How to make a hooded towel

(#2 in the series started a bazillion posts ago)

A few years ago, a friend of mine made my two girls some hooded towels.  They were so cute and looked so easy that I began to make them for folks as baby gifts.  I thought I’d spell out how to make them, they make great Christmas gifts.  

 

Your supplies:

 

Towel, washcloth, needle, thread and decorations (optional)

Towel, washcloth, needle, thread and decorations (optional)

So, you see you’ll need a towel, a washcloth, a needle and some thread.  Decorations like buttons or ribbon are optional.  I always say love is in the details, so I’ll show you how to add those, too. 

 

First, add your decoration on the washcloth.  You’ll be folding the washcloth so keep that in mind.  I chose rick rack for this project, because I liked the color.  You can do ribbon as well.  Cut your ribbon/rick rack or whatever leaving about a 1/2 inch extra on each side.  I suggest this because you don’t want to sew it and realize there’s not enough.  I don’t want to make you cuss.

 

Using my lap as a display for this project = not such a good idea.

Using my lap as a display for this project = not such a good idea.

So, now that the ribbon or whatever is ready to be sewn, sew it.  I hand sewed it, but you ambitious and talented folks can use your machine instead.  Me and my machine = don’t play well together.  Besides, rick rack is butt hard to sew on a machine.  Just sayin.

 

How can a hand look so fat?  That's my question.

How can a hand look so fat? That's my question.

Sew, sew, sew. Also, it’s way hard to photograph yourself sewing.

 

Washcloth embellished adequately.

Washcloth embellished adequately.

I added some buttons, because I like to guild the lily.  So now, you’re going to fold the washcloth in on itself with the ribbons and junk on the inside, like this:

 

Fold the washcloth.  Also, I'm watching Reign of Fire in the background.

Fold the washcloth. Also, I'm watching Reign of Fire in the background. Just sayin.

Ok, so now you sew the side that is opposite from the ribbons and junk.  Just a simple stitch.  I always double up my thread so it’s supa strong stitched.  

Here’s the finished hood:

 

Ready to be attached to the towel.  Still watching Reign of Fire.

Ready to be attached to the towel. Still watching Reign of Fire.

Get your towel and fold it in half.  That is where you will pin the hood to the towel, using your newly sewn crease and the fold of the towel.  You’re just centering.  You may need to check this a couple of times to make sure you’re not doing this off centered.  Check, lest you cuss.  Pin the hood across the center of the towel.  You’re now ready to sew.

 

Dude, it's virtually impossible to do this all one handed.

Dude, it's virtually impossible to do this one handed.

Sew, sew, sew.  Now that your hood is attached, wash and use.  

 

Here’s Addie modeling this towel:

 

Addie, future model.

Addie, future model.

This sized towel is good for little kiddos.  Emma, my 7 year old needed a larger towel, so I made one using a hand towel instead of a washcloth.  Same concept, just lots more sewing.  

 

Here’s Emma:

 

I said "Smile!"  Emma heard "Look like you just sucked a lemon!"

I said "Smile!" Emma heard "Look like you just sucked a lemon!"

So, hooded towels, easy peasy mac & cheesy.  Enjoy!

6 responses to this post.

  1. i enjoyed your tutorial. (even though you didn’t have michael vartan in a hooded towel.)

    Reply

  2. Great tutorial….I’m going to make some of these for gifts! Thanks

    Reply

  3. You are incredible crafty! I would have used staples and glue, so, I am not sure mine would have turned out, but this step-by-step certainly helps. I am VERY happy to see, also, that it is possible to be crafty w/o a sewing machine…they are quite expensive and I am sure I would end up in the ER if I tried to use one…

    Reign of Fire…good movie…little depressing for crafting??

    I want to make a Link costume for Jacob…any suggestions?

    Reply

  4. aw— too cool!

    Reply

  5. Thatz really cool… enjoyed your tutorial! n_n

    Reply

  6. Posted by Chris on August 4, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I loved your captions. You are too funny. Will try to make one of these hooded towels for my little ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

