Emma’s new hat.

They say necessity is the motherhood of invention. 

I don’t know about that, but one of my many missions this past month has been to make Emma a new winter hat as her old one is too small.  I’m not sure why I feel this is so important, considering it’s going to be a balmy 78 degrees today, but I just had to make her a hat.

My first attempt was knitting a hat.  Now, I’m one of those really good scarf makers.  I can whip out a scarf in no time.  But if you ask me to move away from the comfort of the boxy scarf shape, I start to get a twitch.  It’s just fear, plain and simple.  I’m afraid of messing up.  Perhaps it’s because the first time to tried to make a hat, it ended up looking like it had horns. 

Anyways, I decided to bust down those walls of fear and just go for it. 

I found this great heavy suede yarn and went to work.  No matter that I didn’t have a pattern.  No matter that I chose the wrong needle size and ended up with arthritis every night gripping my tiny needles and wrangling heavy suede.  I was determined. 

I finally finished one night and tried it on Addie’s head.  It was very tight.  So I tried to stretch it just a little and I heard SNAP!  It was the death of my hat. 

I did what any normal person would do.  I scrunched it up and threw it against the wall and stewed for an hour.  There might have been some cussing, I don’t remember. 

I emotionally healed for a week and began to think of alternatives.  For the past few months I’ve been collecting old wool sweaters from the Goodwill and shrinking them.  I had this one light green sweater that was kind of thin and girly, so I picked it up last night and plotted my attack.  After an hour or so, this is what I came up with.

Emma's new hat

Emma's new hat.

 

It looked way too starke and bare, so I found some embroidery floss and some yellow beads.  My daisies aren’t perfect, but I’m very pleased with the outcome. 

Emma was pleased, too.

This is right before she said "This is really itchy!"

This is right before she said "This is really itchy!"

Now to try mittens…
17 responses to this post.

  1. Sorry about your knitted hat–I can understand as I am just getting back into crochet. But maybe it was meant to because the one from the old wool sweater is just gorgeous!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 6, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Thank you! Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  3. what a great hat! Good job 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 6, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Thank you very much!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Candy on November 6, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    very cute.. your so creative.

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 6, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Canders, I did think of you when I added these daisies!

    Reply

  7. Posted by lolasmum on November 6, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    I would have done exactly the same with the knit one….

    but good job with the sweater hat! I might just have to give that a try!

    Reply

  8. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 6, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    It was easy peasy mac and cheesy!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Misty on November 6, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Neat! Good idea with the sweater its pretty. So Proverbs 31 woman. I just go buy the hats because I’m lazy! I wonder if you can line the hat for Emma? I know my girl and she would go crazy if it itched!

    Reply

  10. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 6, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Hmm, possibly. Right now I’m just basking in the pleasure of the hat not having horns.

    Reply

  11. I wish it was cold enough here that you could make my girls hats. Or me. I’d wear that hat. I’d ROCK THAT HAT! 😉 Alas, I’ll be lucky if I get to layer a t-shirt over a long-sleeved shirt, and who knows if my leather jacket will be worn. Poor, poor pitiful me. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 6, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I could make you something for the 24 minutes it gets cold in Florida. Lemme know and I’ll hook you up. All my Florida family have scarves from me.

    Reply

  13. I think many of us have toiled over something, then messed with it until we messed it up, or ended up scrapping it because we just couldn’t get it right. I know I have ! I think the second hat is just adorable !

    Reply

  14. Posted by Mom on November 8, 2008 at 12:42 am

    At least your first hat didn’t end up looking like a coaster! Any hat too small for Addie will either fit Lilah or a baby doll!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Kamryn on November 8, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Who’d have thought you would have turned out to be the domesticated knitting/quilting/hat making goddess you are? This, the girl who never wanted to get married and have children, and then only altered your dreams to allow in two would-be sons who drove a beat-up Ford. And yet here you are. Good work, sis!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Joel on November 12, 2008 at 2:30 am

    That’s what Lance would’ve looked like as a girl!

    Reply

  17. Posted by Tiffany on November 12, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Cool hat! Man, Emma looks like a minature Lance with your hair color in this picture! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

