For you bacon freaks out there

My husband thinks there should be a new diet that contains the magic ingredient, bacon.  I buy turkey bacon mostly, because it’s healthier.  It’s my way of negating all my calories from eating cake and peanut butter cups.  If only turkey bacon didn’t taste like eating an eraser. 

Anyways, I stumbled across this awesome recipe for Bacon Brownies

I am way too chicken to try this, so my challenge to you readers is this:

Make them, photograph them and taste them.  Then write me and tell me if it’s worth buying actual real greasy bacon and knocking the cobwebs off my baking pans.  And I’ll post your pics.  Deal?

And if this seems like I’m super lazy…well, I can’t deny that.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Yeah, I saw that recipe too. Don’t think I’m going to try it however. I do love bacon, but can’t see the rational in eating anything but real bacon. so I buy Gwaltney’s Center Cut (40% less fat in the green package). Its amazing! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tonya Guthrie on October 22, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Sorry but I won’t be trying it. Something about the idea of chocolate and bacon grease makes me gag. (and I don’t think it’s just the pregnancy)

    Reply

  3. Posted by tr3n1ty on October 22, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    It’s not gluten free so I’m not going to be making it. Just wanted to say, I see your bacon brownies and raise you Bacon Ice Cream!

    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/archives/2008/03/candied_bacon_i_1.html

    and… bacon beer (in case that wasn’t high enough)

    http://www.baconunwrapped.com/2007/10/oktoberfest-bacon-bier.html

    😛

    Reply

  4. Posted by sara on October 23, 2008 at 1:33 am

    I just have to say….that is positively disgusting….absolutely not!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Aunt Shanon on October 23, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Maybe I can talk Charlie into making and trying these this weekend. I’m sure he would be happy to try them for you. Now, do you have to use sliced bacon or can you use the bacon ends & pieces? I knew I should have bought that dark chocolate brownie mix today when we were at H-E-B.

    Reply

  6. I’m your man.

    Well, not YOUR man, I’m Sandi’s man…you’ve got your own man…wait, what was I saying?

    Oh yeah, I’ll make the brownies. I have no fear (or taste or discernment).

    I’ll report back later.

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 23, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Yes! I knew if I was patient that some poor sap -er, sucker- wait, um, person would come to my rescue in this bacon endeavor. Sean, I anxiously await your response!

    Reply

  8. I prefer to think of myself as a rube, thank you very much.

    Reply

  9. oh. i like that your no fear friend sean – who’s your man – but really sandi’s man – is going to make the bacon brownies.

    can you have him send you some. and then send them to me?

    but then. that’s a lot of mail truck time. so then they might not be so bacon-y by the time they get to me. they might just be brown. and not in a good way.

    but is brown ever really good? we already know orange isn’t.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Alice Wiggins on October 24, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I like your friend, Sean. He always makes me laugh out loud. (actually all of your friends & family seem to have your same wacky sense of humor so I guess I like them all…) Anyone willing to try this strange recipe is an interesting person in my book.

    Reply

  11. Bacon Brownie Update.

    Like the Little Red Hen, I bought the mix and bought the bacon and cooked the bacon and mixed the mix and added the bacon and baked the mix and ate the brownies. (Well, a few of them.)

    And now I bring the report.

    Bacon brownies are…

    …well, they just are.

    There are some interesting facets to them. You’ve got the salty-sweet mix which is pleasant. Kinda like a chocolate covered pretzel. You’ve got a nice crunch that most people like in brownies, hence the addition of nuts to many recipes. I, however, hate having to spit out nut remnants for the hour or so after eating nutty brownies. With bacon brownies, no remnant spitting.

    So, if we were to hang the whole experience on those two items, I would say that bacon brownies are good.

    However, one of the downsides of bacon brownies is hickory smoke. Hickory smoke is not normal, natural or needed when it comes to chocolate. Cheese, yes. Chocolate, no. Maybe its the taste of burnt brownies. I don’t know.

    All of this came to me a few initially upon eating them.

    Sandi’s and my assessment was we would never make them again on purpose, but if bacon fell into our brownie mix, we wouldn’t throw it out. We’d eat them.

    However, from about half and hour after eating until now (which is a good 5 hours span) there is something afoul in our guts. Its not nausea per se. Its just an unsettled feeling. It’s like our digestive tract is sending up smoke signals that read “Please never do that to us again.”

    I’m the kind of guy that listens to my gut.

    Now, what to do with the remainder of the brownies?

    I have a 17 year old son. He’ll eat them. I’m sure.

    BTW, thanks for the kind comments Alice and Wendi. I’m glad that my occasional hijacking of Kearsie’s blog is entertaining. Wendi, I couldn’t, in good conscience, send you these brownies. But if I did, I wouldn’t send them by mail, I’d use UPS. Brown, ya know.

    Reply

  12. And also, I neglected to photograph my exploits. My apologies to you visual learners out there.

    Reply

  13. i guess top chef is wrong. not *everything* is good with bacon. i shall write to the bravo network immediately.

    thank you, sean, for the possible faux shipment of brownies via brown. i truly appreciate your genius. and i’m sorry about your gut. and sandi’s gut.

    and alice. i’m just going to include myself amongst the “friends & family” that “seem to have [kearsie’s] same wacky sense of humor”. so therefore, i like you, too. let’s be best friends.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Alice Wiggins on October 28, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Wendi, I’m up for that. I LOVE people with a wacky, somewhat sarcastic sense of humor. And I love that Sean was willing to risk this experiment so the my and Fred’s gut did not have to suffer the same fate as his & Sandi’s. Thanks, Sean! Kearsie, keep up the good work. It’s a great blog when you enjoy the comments almost as much as the blog itself! Oh, and Sean, I checked out your artwork and find that it matches your personality. A little out there and thought provoking. Keep up the good work, brownies & all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

