Small miracles

I’m a bit of a procrastinator.  I’m getting better, promise, but sometimes I’m still stuck in the I’ll-do-it-later cycle.

When Addie turned 4, we bought her a new car seat.  For one thing, I was sick unto death of having to buckle her in and out with the 9 gazillion buckles and so we got her a “big girl” booster car seat using just a seat belt.  And for another, it was just nasty, as it was Emma’s old car seat and had already been through several years of abuse.  We stuck the old car seat in the carport and kind of forgot about it for a few months.  We’ve been meaning to haul it to a dumpster forever, but, as true procrastinators do, we put it off for the next day.

Eventually, we realized that we’d actually have to move the car seat to get it that much closer to a dumpster, so we threw it into the trunk of my car.  I’d forget about it until I got groceries and mumble and complain about putting my bags of groceries in and around a dirty old car seat.  I’d remove the grocery bags and promptly forget about the car seat until the next week when I’d put more bags of groceries in and around it.  Vicious circle.

So yesterday, before I left work to go pick up my kiddos, I had a light bulb moment where I thought to myself, Self, you really need to throw that car seat away right now while you’re thinking about it.  So I opened the trunk and picked up the car seat.  On the back of the car seat, staring back at me in all her glorious, venomous beauty was this:

A black widow spider with her great big egg sack.

A black widow spider with her great big egg sack.

Are you gasping like I did?  I’m kind of surprised I didn’t scream my head off.  The dumpster was just a few feet away, so I carefully carried the car seat over and threw it in.  I did attempt to kill the spider, in case someone happened to jump into the dumpster for whatever crazy reason and wouldn’t get bitten, but she was a wily, crafty spider and held on for dear life and scurried to a tiny hole.  Oh well, I tried.
 
It hit me as I was driving down the road, scratching at imaginary creepy crawlies, that the black widow was protecting an egg sack.  I wondered if I had waited even a few days, would that sack have opened, letting out who knows how many tiny baby hungry black widows.  It would have been an infestation.  Not only that, but my two girls are strapped in for dear life just a couple of feet away.  And not to mention all the groceries I haul in and out of the trunk, surely a few of those babies would have wound up in my bags and found lots of great spots to nest in our house. 
 
It was, in short, a miracle. 
 
It’s funny, it was just a random Monday afternoon.  Nothing special about that day (other than the fact that I had amazingly hauled myself out of bed and walked a mile when all the sane folks were still in their beds snoozing away), and yet I had to pause and give thanks for dodging a really ugly bullet. 
 
It makes me wonder, do you experience strange things like that?  Have you experienced a miracle?
12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jennifer on August 12, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Oh my gosh! My skin is crawling from the thought of seeing one at all….let alone one carrying an egg sack! Ugh! I’m so glad you saw it before it’s egg sack hatched! Wow! Nothing short of a miracle for real! Side note….possibly related posts are automatically generated and posted beneath your blog when you go to make a comment (not sure if you see this as the writer or not). The possibly related post that they suggest is “keep car seats cool with reflective emergency blankets.” So…do avoid the next dangerous thing to a black widow spider which is burned legs from car seat heat….buy a reflective emergency blanket to put over the seat. ha! One more thing….good for you on the diet thing. It’s all about a life change…and we all know how hard that is…so way to go. I am also a sugar/choco-holic! Check out recipes on Cooking Light’s website for desserts (if they are allowed in the diet you are doing).

    Reply

  2. Once when I was younger and living in Germany, my brother and I decided to take a short cut over some railroad tracks. In Germany the trains travel at a very fast rate of speed (100km or so) you don’t see them coming until it’s too late. As we were crossing the tracks I heard a whistle and looked down where I knew no one was standing a minute ago. I saw a man standing on the tracks pointing for us to get off asap! As soon as I turned around and ran the other way (I’m petrified of authority) a train came that would’ve probably hit one of us (which would’ve meant d.e.d. “dead”)

    Reply

  3. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 12, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Wow Joel! That’s awesome! What a great story!

    Reply

  4. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on August 12, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    That’s crazy!! Seriously, I will probably have nightmares…like…the one time when Merci was only about 6 months old and I got up to feed her. I walked, with sleepy eyes, not even looking where I was walking. I picked up my daughter and walked back through the hallway, and what did I see?? A huge spider, in which case I screamed for my husband…and he did what most people would do, got a shoe and killed it. ONLY…there were thousands of babies that all of a sudden lept out from it, covering my carpet, and we grabbed the can of raid or whatever we had, and sprayed them all dead. I still have dreams about that thing. Good thing you didn’t kill it, because you might have gotten tiny baby spiders all over you!!! Another miracle, perhaps??

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 12, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    OOooohhh! I hadn’t thought of that!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kamryn on August 13, 2008 at 12:48 am

    I found a ginormous spider on my porch in NC one evening and (with an evil look on my face) said “Jared! Get the broom because I’m gonna kill it!” He advised me in his Boy Scout wisdom to just spray it with Raid. Nope. I had to be all corporal punishment like on this spider. What happened? Splat. And then a gajillion spiders, much like your friend two comments up from mine. So I swept/killed little baby spiders until my arms fell off. How’s that for punishment? Here’s my miracle: In basic training, we were on our first glorified “camping trip” during a SC thunderstorm. We were all huddled on the ALUMINUM bleachers in the wooden-covered LIGHTNING PROTECTION AREA (leave it up to the Army for logic) when all of a sudden, we were all jumping up. Two soldiers got struck — a bolt of lightning entered the chest of one and left through the legs of the guy next to him. What saved us all was our drill sergeant was leaning against a wooden post with one leg on the ground and one leg propped up on the bleachers. I’ve never been more thankful to be “grounded.”

    Reply

  7. Posted by Cristy Finucane on August 13, 2008 at 3:44 am

    ooohhh, that really gives me the willies! I am so glad that you got the car seat out. Man, it really pays to be proactive…sometimes. Procrastination is still good, too. Next time I gotta throw a dirty disgusting carseat in the trash(and, trust me, we have them in abundance), I am doin it that second. I ain’t watin on no dang black widda’ spider to hatch it’s egg sack and and nest in my grocery bags, no way…this ain’t no Charlotte’s Web,dang it. Kudos for you dodging a thousand black and red bullets.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mom on August 13, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    makes me think of the time the GIANT WOLFE SPIDER FROM HELL got into Kristen’s room and you all were running around like crazy people trying to get it/get away from it and I charged in to take care of that wicked wolfe…I ended up on the bed with my head hanging over the edge looking under the bed AND THERE IT WAS WITH IT’S FANGS BARRED looking RIGHT BACK AT ME just inches away from my face. Geez, I had nightmares about that for YEARS. (okay, no more shouting). Anyway, the best thing to kill any spider is to spray it with hair spray! Not the environmentally correct pump spray but the big nasty kind (like AquaNet) that you have to shake before use. Their legs are covered with hair (..teach THEM not to shave!) and they breathe thru that hair until you blast it with hairspray so it suffocates them. And it’s safe to use around kids. Just don’t open your mouth while spraying or right after or your mouth will taste like AuqaNet for hours after!

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 14, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Kind of like going in Gramma’s bathroom after she’s made a helmet of her hair…good times, good times…

    Reply

  10. Posted by Auntie Vam on August 23, 2008 at 7:42 am

    hey… just catching up on the blogs while I’m in town, so I’m reading this 9 days after you posted…
    btw, remember that there aren’t any black widow spiders back home in ALASKA!!!!!!
    but, someone hit a bear today in Anchorage! choose your residence, and your dangerous, wild critters will pop out of nowhere…

    Reply

  11. Posted by Robin on November 7, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    we had just gotten home from church one sunday afternoon and i was heading upstairs with katy to lay her in her crib for her afternoon nap. i was about to open her bedroom door when i noticed a buzzing sound coming from inside her room. i laid her on my bed and peeked in and the room was filled with about 100 bees. they had found a hole in some siding in the ceiling and were everywhere. imagine if they had entered the room while she was in there sleeping and they stung her! they could have killed her! bees are poisonous ya know…shudder. so glad you got rid of that dang thing before something happened and i am so glad that i live in alaska where there are not many venomous things creeping about! loves!

    p.s. was thinking about highschool the other day….miss you.

    Reply

  12. One of my biggest fears of moving to the “south” was black widows…now, it is bats, but…I am not looking forward to ever meeting a widow…I would have fainted…and been bit, and at the hospital…did you go back and burn the dumpster? SO happy you’re all OK!

    I bought used OLD furniture when we moved here, like, my couch is about 100 years old, no joke…One day, after vacuuming the top, I decided to turn it over…

    Seen Aliens by any chance? The underside of the couch, that had spent its last few years in a garage, was covered with PODS! What kind of pods I don’t know, but I guessed them to be alien pods. I had a wave of fear crawl over me like when I watched the movie, “When a Stranger Calls” as a kid. I was shaking so violently I am still surprised I was able to get the vacuum and suck up all those things! I then sat for about an hour after and visualized what my house would have looked like, had I not found them, if they had hatched!!!

    *RIIIIIIIIIIING! RIIIIIIIIIIIIING!*

    “Hello? Who is this?”

    *creepy whispering voice* “Have you checked under the couch?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

