Stickers

Spending yesterday home with my youngest kiddo who was sick was a glimpse into my distant life as a stay at home mom.  It was weird, reliving those days of not really looking at the clock, the days of no computers…just me and the kid.

But that’s not what I want to talk about today.  I want to talk about STICKERS.

Do you remember stickers? Stickers are like kiddie crack.  Stickers make any child happy.  Stickers fix any boo-boo, turn frowns upside down, cause enjoyment by just holding one.

My mother plies my girls with stickers.  We have enough stickers right now to decorate an entire wall.  If I let them, the girls would test this theory.  I’ve, ahem, caught them in the act a few times.  They love to defile any piece of furniture, any surface that doesn’t move, anything on which to affix these forever sticking stickers.

Addie, my youngest, daily carries around sheets of stickers and asks each member of the family if we would like a sticker.  When she gets to me, I always say no, so she can save them.  But I began to realize that this was a great way to teach sharing, so now I always take a sticker.  Sometimes it gets out of hand; I’ll have a sticker on each hand, each of my cheeks and my forehead before I begin to insist that’s all I want.

Last night, I was laying in bed next to Lance, book propped open next to me (Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton) when I got this faraway glazed look.  Lance looks over, asks me what I’m thinking about.  I said, “Stickers.”

So we began to talk about stickers.  How, isn’t it funny that as a kid, nothing in the world is better than a sticker, but when you’re an adult, your response is something like, “meh” when asked if you want one.  But as a kid, NOTHING beats getting a new sticker.  It’s like the precursor to the black market there at the lunch table in the cafeteria.

Lunch kid #1:  Hey man, I’ll trade you a scratch and sniff sticker for your googly eyed sticker.

Lunch kid #2:  That depends.  What flavor?

Lunch kid #1:  Banana, it’s never been scratched.

Lunch kid #2:  I was hoping for cinnamon bun.  Lemme think about it.

Lunch kid #1:  (Eyeing the googly eyed sticker)  How about the banana scratch and sniff and TWO holographic stickers.

Lunch kid #2:  What’s the holograph of?

Lunch kid #1:  Thundercats.

Lunch kid #2:  Deal.  You gonna eat your hamburger?

 

I had two sticker books as a kid, that’s how crazy I was about stickers.  I had them separated, googly eyed stickers went on one designated page, hearts and flowers and girly stuff went on another, characters had their own page and so did scratch and sniff.  It sucked when I tried to move them, they just started shredding to smithereens.  But my absolute favorite stickers were the stickers filled with pearly white goo and glitter.  You could use your finger to make the goo swirl.  I had two of those:  a music note and Michael Jackson’s glove.  Those were the prize stickers.  All the lunch table trading in the world couldn’t have separated me from my beloved glove sticker.  Lance said his favorite was an Auburn University sticker.

What was your favorite sticker?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on October 16, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    I loved Winnie-the-Pooh stickers!

    Reply

  2. You have to remember, I was a big ol’ nerd. So nothing was better to me than a big GOLD STAR on a paper I’d turned in. That was the best.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jen on October 16, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    My favorite were the puffy ones that were shaped by Cabbage Patch Kids. I also had a sticker book. Actually just recently it fell into my possession as my dad moved and sold the house that we lived in for 15 years. I looked through it with warm thoughts but I have to say I think I threw it away……finally huh? I have only had it since like 4th grade and I think I tried to interest my son in it but he looked at me like, I have a hockey stick why would I need a sticker book??? While he does like stickers I think its more of a girl thing to collect them in books…..ya think?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mom on October 16, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    I was personally partial to the blue stars. I know Gold meant you did the best but I just liked the way the blue ones looked. “They” say everything comes and goes in cycles, like Strawberry Shortcake and Care Bears were popular when my girls were little and now those things are popular once again…I hope this is true ‘cos I’d like to be able to find sticker books for my grand-girls so they can have these childhood moments captured, to be discovered with delight some day in the distant future, when they have their own girls to share sticker mania with. Sorry, Jen, it’s a chick thing. Guys just don GET the sticker craze, unless its a mileage sticker that goes on the car.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Karen on October 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

    For me, it was the sticker book itself. It wasn’t extremely pretty or anything, just purple… BUT, it actually released the stickers so you could move them around. I could organize my stickers however I wanted, as many times as I wanted. I’ve never seen one like it before, nor ever since. It found its demise when my parents moved from AK to Nevada, but I did get to look at it one last time. (BTW, my favorite stickers were the scratch n’ sniff; I wonder if they still have the original round ones on the market???)

    Reply

  6. Posted by Joel on October 19, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Wow I feel like I’m at a mom’s night out or something typing this. My favorite sticker was one that I stuck on my first guitar case as a teen. It was a small “bonnie blue flag” sticker that I got a civil war reinactment (that had “homeschooler” written all over it didn’t it!)

    Reply

  7. Posted by Robin on October 19, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    a red pair of sunglasses…it was one of the goo with glitter stickers that kears mentioned. my least favorite were the scratch and sniff. i have always been extremely sensitive to “fake” smells. weird i know…..i wanna smell a real banana…not some chemical version of the smell.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

