It’s a busy Friday

It’s a busy Friday, and not just here in my hood. 

I feel a little like the person who sits in the token booth at the subway station.  Trains are zooming by at regular intervals, each carrying strangers to different journeys and destinations.  For example:

Today, a friend in California is celebrating her birthday. 

Today, a friend in Tennessee is burying her father.

Today, a friend in Alabama is having a baby.

Today, a friend in Alaska is dealing with a terrible cold.

Today, a friend in Florida is waiting to find out what the two masses in her belly are.

Today, a friend here at work is dealing with the fact that her dad has stage four cancer.

Today, somewhere in the world, someone is buying overpriced coffee at a Barney’s, a Starbucks, a Dunkin Donuts.

Today, somewhere in the world, other people are dying, other people are burying, other people are birthing babies.

Today, somewhere in the world, people are killing, people are kissing, people are kindling.

Today, somewhere in the world, someone driving is allowing a pedestrian to cross the road, the pedestrian is doing the courtesy jog,  giving the pinky wave.

Today, somewhere in the world, someone is writing these observations of life from her fishbowl. 

It’s a busy day.  I’m just sitting here in my booth, a second party to all these goings on.  I’m watching these trains zoom past me, filled with people doing their thing, breaking the law, upholding the law, writing the law.  They’re making things, using things, eating things, changing things.  They’re breathing, gasping, laughing, crying.  They’re shaking hands, shaking fists, shaking babies, shaking snow globes.  They’re buying stuff, selling stuff, inventing stuff, mass producing stuff.  They’re watching, waiting, wanting, wailing.  They’re reading, railing, ranting and raving.

It’s a busy day.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tr3n1ty on October 3, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    As I read this, “Right Now” by Van Halen popped into my head. I am such a dork.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on October 3, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Today, somewhere, somebody has discovered love for the first time. Today, somewhere, somebody has learned they DO NOT have cancer. Today, somewhere, somebody has had their first taste of ice-cream. Today, somewhere, somebody has muttered “I could just KILL my mother!” Today, somewhere, somebody has heard music that just lifts their spirits and brings a smile to their face. Today, somewhere, somebody has held their first-born in their hands for the first time. Today, somewhere, somebody has held the hand of a friend and helped that friend through a bad moment. Today, somewhere, somebody has said “Thank You” and really meant it. Today, somewhere, somebody has finally found God. Today, here and now I am once again aware of how blessed I am by having you in my life. Thank You. I really mean it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jennifer on October 4, 2008 at 4:42 am

    This is beautiful….absolutely beautiful and I don’t want to ruin that truth with my next comment. I must however say that Dunkin Donuts coffee is not overpriced. It’s the cheapest out there and pretty awesome…especially when paired with one of their reduced fat blueberry muffins. Again….don’t want to ruin the moment, but for some reason felt like I needed to take up for the coffee drinkers.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Robin on October 4, 2008 at 6:35 am

    oh my gosh jennifer!!!! now i see why you are friends with kearsie….you are a true kindred spirit!!!!! that is exactly something that her and i would have pointed out in high school years ago when we were bff’s!!!! if i ever go to a dunkin donuts i will think of you and toast you as i sip my coffee with cream! and to kears…..i can see it was a thought provoking friday! i was wondering the other day about how many pictures i am in that don’t belong to me. like when someone takes a pic of someone in a crowd and i am one of the bystanders kind of thing….. i was looking thru some of my pics the other day and it struck me…who are these people and what are they like??? interesting thought…. btw….still hacking my guts out….thanks for the props in your poem!!!!!loves from alaska!!!! hack hack sputter sputter

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jennifer on October 5, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Ha! Robin! I’m glad to know that there is someone else out there that noticed the Dunkin Donuts thing. And….now I’m wondering how many pictures I am in as well that don’t belong to me. Interesting. Courteousy jogs and being the unidentified person in a strangers photo. Things to ponder. Thank you Kearsie and Robin!

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on October 6, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Sorry, no offense intended to the coffee drinkers of the world. I, personally, eschew the stuff, so all coffee is overpriced to me. I could’ve said the same think about Diet Coke, there’s lots of overpriced Diet Coke out there, just order one at your local Ruby Tuesday and you’ll know what I mean.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jen on October 6, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Nice thought for the day. Robin, I just had that thought myself while looking through pictures looking at the background people. I have to admit that to myself I thought I hope that in these shots that I am unaware of I hope I dont have my finger in my nose or better yet in my son’s. ha! AND by the way, Robin, it’s Jen Wilder from Super Summer! HI! Remeber me?
    AND just for the record we dont have Dunkin Donuts or Ruby Tuesday so, I would know nothing of there price gouging!
    Happy Monday to all.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Robin on October 8, 2008 at 4:13 am

    hey jen!!!! boy that was a fun camp! like seriously one of the best if not thee best i ever went too. how are you these days? i will look and see if you are on facebook cause i would love to catch up with you??? loves!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Robin on October 8, 2008 at 4:14 am

    oops…after “i would love to catch up with you” is supposed to be exclamation points…not question marks…..duh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

