A date with Twilight – er, I mean my husband

Friday night, after a long anxious afternoon, waiting on pins and needles and sharp pointy vampire teeth for Lance to get tickets, we saw Twilight

Here are some of the things I noticed on this joyous occasion:

1.  My husband is HOT.  You need proof? 

Lance, my main man.

Lance, my main man.

 

He’s not too happy with this picture.  He thinks he looks drunk.  Maybe he was because this is the picture he got of me:

Me, through the eyes of a drunkard.

Me, through the eyes of a drunkard.

 

2.  When the weatherman says it’s going to be butt cold, sometimes he is right.  It was freezing that night.  A good excuse to bust out the knitted scarves. 

3.  When the movie theater assigns seats for a movie premiere, one must sometimes get lousy seating arrangements.

4.  Not everyone who went to see Twilight had read the books.  I know, because I asked, much to Lance’s embarrassment.  I told him to hush, I was doing research for my blog. 

5.  Lance rolled his eyes approximately 19 times.  He has no appreciation for the Twilight series.

6.  I soooooo wish I had had a Twilight shirt to wear, like all the girls I saw that night.  Mine would not have said “TEAM JACOB”, though.  I am an Edward fan.  And kind of a dork for wanting a Twilight shirt.

7.  During the kissing scenes, or scenes that were close-ups on all the hot actors, it wasn’t the hormonal teenagers cat-calling and making kissy sounds.  It was the hormonal middle-aged women.  Like, your mom.

8.  I might have swooned myself once or twice.

9.  I kept my swooning to myself, though.  I didn’t want to see Lance roll his eyes at me.

10.  Bring fragrant gum to the theater, always.  The combination of soda, popcorn and candy makes the surrounding movie watchers have some stank nasty breath.  Gum is a odor shield.

 ….

Now to the actual review of the movie:

Ok, so I was kind of disappointed.  But I think maybe I’m one of those people that relish in the anticipation and then have like, holiday letdown afterwards.  I’m not sure what I expected with a 500 page book being shoved into a 2 hour movie, it was never going to be as good as the book.  Much like with Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter.  The book is always better.  I thought that sometimes the acting was robotic, but I’m sure it was very difficult to play the character of a perfect, smooth, suave vampire.  And dude, Robert Pattinson.  Need I say more?  I don’t think so.

But on the positive, it’s a good clean movie.  It’s filled with all the fodder of thrill, mystery and imagination.  I just wish I hadn’t read the books yet. I say that because, first, I would have not been comparing the two.  Second, because my imagination had already painted pictures in my mind of Forks or the Cullens’ house or Forks High School.  The movie didn’t fit my imagined pictures, and that was irritating. 

The movie soundtrack is oisome.  iTunes gift cards, folks.  That’s what this little girl is asking for Christmas.  Must.own.soundtrack.

So if you are on that precarious edge of should I see the movie, should I read the books, I just don’t know… let me help you decide.  Watch the movie first, I guarantee it’s good, I guarantee you will appreciate the beauty of the settings and the, erm…characters.  Then, read the book.  It’s a fast read, despite being 500+ pages.  And even if you totally hate it, what have you lost?  Just do it.  Pretty please?  You might like it so much you decide to read the other three.

Twas a fun night, and I can’t wait to see New Moon.

Anyone else see Twilight?  What did you think?  And did anyone else think they saw Stephenie Meyer in the movie?

24 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you had a great date with hubby and the movie was not lackluster!!!

    So, I will probably see the movie when it comes out on DVD with a “team Jacob” shirt, ’cause that’s my son’s name (he won’t be watching it with me, I will force hubby to do that), but I will not read the books…I hate to read anyway (wha?) and reading will just mess up the images of the characters I already have from seeing movie previews and magazine covers…I don’t want those precious images tainted. I am most satisfied when one does my imagining for me, that way I don’t have to think, ’cause thinking hurts. Reading a 500 page book would age me beyond my comfort zone of, um, aging…

    I am not much into swooning over young men that could almost be my children, (such is the case these days), and not too happy that I am a 35ish woman who will have to see young, taut, “actors” sweeping the screen while I am in my PJ’s, wondering if kissing scenes will ever be as sweet and pure as they were in some great 80’s teen movies (remember Some Kind of Wonderful y’all? That WAS some kind of wonderful!!)…but if the movie has three of my most important criteria, which are bad acting, no plot and senseless action with minimal stunt doubles I might just fall over with glee, hoping I don’t break a hip in the process…does Brad Pitt show up anywhere? Or Eric Stoltz for that matter? That would be, like, better…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Aunt Vam on November 25, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Um, am I in the Dark Ages? Does the fact that I don’t know anything about the book or the movie mean that I’m hopelessly OLD? Oops, that couldn’t be me, could it, out of touch with current times??? Someone pass me the Ensure, please, I’m thirsty, Thanks! lol

    Reply

  3. What happened to Lance? Is it that cold in Alabama that he has to grow all that hair to stay warm? He doesn’t look drunk. He looks kind of like The Brawny Man… You, btw, look cute, even through the eyes of a drunkard.

    And I’m still not reading the books or watching the movies in any order. 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Aunt Melissa on November 25, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Lance looks like he lives in Alaska by looking at the picture. Make sure and tell him that…..

    Isn’t this movie a chick flick anyway? So I can understand the eye rolling business. Good job on taking her to the movie Lance.

    Reply

  5. Of course he’s hot. Look at all that hair! Dude’s getting a razor from me for Christmas.

    Hey, and ISN’T TODAY YOUR BIRTHDAY!?!?

    Reply

  6. Posted by tr3n1ty on November 25, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    In that picture Lance has a small resemblance to Chris Elliott? http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2005/10/31/books/elli184.jpg

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 25, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Danny, sssshhh!

    Reply

  8. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 25, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Worst Chris Elliott movie: Cabin Boy. Please, God, give me back the 180 minutes I spent watching that movie and also some Clorox to cleanse my eyes from the idiodacy.

    Reply

  9. Lance MUST NOT shave!

    Scruffy men unite!

    Edward is not scruffy, therefore he must be eliminated. Down with metrosexual vampires.

    Reply

  10. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 25, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    But he’s so purty…

    Reply

  11. you’ve just summed up the book and the movie experience. i believe that’ll do it for me.

    were the actors really that hot? was michael vartan in it? no. so no.

    Reply

  12. Posted by itsjustmythang on November 25, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Holy cow! He does look similar to Chris Elliot! I was thinking Keifer Sutherland kind of and yeah isn’t today your birthday? Knowing Jesse, we will watch the movie first and may never read the books. I might but him, no. Did you see the recent sequel to The Lost Boys? We did before halloween and its almost comical to watch now. Aside from all the blood spewing, of course. Growing up I was and still am borderline morbidly obsessed with vampires. Is that weird? lol Glad you had a good time and way to go Lance for hanging in there!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Aunt Shanon on November 25, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I will wait until the movie is out on DVD to watch it, mainly because we don’t have a movie theatre here. Yeah, I know, we really are Small Town, USA.
    Lance looks hot with the facial hair, so just let him be. You, as always, are always cute. I should know. I have known you since the day you were born, which was on this day, so many such years ago. I will never tell how many years ago that was. That is my gift to you.
    The last vampire movie I saw was an Independent short called Vampire Oclero. You can find it on Imdb.com.
    Happy Birthday Kearsie!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Robin on November 25, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    o.k. girl….what’s creepy is that jake and lance look like they could be twins minus the hair color! when you married him he looked much more clean cut, but i have to say the full beard is rockin’! you married a HOTTIE, as did i. one of these days it wopuld actually be nice to meet him!

    as for twilight…..i agree with watching the movies first. i too have been disappointed or atleast thrown off when my imaginary world has colided with the cinematic creation. i will watch it as soon as i can get out of the house. i think i am going to trick jake and say that the movie theatre called and we need to rush down there to fix their heater……..

    Reply

  15. Posted by Lance on November 25, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    First, the movie. It was like Nsync’s version of Underworld… with a little SAved By the Bell thrown in there.

    Second, my greatest secret fear has now been realized. People think I look like Chris Elliot. Too many Tostidos I guess.

    Reply

  16. Pictures! Y’all are so cute! I’ve heard the movie isn’t as good as the book, but I haven’t read it yet, so it probably wouldn’t matter much to me.

    Happy Birthday by the way!

    Reply

  17. Posted by tr3n1ty on November 25, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Erm, sorry Lance. I have this awful tendency to do things like that and then not keep my mouth shut. Or my fingers still, apparently.

    Reply

  18. I married his sister, who arguably has known him a long time, and she’s always thought he looked like Dr. Carter during the “bearded season” on ER.

    I personally vote for this guy: http://a0.vox.com/6a00c114131a43c40800c2251c3a30f219-500pi

    Reply

  19. you might like this, for a while…

    Reply

  20. oh darn, it didn’t work I see…oh well…

    Reply

  21. Posted by Krista on November 29, 2008 at 2:43 am

    I am training my 7 year old to take good pics, since my hubby photographs like yours does. In the family pic collection, I was at every event, but never did a pic of me turn out!!!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Julie Rodgers on November 30, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Girl I bought the soundtrack! I will totally make a copy of it for you and send it to you! What’s your address? Who needs itunes gift cards with friends like me, right??? 🙂
    I’m seeing the movie Monday night. I’ll let you know what I think. . .

    Reply

  23. Great review. Haven’t seen it yet, but I will at some point. And yes, your hubby is cute!

    Reply

  24. Posted by Alice Wiggins on December 5, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    My mom told me YEARS AGO that you always see the movie and then read the book. Unfortunately, that’s harder to do these days with a lot of things. And sometimes it doesn’t matter, like with Cider House Rules…movie & book were SO different. Anyway, Lance looks NOTHING like Chris Elliott…sorry Tr3nity. Lance has always been hot, beard or not. Hey, that rhymes. Anyway, someone had talked me out of seeing the movie but now maybe I’ll give it a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

