Blog of randomness

You know it’s going to be a funky day when you spent half the night watching the Olympics.  For real, women’s gymnastics is totally the only reason to watch.  That and the swimming and diving.  The rest, not so much.  I mean, gotta applaud the few who made it playing handball or badminton, but I’d rather watch Good Eats

So up half the night watching USA totally rock beams and somersault their way into glory + forgetting to use moisturizer during my morning beauty regime = yucky Friday.

To help wake myself up, I listened to some crunky music.  I like to get my Jesus on, Christian Gangsta rap style.  I got to wondering, what exactly is crunking?  Is it just me or is it jerking your body around in time to music.  Anyways, sorry Joseph if you’re reading this.  I know you and rap are like peanut butter and salad dressing-you totally don’t go together.  But you gotta hand it to them rappers-they’ve got some MAD pronunciation skills. Me, I’m a mumbler.  This is why public speaking will probably never be my forte.  Folks in the audience will be whispering to each other, “Is she speaking English?  Did she just say clunky?”  “Umm, well she mentioned peanut butter, maybe she said chunky?”  And God help me if I tell a joke, then I’ll laugh through the telling of it.  No, I’m best left in a silent venue.

And now for our final item of randomness.  Last night we were watching Food Detectives, a totally fascinating show debunking popular food myths.  Someone used the term “heavy duty” and Addie, my four year old yells out “EWWW, he just said DOODEE!”  We are SO proud.

Happy Friday.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on August 15, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    I LOVE this post because we have two children who love to use words like poo, doodee, and the like…while laughing their heads off!! Kids…at least I am not alone!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 15, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Phew! and here I was thinking my two were the only poop-obsessed. Perhaps they are normal.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kamryn on August 16, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Lilah is currently obsessed with poop, but that has more to do with potty training. I know I still have years of doodeee enjoyment to come!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jennifer on August 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    It won’t be long and they’ll be like the Bare Naked Ladies….”under where? I just made you say underwear.” For some reason….that’s what this post made me think of. Ha! Oh well…love this story!

    Reply

  5. I stayed up way too late last night watching Michael Phelps win his eighth gold medal. That was cool, but I was pretty tired this morning. That was my first olympic watching this year. Made me wish I had watched more b/c is was so exciting, but then Scott reminded me that I had watched the best part of the whole olympics and the rest was probably not as sit-on-the-edge-of-your-seat.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mom on August 18, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Per usual I’m behind in my reading of your blogs, and I’m reading them backwards . Please have Emma and Addie see my comment to your 8/18 “dear mom” blog. I said the word poop. They will love it. For that matter, have them see this comment, because I say poop twice. I’m so glad the Olympic good stuff is over, don’t think I can take another late night. It’s 7:30 pm and Joe is already in bed. We are not going to be a couple that ages gracefully, I can tell ya that right now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

