Yes…barbies were neatly kept in the case with clothes, until I realized I could cut Barbie’s hair, then it went all downhill from there…

    Lite Brites…sending parents all over the US to the ER for tetanus shots…

    Lovin’ this memory lane stuff! What will our kids remember? Blackberries and extra long-distance minutes??

    Reply

    • Posted by soundsliketomatoes on December 10, 2008 at 7:30 pm

      I don’t know what my kids will remember, but they are already asking about Blue-Rays. What the heck?

      Reply

  3. I love you for that David Spade/Geek, Dweeb or Spazz reference. I *love* you.

    Reply

  4. Spiderman Underoos and a Spiderman ski mask.

    I wish I still had that. Man, the fun i could have at parties.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Candy on December 11, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I still have my Strawberry ShortCakes cant part with them looove them all the dolls and the sheets and bedspread some salt and pepper shakers and a few odds in ends I also loved the light bright I thought of getting that for the kids this year b/c I so loved it…

    Reply

  6. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on December 11, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Light Brites ROCK!!! I used to play with my siyrograph for hours!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on December 11, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    make that spirograph…I apparently can draw better than I can type!

    Reply

  8. i had r2d2 underoos. my mom couldn’t afford the girly ones. so she got the boy reject ones on clearance for me.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Robin on December 13, 2008 at 3:53 am

    wonder woman underoos and a lite bright. i also got a janet jackson CASSETTE TAPE……..her rhythm nation album. i listened to it on my WALKMAN! *shudder*

    Reply

  10. Posted by Aunt Shanon on December 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I loved my Spirograph. But I never did get an Easy Bake Oven. I was sooooo deprived as a child. I didn’t have a Light Bright either. Underoos weren’t invented yet. And Strawberry Shortcake was a summertime dessert.

    Reply

  11. that is scary how much stuff we shared alike. All your missing is anything rainbow bright and the barbie sketch thing where you can change the plates and create different outfits. I love the walkman comment. Those were indestructable tape payers, the walkman sport.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Tammy on January 10, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Great, great post, I had all of them, except the underoos….I don’t think my mother thought underoos appropriate for some reason, I just had plain white briefs. boohoo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

