You know your life is boring when…

…you take pictures of the scarves you’ve knit the last couple of months.  Hello-I need some outdoor hobbies.

A whole lotta knitting going on

A whole lotta knitting going on

 

 Most of the yarn I found at Big Lots (totally my favorite store) for either $1.00 or $1.50/skein.  That stripey one is my first attempt at stripes.  And you can’t tell, but it’s SOO soft.  Are you bored yet?  Yeah, me too.  Bored enough to take ANOTHER picture.

Same scarves...

Same scarves...

 

…Sorry.  It’s Friday.  By Friday, the brain is pudding, practically dripping from my nose.  Nothing interesting going on except August is almost over (!) and I haven’t even started on Christmas shopping.  I always at least start over the summer.  Too bad I’ve already given scarves away to every family member.  Scarf, anyone?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Kearsie,

    These look great. I got tickled because I just learned to knit last year. At first the kids thought it was so cool to have a scarf made just for them. They’re over that now. Now I find myself looking for the most pregnant person I know so I can knit a baby blanket (goodness knows we don’t need any more scarves or blankets in this house!). I found some great yarn at Big Lots a few weeks ago as well. Made some really cute hats for the girls 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 22, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Yay! A fellow knitter! I haven’t tried a blanket knitting yet, but I have done some simple squares that I don’t think will look bad all put together as a blanket. I’m dying to live somewhere close to a knitting store so I can learn new techniques. I’m also trying FELTING, which I’ll post pictures of soon.

    Reply

  3. OK- so how many skeins does it take to make a scarf? There is a great knitters store here in Manteo (which is funny, b/c this is a tiny, tiny town- as in no big grocery, not even a Hardees, which is the staple small town fast food restaurant…) and when I went to check it out the skeins (skiens?) they were $10-14.00 each. But they hold knitting classes/get togethers every week and that sounds like a really fun thing to do when it gets cold and we can’t go to the beach. I don’t knit, though.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Aunt Melissa on August 24, 2008 at 4:10 am

    scarves to every family member???? I don’t think so. I’m teasing. Good job. Get going on some new projects. I KNOW you can do it….

    Reply

  5. Posted by Auntie Vam on August 24, 2008 at 9:49 am

    have you visited/joined ravelry.com????? Register and find me & TCK as friends there! If you want to see projects made by others, they have tons of pics… check it out ASAP!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Julie Rodgers on August 26, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I have NO knitting talent WHATSOEVER, but this makes me wish I did. Would you knit me something sometime and not tell anybody you did it so I can lie and say I did??? Oh, forget it, I’m a terrible liar. Just knit me something and I’ll be quick to say Kearsie did it. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mom on August 27, 2008 at 12:24 am

    I tried knitting once…but I kept poking myself with the needles so mom took them away from me. I did learn how to crochet…made a pot holder once & tried to put a decorative trim on it…some how it ended up as more of a flapper cap than a pot holder…I gave it to my friend for Christmas. She moved away after that. I wonder now if one had anything to do with the other? I really love the scarve you made for me, I use it once a year when we have our “cold day in Florida” and it’s holding up really well. I noticed that some of your scarves look metallic, is it just the lighting or have you been holding out on me? If you have ’em in “sparkeldy” then I want one for Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

