First grade

It’s here.  The big day as finally arrived.  The first day of school.

Emma's first day of 1st grade

Emma's first day of 1st grade

 

If I squint really hard, concentrate with all my might, I can picture my first grade.  Actually, I went to two different schools in first grade.  I only have a few memories.  Here they are in no particular order:

1.  I remember I wet my pants and had to wear boys underwear because that’s all the nurse had.

2.  I remember I went to a Christian school for a couple of months and everyone was really mean.  They sang songs like “The 12 Pink Slips” (given to bad kids who got paddled). 

3.  I was way into Strawberry Shortcake.

4.  My teacher, Mrs. Scroggins, had a baby and my mom made her baby a blanket.

5.  Phonics.

 

And that’s it.  That’s the culmination of my first grade memories.

Tomorrow is Addie’s first day of K-4.  She’s getting staggered in, which makes her think she’s getting stabbed.  Poor kid.

On a different note…

Occassionally folks happen upon this blog because of crazy terms they use to search.  I happen to have a list and they are hilarious.  Here are some of the best:

left husband met online

Which I write about all the time, don’tcha think?

lance sensation fabric softener

Huh?  Look I can type random words too:  stapler, tooth brush, airplane.

castrating calves

Yes!  My favorite subject, and wonderful dinner conversation too, I might add.

los angeles pinball

Ummm, I have no response for this. 

“am i hot”

Well, duh.  Didn’t you see this picture?

That chick on the right is HOT.

That chick on the right is HOT.

horse having gigantic sloppy stinky poo on human cartoons

Wow.  I can see where my blog contains lots of horses having gigantic sloppy stinky poos.  You’re not cool unless this is your blog topic of choice.

knit pattern sesame st alien yep yep

I’m curious.  Whoever typed this in, are you on crack?  Just wondering.

 

Well, tomorrow is another big day for the Murphy’s as Addie heads off to “real” school.  So stay tuned.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on August 7, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Welp, you have done it again…managed to single handedly crack me up!! You are great!! The perfect laugh for my day…Micah’s first day of 1st grade! Merci doesn’t start Prek4 until September 2 or something. Love the cute bag in the pic, btw. Did you make it? Adorable!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 7, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Thank you! I did make that bag, but a friend did the embroidery on the name. It still looks too plain to me, so I’m going to add a ribbon to look like a leash. Aren’t I obsessive?

    Reply

  3. Posted by sandi on August 7, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Hey friend! Bella starts first grade this year, too. What a freak out, huh?! So in 2 weeks we’ll have everybody in “real school” from 1st-11th grades. CRAZY! Emma looks so cute. I love the grin.

    BTW.. I found this blog by typing “large chested eskimo woman loves Lance hides children in sunflowers and can hear marinara”. What a weird world.

    Reply

  4. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 7, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Marinara IS kind of noisy.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mom on August 7, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    horse having gigantic sloppy stinky poo on human cartoons…didn’t you mention in one of your blogs that the girls like to crack each other up making up nonsense sentences that have the word “poop” in them? Maybe Emma went on line and typed in words at random, poo being one of them? All kidding aside, I cannot believe how big she is getting, and I just saw her! I hope she had a great first day of school & I hope Addie has a wonderful experience, great enought to over shadow being stabbed! Be sure to take a picture of her first day

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kamryn on August 8, 2008 at 12:57 am

    Give my two nieces a big ol’ high five for me. It amazes me that Lilah will start school in three years. What in the world?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

