Deep thoughts on a Friday, it can be done.

It’s always funny to me to come across someone’s blog and my blog name is in there.  SOUNDS LIKE TOMATOES.  It kind of sounds like an Indian name, doesn’t it?  Can’t you just picture me walking through an Indian camp, a fellow Indian calls over, “Sounds Like Tomatoes, go help skin that buffalo.” 

Maybe this is all in my mind because I just finished reading Dances With Wolves, written by Michael Blake.

I’d seen the movie but I didn’t realize that it was based on a novel.  I was intrigued.  I love period films, books, history.  So I went to the library and checked it out. 

It’s a fantastic book.  The movie and novel differ on several points.  For one, the Indians in the movie are the Sioux and in the book they are Comanche.  In the movie, the setting is in one of the Dakotas, in the book, somewhere near Texas.  But the tone is still the same.  I have to give Kevin Costner great big ups for doing a fantastic job making the movie so closely related to the novel.  The endings differ too, but I won’t spoil it.

While reading, I was intrigued with this one sentence.  Let me set it up a bit.  Lt. John J. Dunbar is beginning to befriend the Comanches and the language barrier is bridged by one of the tribe members, Stands With A Fist, who actually is a white woman raised in the village.  She is white, but she is Comanche.  Anyways, she is experiencing a tug of war in that she is recently widowed yet has an attraction to Lt. John J. Dunbar, who they call Dances With Wolves.  There is a scene where she is muddling through this problem of the attraction.

“These musings led her to the conclusion that Dances With Wolves was an honest person.  Every human being finds certain characteristics above all others to cherish, and for Stands With A Fist it was honesty.”

I got to thinking, what characteristic above all others do I cherish?  Honesty is great, sure.  So is kindness, patience, courage.  All of those are great.  But I finally nailed down the one characteristic that I cherish above all others.

Humility.

It’s not often you come across a truly humble person.  We are a people of pride, of postulating, of pomp.  We puff up.  We put ourselves on parade. 

(Editor’s note: I alliterate, because I can.  It’s ok to be jealous of my talents.)

Ahem, I wonder why it’s so hard for us to show some humility? 

I’ve come up with a recipe for humility.  Ready?

 

1 cup of get over yourself

2 cups of stop elevating yourself

3 cups of elevating others

a dash of self deprecation

 

Ok, so it’s not going to be a recipe used on the Food Network.  And it’s kind of cheesy.  Ok, a whole lot cheesy.  But the principle remains. 

Humility, it’s a good thing. 

(Editor’s note:  Martha Stewart does not own the phrase “It’s a good thing”.  Or maybe she does and I shall write my next post from prison.)

6 responses to this post.

  1. What could be more humble then telling us how simple it is for us to be more humble?

    You should be proud of your humility.

    😛

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 31, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    What can I say. I have the spiritual gift of humility. Learn from me, all you masses.

    ….

    Totally kidding. I do not have the spiritual gift of humility. I have the spiritual gift of sarcasm.

    Reply

  3. Loyalty is mine….but I do have a love affair with honesty.

    ~Laughter~
    Melissa

    Reply

  4. Posted by Amy on November 4, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Just a note that one of my summer projects was to read books that had been made into movies. I would say most of them were VERY different from the films–in a good way–no surprise. I was most impressed with The Princess Bride–many lines were word-for-word.

    Hmm…I may have I missed the point of your post 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on November 4, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    That sounds like such a fun project! Also fun was one of my college classes: The History of Hollywood Musicals. Have to say, “Singin in the Rain” was my all time favorite.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mom on November 8, 2008 at 12:29 am

    What I cherish the most in people is the ability to laugh, at themselves, at others, in the midst of great crisis, in the darkest moments, in the center of sorrow. Laughter is the greatest asset we hold and the ability to make others laugh is truly a gift. And you, my oldest child are full of many gifts, and at the top of the list is your ablilty to laugh at yourself and get others to laugh at you WITH you. You are remarkable, sounds like tomatoes, now go skin that buffalo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

