For love of cake: a consumer report on Oreo Cakesters

I don’t experience Buyer’s Remorse too often.  I’m not a “shopper”.  I’m not suckered in by the flashy advertising of new products, although that new Swiffer product has me wondering if my dusting needs are being met.  But as a rule, I usually stick with products I know and love.  My grocery list week to week stays roughly the same.  And due to being anal and a penny pincher, I usually mark on my list what I think I’ll spend.  It’s just one of those things I do, like sitting down to the supper table and putting my napkin in my lap immediately, like I can’t sit there at the table without that protective layer of pulped paper on my lap.  Just one of those quirky things.

So today when I was at Walmart with the other ladies at my work, hunting for seasonal decorations; plastic pumpkins, cheap scarecrows made out of canvas and straw, potpourri to make the office stink pretty, I found myself in line with my deli lunch, stomach grumbling in serious mutiny.  I was hungry.  And the line was really long.  And I found myself looking around, just taking in the sights.  And I found a prize of chocolate cake and white goo, aka The Oreo Cakester, all for just $.88.  So I snatched that bad boy up and paid the cashier for my goods.

Now, sometime after eating my hot deli meal, I broke into the package of Cakesters and bit into it.  And it was…

(you’re dying to know, aren’t you?  I’ve got you by the eyeballs, just viciously holding out on you, making you wonder… I’m so mean.)

…yucky.  I was very sad to have parted with three quarters, a dime and three pennies, plus tax.  While it lightened the metallic load in my coin purse, I miss those sweet coins.  I should have counted to ten.  I should have bought a PB Twix.  I should have let my hungry eyes gloss right over that shiny blue wrapper and move on to the perfect stacks of gum.  I should have read the packaging on the travel Oust.  I should have read about Jennifer Aniston’s possible voyage into liposuction. 

But I didn’t.  I broke the cardinal rule of the shopper- NEVER buy anything that immediately surrounds the cashier, lest you instantly or eventually regret said decision.

Durn you, Oreo Cakester, for being a cake tease.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kamryn on October 6, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I had the same reaction. Yukka-mukka. Purely created for 8-year-old children who think anything of that nature is God’s gift, no matter how it actually tastes. Now you will save readers everywhere from wasting their $0.88.

    Reply

  2. Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if they weren’t so small. Bigger = more chocolate = better? That equation always works for me.

    Reply

  3. Posted by julie rodgers on October 7, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Kearsie, you should have gotten the yellow Oreo Cakesters! They are waaaaay better!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cristy on October 7, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Thank you for that. I have been wondering what they taste like, but not intereted enough to actually buy them…especially seeing as how I am on a carmello binge right now. But, I have thought about it a couple of times. Now, I will definitely not be buying them. You’re a life saver, my friend.

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 7, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Saving consumers, one blog at a time.

    Reply

  6. Posted by karensings on October 8, 2008 at 3:58 am

    Kearsie;
    As a big girl – one who rarely tastes anything she doesn’t like (or at least find tolerable) I found them to be DIS-GUS- wait for it…..ING.

    You know something sucks when a fat chick won’t eat it! Heard?

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mom on October 10, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    I think it would have been better if you’d washed it down with some kind of soda, like a Dr Pepper or a diet Mountian Dew…then you’d REALLY have had groos-o-rooter in the mouth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

