Adventures in OCD

I never would have classified myself as someone who has OCD.  I don’t wash my hands every 10 seconds, I touch lots of things I probably shouldn’t, I even try on hats at the store despite the fact I’m probably the 100th person to do it and statistically should catch lice in about 14 seconds. 

However, I LOVE to restock things.  I don’t just love it, I lurve it.

Such a joy, restocking things.  Perhaps I’ve missed my calling, to do the all important job of restocking groceries at Walmart, the receiver of my paycheck. 

I once worked at the Health Department for two months as a Nurse Aide.  I got to do all kinds of exciting things like take blood pressure, check temperatures, use the scary scale and prick fingers to test for iron and lead.  I also learned how to draw blood, with a big fat needle and everything.  It was nerve racking work, it made my blood pressure skyrocket, but it was kind of fun. 

But the best thing, the thing that made my crazy days at the Health Department bearable was restocking all the supplies.  I would trail behind the other ladies, making them nervous, and restock the alcohol wipes, the bandaids, the needle pieces and thingamabobs.  It was so annoying to have a day off and come in to see all the supply depleted with nary a nurse aid taking interest in restocking.  But all was right in the world if I could fill all those spaces, cramming those boxes with medical goods.

Perhaps I get this from my grandmother.

See, my grandmother grew up in the Depression.  She’s from a generation of restocking that even I can’t understand.  If you were to open up any cabinet in her kitchen, you would find a variety of food items:  cans, boxes, bags and containers.  She has enough food in her kitchen to feed a large group and still not come up empty on replenishments.  I’m not sure what goes through her mind when she sees that some Vienna Sausages have disappeared, but it must cause a panic because she immediately heads to the store to fill those gaping holes. 

And don’t even get me started on the rest of her house.

My new thing is office supplies.  I’m not sure if any of you out there have a love for office supplies like me, but restocking office supplies is nearly as satisfying as restocking medical doo-dads.  Paper clips, envelopes, binder clips, stationery, staples, copy paper, SIGN HERE tab thingies…they are so much fun. 

If only this OCD would make it self into my home.

6 responses to this post.

  1. it’s a gift. and a curse. – adrian monk.

    i would have said it first. but he did.

    Reply

  2. Ahhh…I’ve never agreed with you more. Restocking is the bomb-diggity.

    And by the way, I’ve decided to be CDO rather than OCD. It just works better.

    Reply

  3. You have captured my heart. I love office supplies. When I had a job just like yours, the most exciting day for me was when I got to go into the huge rooms that held the office supplies so that I could make a list and decide what needed to be restocked. *sigh* It was a little piece of heaven right here on earth, I tell ya. The only thing that would’ve made it better was if I had been able to go to the office supply store rather than ordering by fax (this was before everything was ordered online). Sometimes I *did* get to go to Office Depot or Staples or something. Those were the best days.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jennifer Pickelsimer on November 21, 2008 at 5:36 am

    Umm…I am totally addicted to office supplies. At the beginning of this school year I bought some rad paper clips at Staples that are SHAPES! ha! Yes! Some are music notes, some are guitars, some are in color, some are hands, and some are feet. They are awesome! Then my most recent office supply purchase are these little plastic tubs…and I do mean little. I bought ten of them and they now host my paper clips, staples, post-it tabs, rubber bands, stapler removers, and binder clips. Not only that…but I have labeled them each with my label maker. And I’m like you Kearsie…I wish this would pour over into my home life. I am sitting on my bed right now looking at clothes that are overflowing from my closet, piled in the floor, and thrown onto my pillow pile (you know…the pillows that are supposed to make my bed look pretty but usually stay on the floor due to my lack of making the bed). So…i share your joy and frustration. ha!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Casey on November 21, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    lurve…. is that from the target lady on SNL?? You are so funny. I love restocking but only on things like TP and paper towels and office supplies. so, maybe I need to be an office janitor or something!

    Love you.

    Casey

    Reply

  6. Posted by sara on November 21, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    IF only it would make its way to MY home 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

