Be careful what you wish for…

I wished for some adventure.  I should have been more specific.

Giant blobs of colorful wax, aka melted crayons

Giant blobs of colorful wax, aka melted crayons

Crayola Gone Wild

Crayola Gone Wild

  

This is not nearly as exciting as bleach spots.  This is a whole new world.  A kaleidoscope of opportunity. 
 
Anyone ever tried to get melted crayons out of clothing?
5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kamryn on September 26, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Have you tried the cande wax vs. carpet removal method? Get a paper bag, but it over the stain and run an iron over the bag, thus melting the wax to the bag and not the clothes. I’ve never tried it but it could be worth a shot.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Misty on September 27, 2008 at 4:39 am

    Hmmm…sorry I’m not any help. You should see our kids clothes. I’m always surprised when something that goes in dirty actually comes out clean. It’s trully amazing. I’d try the iron thing, sounds good to me!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Karen on September 28, 2008 at 5:28 am

    From Yahoo answers:

    Best Answer – Chosen by Asker
    I know it looks like alot of work but have done it myself and its worth the timve VS. replacing your clothes!

    Place the stained clothes on a white cloth or a few white paper towels.
    Spray WD-40 or apply a product such as Goo Gone onto the stain. Let this stand for a few minutes.
    Turn the clothing over and apply WD-40 or Goo Gone to the other side of the stain; again, let this stand for a few minutes.
    Take some dishwashing detergent and work this into the stain on both sides.
    Wash in hot water with a detergent containing color-safe bleach, such as Cheer with Bleach. Or use a regular detergent and add color-safe bleach.
    Check the clothing before drying to ensure that the crayon stain is gone. If not, then repeat washing.
    9 months ago
    Report Abuse
    Asker’s Rating: Asker’s Comment: It worked perfect. Except for a few stains I missed, it took the crayon completely out. And the WD-40 didn’t leave any greasy stains although I was worried about it myself.

    Reply

  4. throw ’em away!

    Reply

  5. I was going to suggest the warm iron and paper bag trick but Kam beat me to it….come to think of it, the last time I tried this was when a tenant vacated & left a huge mess, including melted candle wax on the carpet. Anyway I guess this trick should NOT be used on carpet because I left a nice, burned mark in the shape of an iron….but hey, at least the burn mark was dark enough to hide the candle wax!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

