The Power, I am drunk with it

So last week, I issued a Bacon Brownie Challenge.  I seriously did not expect any takers.  I thought that I would have to break down and make the durn things myself.  But thanks to my good buddy, Sean, I shall not need to. 

Here is Sean’s report:

Bacon Brownie Update.

Like the Little Red Hen, I bought the mix and bought the bacon and cooked the bacon and mixed the mix and added the bacon and baked the mix and ate the brownies. (Well, a few of them.)

And now I bring the report.

Bacon brownies are…

…well, they just are.

There are some interesting facets to them. You’ve got the salty-sweet mix which is pleasant. Kinda like a chocolate covered pretzel. You’ve got a nice crunch that most people like in brownies, hence the addition of nuts to many recipes. I, however, hate having to spit out nut remnants for the hour or so after eating nutty brownies. With bacon brownies, no remnant spitting.

So, if we were to hang the whole experience on those two items, I would say that bacon brownies are good.

However, one of the downsides of bacon brownies is hickory smoke. Hickory smoke is not normal, natural or needed when it comes to chocolate. Cheese, yes. Chocolate, no. Maybe its the taste of burnt brownies. I don’t know.

All of this came to me a few initially upon eating them.

Sandi’s and my assessment was we would never make them again on purpose, but if bacon fell into our brownie mix, we wouldn’t throw it out. We’d eat them.

However, from about half and hour after eating until now (which is a good 5 hours span) there is something afoul in our guts. Its not nausea per se. Its just an unsettled feeling. It’s like our digestive tract is sending up smoke signals that read “Please never do that to us again.”

I’m the kind of guy that listens to my gut.

Now, what to do with the remainder of the brownies?

I have a 17 year old son. He’ll eat them. I’m sure.

BTW, thanks for the kind comments Alice and Wendi. I’m glad that my occasional hijacking of Kearsie’s blog is entertaining. Wendi, I couldn’t, in good conscience, send you these brownies. But if I did, I wouldn’t send them by mail, I’d use UPS. Brown, ya know.

Alas, there are no pictures.  But I feel the visual images conjured up reading this review will suffice.  Sean and Sandi, I applaud you and your stomachs.  You guys rock the house.  Hopefully, you had some Pepto Bismal on hand. 

Don’t forget to browse Sean’s art!

5 responses to this post.

  1. you need to stop drinking power. it’s uncool to be so drunk.

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 27, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    But it tastes so good. Power=delicious drink.

    Reply

  3. i think it is probably like a mcgriddle from mcdonalds. sweet and salty.

    Reply

  4. Are you a happy drunk or an angry drunk?

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 28, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    I have never been drunk. I’ll have to assume I’m a powerful drunk. Filled with power. I-can-take-you-with-one-hand-tied-behind-my-back kind of power.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

